Series I Won’t Finish #7

Another Monday, another post with 5 series I won’t ever finish! I thought I’d keep the Monday theme for a bit, as I’m scheduling these beforehand. Yes, I’m a master of time management 😉

#1: Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger

soulless

What I’ve Read: Soulless

Why I Won’t Continue: So many book bloggers and booktubers I love and trust adore this series. So I decided to give it a go. I think it’s a blend between historical fiction, and an urban fantasy/paranormal story. I liked it fine, but I wasn’t enough of a fan to continue the series. I think this particular blend of genres just didn’t suit me well. 

#2: The Seven Deadly by Fisher Amelie

vain

What I’ve Read: Vain

Why I Won’t Continue: This is another case of “it was fine, but not great”. There are so many books out there, I don’t feel like continuing with one I’m not truly enjoying or loving. I liked Vain, and it teaches the reader a great lesson. But I’m not interested in continuing the series.

#3: Anna by Kendare Blake

anna dressed in blood

What I’ve Read: Anna Dressed in Blood

Why I Won’t ContinueAnna is a duology, so it wouldn’t be too much of an effort to continue it. Yet I don’t want to. I’d have to spend money on the sequel, and I probably wouldn’t get to it for years as it’s not a book I’m truly excited about. The first book was described as a teenage version of Supernatural, one of my favorite shows. I gave the book 5 stars when I read it, so I must’ve agreed. Yet I have no urge to read on.

#4: Twisted Tales by Liz Braswell

What I’ve Read: A Whole New World, Once Upon a Dream

Why I Won’t Continue: Twisted Tales is a series of retellings of popular fairy tales. I quite enjoyed the first book, A Whole New World, although many people didn’t. I suspect it’s because Aladdin is one of my favorite childhood movies. I read Once Upon a Dream, the Sleeping Beauty retelling, in the beginning of this year. Or I tried, at least. I DNFed it, because I really wasn’t feeling it. So I also won’t be continuing the series. 

#5: The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

the goddess test

What I’ve Read: The Goddess Test

Why I Won’t Continue: Mythology! YAY! That’s usually what I think when I see a mythology retelling. I love them, especially when they include Greek mythology which has been an interest of mine for as long as I can remember. I read this book in 2013 (strike one) and gave it 3 stars (strike two). I usually don’t feel like continuing after so much time has passed, and especially not if I didn’t even love the first book. Looking at my review notes from back then, I thought the main character was too whiny in the beginning although she got her act together by the end. 


Those are 5 more series I won’t continue or finish. Have you started one of these? Let me know!

9 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish #7

  1. Totally agree with you about Soulless. It was fine, but I’m not inspired to pick up the rest of the series. As for Anna Dressed in Blood, I honestly don’t know why so many people like it so much. I found it really underwhelming.

    Like

  2. I read Gail Carriger’s YA book Etiquette and Espionage a year or two back and I seriously struggled to finish it, I should have DNFed it but the synopsis was so intriguing I was optimistic that it was going to get better but it didn’t. -_-

    Like

  3. I ditched Parasol Protectorate after Soulless as well, it just wasn’t the supernatural steampunk series I was expecting. Too heavy on the romantic relationship for my tastes. I did however, enjoy Prudence, the first book of the series starring Alexia and Lord Maccon’s daughter. The sequel went back to being romantic-drama though, so we’ll see if I’ll have to ditch it now too, lol.

    Like

  4. I wish that I hadn’t finished the Goddess Test series >__< I pushed all the way through despite not really enjoying any of the books. I've since gotten better at DNFing series, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

