The Fictional Reader TURNS 2!

I can’t believe this… I only realized THIS WEEK that today, my blog is officially 2 years old. Or, my first post ever is 2 years old at least. Isn’t that crazy? I can’t believe it’s been 2 years already. Where has time gone?

thank-you

I first wanted to say thank you. To each and every person who has ever read any of my blog posts, or follows my blog or social media accounts. Thank you! You have no idea how much this means to me. To be a part of a community so welcoming, all to talk about a passion we all share: books and reading.

In these 2 years, I have never had a single bad experience here. I’ve had one comment I found rude, and deleted that one. 1 comment! I can’t imagine a single other community so kind and welcoming. I thought I wouldn’t make any blogging friends, or at least not easily. I was so wrong. 

There are several people I’d specifically like to thank. 

Inge @ Of Wonderland // Inge, you are an amazing friend. Whether I’m having a bad day or I just saw a funny picture, I know I can count on you. You are my yoga buddy and motivator, one who loves Harry Potter just as much as I do. You are a great friend, and I’m so grateful I got to know you thanks to our blogs. I hope you know that if you need someone, you can always count on me as well. 

Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic // Kyra, you are one of the first friends I made through my blog. During all this time, you have been nothing but incredibly nice to me. We even did a buddy read together! I’m thinking we should do that again soon. I know, I still have to buy the Rick Riordan books we discussed… I’m sorry! 

Annemieke @ A Dance With Books // Thank you Annemieke. Not only for commenting/liking my posts quite regularly, but also for including me in the bookstagram world. I’m quite new to it, but you’ve tagged me twice in a tag. It makes me feel so happy, and glad to be included! 

Kaja @ Of Dragons and Hearts // There are quite a few things I want to thank you for, Kaja. First, for motivating me to read Heartstrikers, because I absolutely loved it. For all the amazing comments you leave on my blog. For all the recommendations I’ve gotten from yours. Thank you.

Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum // If you’ve seen my favorite blogs page, you know I love BiblioSanctum. I’ve gotten so many fantasy/sci-fi recommendations from it! But I want to thank you in particular, Mogsy, for all the great comments you’ve left on my blog in the past year or 2 years. Each and every one is appreciated! 

Holly @ Nut Free Nerd // If there is one thing I truly appreciate, it’s bloggers leaving meaningful and interesting comments. So thank you Holly, for not just reading my posts but deciding to interact with me as well!

Lorraine @ Insanity Sandwich // Thank you for reading my posts, and for leaving comments on them! I really appreciate it! 

lessons-learned

What would a birthday be without reflecting on what I’ve learned in the past year? 

  • Scheduling is life. 

Honestly, I am a big fan on scheduling blog posts. I often do this with Top Ten Tuesday posts, and recently with my Series I Won’t Finish posts as well. It calms me to know that I’ll have a post up that week for certain. For example, if I suddenly don’t have time on Monday, I don’t have to worry there will be no TTT this week. 

  • It’s nice to have a focus with your blog -but don’t fixate too much on it. 

What do I mean by this? Well, my blog usually revolves around speculative fiction -and mostly fantasy. That’s what I like to read most. But I do read different genres at times, to take a break. And I shouldn’t worry about not being able to talk about those books because they aren’t speculative fiction. It’s nice to have a focus, so people know what to expect in general from my blog. But don’t fixate too much on it, it will only stress you out. 

  • Need to take a break? Your followers won’t abandon you. 

There have been times this past year where I’ve needed to take a short break from posting. For example, in June during my final exams. And that’s okay! Nobody will throw stones at you. You won’t suddenly lose all of your followers. Readers and bloggers are understanding people. 

  • It’s okay to take a step back from requesting review books

I’d been stressing so much about my Netgalley ratio and my Edelweiss books -and the books I received from authors for the past 2 years. I felt like there was no catching up. So I decided to take a step back. Request only what you REALLY want. Again, followers won’t leave because you’re not constantly blogging about the latest books. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, trust me. I’ve just had fun discovering books on my own as well.

giveaway

It’s time for another giveaway! You must be either 18 years old, or have permission from your parents/legal guardian to share your address with me. The giveaway is international, as long as The BookDepository ships to your country! I will contact the winner after the 22nd of September, and let you choose an order up to €15! 🙂

a Rafflecopter giveaway

52 thoughts on “The Fictional Reader TURNS 2!

  1. Happy Blogoversary! And thank you for the shout out. I’m touched that you included me in your list 🙂 I’ve enjoyed your blog since I first found it and I’m really glad you’ve found a way to write it that works for you and doesn’t make you feel stressed out. Hurrah for book blogs!

    Like

  2. Happy Blogoversary! I recently celebrated my 2nd as well. I just discovered your site. I love the clean theme you have and the type of stuff you are posting. I wouldn’t change, unless you are really wanting to change it up. it looks like it is working for you.

    Like

  3. Happy, happy anniversary to The Fictional Reader!!!!!!!!!! And I’ll love to see more lists 😀 😀 😀 Thank you for this giveaway!!!

    Like

  4. Happy blogoversary, Jolien!! ♥ Here’s to many more years of blogging ^^
    Nice reflection! And your lessons learned come in handy, because I started blogging a couple of months ago, and those are some interesting points to keep in mind so as not to feel overwhelmed 🙂
    Personally, I love reading posts with TAGS, so I’d love to see that on “The fictional reader” 😉

    Like

  5. Eep!! Happy birthday to your blog! And thank you so much for the mention, you made me feel all squishy inside. (And it’s one of those days when extra squish is super appreciated.) 🙂

    I’ve gotten several recommendations from your blog as well – surprisingly, the last one was that NA romance series, which is funny because as you said, you mostly feature speculative fiction. 🙂 As to the types of posts I enjoy reading the most – I know discussions usually get the most comments (at least on my blog), but I like blogs where there’s a bit of everything – reviews, discussions, some personal posts. And your blog delivers!

    Lots of luck with your third year of blogging! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m sending you all the squish then today!

      I like that the recommendations you took weren’t the fantasy ones, actually! Because I know that when I want to branch out in genre, I’ll look at what my trusted bloggers have liked it other genres!

      Thank you so much Kaja! I hope the third year will be just as amazing 😀

      Like

  6. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, JOLIEN!!! ❤ I'm so incredibly happy I found your blog and that I got to "meet" you as you're such a lovely, kind person! I love your blog and I'm looking forward to your future posts! 😀 ❤ *throws confetti*

    Like

  7. Happy two-year Blogiversary! That’s a great achievement and I hope there will be many more years to come! Love the list also! I’m still relatively new to blogging, so I still have a lot to learn about scheduling AND taking a break – both super important but not my strong points yet 😉 Thanks for the give-away!

    Like

  8. Happy blogiversary! I’m sorry I only found your blog this year, but I’ve enjoyed reading it the past few months. 🙂 If you’d like some Instagram tags, I’d be happy to tag you! I have a huge list I’m behind on. /o\ I always struggle to pick people to take, because I don’t know if people want them or not.
    I’m looking forward to seeing reviews of the books you pick that are outside of your comfort zone!

    Like

  9. Congratulations on 2 great years!! Those lessons are great. Scheduling is definitely the greatest. I think my blog has issues with focus though. Haha. My first year anniversary is this month too, so I’m basically one year younger than you 🙂

    Like

  10. Ahhh, congrats on 2 years 🎉🎉 That’s so exciting! I love all the points you bought up about what you’ve learnt. I’m recently started a schedule and it’s definitely helped. Taking breaks is so important too. I sometimes feel guilty especially when I get behind on reading other people’s posts, but everyone is always so understanding I know I shouldn’t worry about it too much 😊

    Thank you for the giveaway ♥

    Like

  11. Happy second blogoversary, my dear! Two years is a big achievement and one you should absolutely be proud of ^__^ I’m so glad I got to know you better this year, you’ve become a good friend and one of my favourite people. Thank you for always being there for me. ♥

    Like

  12. Congrats, Jolien! So glad you joined the blogosphere, this community would not be the same without you 🙂 Thanks for hosting this giveaway. I really enjoy everything you include on your blog. You do read a wide variety of fantasy, so I’m always up for recommendations relating to the genre. Happy Blogiversary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

