Top Ten Tuesday: All-Time Favorite Fantasy Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week is about the hardest choice ever: your all-time favorite books in a specific genre. Because I like to make things even harder for myself, I’m choosing 10 of my all-time favorite books in my all-time favorite genre.

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // This couldn’t be missing on this list. I know it isn’t the easiest book to read. It’s a classic after all, and none of those books are easy reads. I have just so much love for this series. For Middle Earth. For Frodo. For Pippin. For Aragorn. Yes, it has its flaws. But I love it to bits.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // Another series I can’t leave off the list. If I didn’t include this, you’d all know I was lying. I know it may be boring to always see this book everywhere. Yet you have to know that there’s a reason for it. I’m not apologizing for putting it on my list, because you know it deserves a place here.

The Gentleman Bastards by Scott Lynch // A more recent addition to the all-time favorite fantasy books list, as I started this series in 2014. It’s great. I’m sad we have to wait so long for the next book, yet I do understand. I appreciate the updates we get, and I can’t wait for the moment I get to hold and read Thorn of Emberlain. By the way, I’d highly recommend the audio books of this series! The narrator is pretty great.

The Riyria Revelations by Michael J. Sullivan // I’d actually suggest both the Riyria Revelations, and the Riyria Chronicles. I love these series so much. The characters are incredible, and the plot is captivating. I flew through them in no time. 

The Others by Anne Bishop // I discovered this series in 2013, and it has stayed on my favorites list ever since. I’ve re-read the first book multiple times, and every year I request the review copy of the new release. I can’t believe it’s about to be over, as the next book will be the final one. 

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson // A recommendation from Inge, and I’ll always be grateful for it. I’ve read one other Sanderson book, The Final Empire, but I think I loved this one even more. Maybe I’ll change my mind when I read its sequels. I’d highly recommend Warbreaker, it’s an amazing book. 

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab // This book sparked my love for V.E. Schwab. Or maybe it was Vicious? I’m not sure. Anyway, it’s an amazing book! It has got different Londons, magic and incredible characters. I’m sure a lot of you have already read it though, so I don’t know why I bother explaining it here.

Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini // This is another childhood favorite. I re-read it a year (or 2 years?) ago, and I have to admit the writing in the first book isn’t the best ever. Yet I love the story. And the author was only a teenager. His writing improves massively over the books, and I will love this story forever. He said he’d write a fifth book, but there has been no news so far.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin // Another obvious yet necessary choice. It’s been years since I’ve read this series though, I’m probably due for a re-read. You know, in case the next book is ever released.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson // I think this trilogy is criminally underrated. I really love it. It’s got Hispanic influences, a strong female character who isn’t drop-dead-gorgeous from the start, kingdoms at war and magic.


Those are 10 of the fantasy books/series that are on my all-time favorites list. Have you read them? What did you think? Which ones would be on your list?

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All-Time Favorite Fantasy Books

  1. I so want to pick up ADSOM! I don’t know if I’ll ever read GoT, but I’m a major fan of the Tv show and I’m so freaking hooked on it. I hope the next book is released soon just so it goes according to the show, but I doubt it :/ They’re just running solo with what George told them.
    Genesis @ Latte Nights Reviews

    Like

  2. I keep telling myself that I’m going to read Girl of Fire and Thorns, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet… one day I will! So many people have recommended it to me!

    Great list!:)

    Like

  3. I so agree about LotR. And Game of Thrones- yup I’ve re- read it twice (yikes) and there’s always a detail or five that I missed- he sneaks so many clues in that make sense later. Just having re- read A Dance with Dragons recently I can think of 2 or 3 things I didn’t get first time around. But yeah… the next book lol.

    Gentlemen Bastards I need to read, maybe I should go audio with those.

    Like

  4. EEK I’m so glad you posted this as I’ve been wanting to read more fantasy so I’ll definitely check some of these out! I LOVE Harry Potter so much – it’s such an incredible series! ❤ I still need to read The Lord of the Rings, Warbreaker, A Darker Shade of Magic and Eragon! *_*

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

    Like

  5. Yay for Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter and a Game of Thrones! I have them in my list too. I love Warbreaker and Lies too. I’ve still not read the sequels to Lies yet. They’re taunting me from my shelf. I’m planning to read A Darker Shade of Magic soon too. Gah, TBRs!

    Like

  6. I love fantasy so much, but I haven’t read most of these! Girl of Fire and Thorns is one of my favorite trilogies ever! I agree that’s it’s way underrated. I’ve had written in blood on my wishlist for a long time. I’m happy to hear you love it.

    Like

  7. Amazing list! Some I’ve already read (and are on my list too) and those I haven’t read yet are on my TBR 🙂 I was debating adding the Inheritance cycle to my list too. I read it so long ago and I loved it, but then I never finished the last book. Still hope to re-read and then complete the series one day soon though! I also have the first book of The Others on my shelf to start soon!

    Like

  8. I couldn’t do it in a genre, haha. I really need to start The Lies of Locke Lamora some time. I have the first three. The fifth book will be the last Others book? Oh I didn’t know that. Sad face. I have to get the third one to read~

    Like

Leave a Reply

