I Need Your Recommendations!

I’ve been in a reading slump lately. I just feel like the last few books I’ve read, I haven’t enjoyed as much. They both felt like just another fantasy book, you know? As a lover of fantasy, this alarms me. 

So I was thinking: maybe I should try to combat this reading slump by reading different books/genres!

I was hoping you could all try and recommend me a book -or multiple- that’s out of my comfort zone. I mainly read fantasy -and romance once in a while too- so I’d like them to not be those genres. Maybe some thrillers, mysteries, general fiction, historical fiction…? Adult or YA, doesn’t matter. Although I feel like I want to try and read more adult books too. 

Do you have a book you’d think I like? LET ME KNOW PLEASE!

33 thoughts on “I Need Your Recommendations!

  1. These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly! It’s a historical fiction murder mystery with a courageous heroine who fights against the sexism occurring in that era, it has a wonderful romance and a good plot – I highly recommend it! The Chronicles of the Invaders series by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard is incredible as well! Alex Rider by Anthony Horowitz is fabulous too! I hope you get out of your slump soon! 😀

    Like

  2. Well, I read mostly in the Fantasy and Sci-Fi genre, so I probably won’t be much help with recommendations outside those spheres, but I just finished The Reader by Traci Chee and I loved it. It didn’t really read like a typical YA fantasy novel which is why I would hesitate to recommend it to everyone, but you did say you were looking for something a little different. It’s probably the best YA novel I read so far this year.

    Also, I know how much you enjoy Heartstrikers, and if you’re looking for something similar – urban fantasy, humor, protagonist is an underdog, etc. – try M.L. Brennan’s Generation V. The main character is a vampire, but these are going to be unlike any vampires you’ve ever encountered! He’s also more of a doormat than an underdog in the first book, but the awesome part is watching him grow and gain confidence over the course of the series.

    And I see that someone else had recommended Juliet Marillier’s Blackthorn and Grim – I second that!

    Like

    • The Reader sounds really interesting! Especially because you mentioned it doesn’t really read like a typical YA fantasy. I’m always looking for something similar to Heartstrikers. I’ve never heard of Generation V before, so I’m definitely looking that up. And I really enjoyed the first Blackthorn & Grim novel! The problem is, I bought it in a small paperback version. And the paperback version of the second book on Bookdepository hasn’t been released yet 😦

      Like

  3. I’d recommend Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. It’s the most addictive book I’ve read in a while (which is the best kind to pull me out of a reading slump). It is SF, hopefully that is far enough off of Fantasy to feel different. 🙂

    Like

  4. I know the feeling. I hope you find something good soon! I have recently enjoyed these:

    Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (one of my FAVOURITES from the past 3 years)
    The Naked Werewolf series by Molly Harper (great fun, fluffy paranormals)
    Every series by Ellie Marney (YA Australian Sherlock Holmes retelling)
    Because of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn (historical romance at its best)
    The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle (YA magical realism)

    Let me know if you need more info on any of these. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m going to recommend the three best fantasy books I’ve ever read. Hope you haven’t read them already.

    The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – I have a list of my 4 favorite books of all time, and I haven’t added to the list in 10 years, but this book turned it into a list of 5 when I read it last year.

    Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb – a little slow start but is soooo rewarding.

    The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson – most people recommend Mistborn by Sanderson first, but The Way of Kings is destined to be considered one of the great Fantasy novels.

    Like

  6. I’ve been feeling the same way. Over the last year and a half, mysteries and thrillers have slowly taken over some of the other genres I used to read a lot. It makes me a little sad, but I’ve been loving the books I’m reading instead! I definitely have recommendations for you. 🙂

    The Fold by Peter Clines
    14 by Peter Clines
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (and sequels) by Stieg Larsson
    Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell series by Chelsea Cain
    Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith
    Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
    Miriam Black series by Chuck Wendig
    Bill Hodges trilogy by Stephen King

    Alright, those are most of my 5-star ones, but let me know if you need more. 😉

    Like

  7. The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof is absolutely gorgeous! Stunningly beautiful book. It has shades of Les Miserables as well as Beauty & the Beast but it’s set in an early 1900s circus. And the hero is … SWOON!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Some suggestions (mostly series), in no particular order:
    The Watergivers (AKA Stormlord Trilogy) by Glenda Larke
    King Rolen’s Kin by Rowena Cory Daniells
    Kingmaker, Kingbreaker/Fisherman’s Children by Karen Miller
    Godspeaker by Karen Miller
    Terra Incognita by Kevin Anderson
    The Volstovic Cycle by Jaida Jones & Danielle Bennett
    Psalms of Isaak by Ken Scholes

    Like

  9. Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt? It is horror with a supernatural bit to it. Maybe Perfume by Patrick Suskind? Or Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer? I read mostly fantasy too so, haha

    Like

  10. Like I tweeted: since it’s 100y of Roald Dahl: pick up any book of him. My fav is Danny Champion of the World. Or, if you want some dark and funny stuff: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Sir Terry Pratchett; the first book that made me laugh out loud.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Did you already read The Help? This is really an amazing book. Or The Lovely Bones, Room, The Kite Runner, The Girl in 6E.
    I don’t know if you read any of this books, but I loved every single one of them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Have you read The Book Thief? It’s rather popular among YA readers and it’s simply amazing. Ruta Sepetys’ Shades of Gray is historical fiction for YA readers as well and was a great read.
    Have you ever read Carlos Ruiz Zafon?
    How about some classics?
    Coming-of-age novels? The Catcher in the Rye? The Bell Jar? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

