Top Ten Tuesday: Audio Recommendations

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about audio. I haven’t listened to that many great audio books, so I’ll be recommending 5 audio books and 5 podcasts.

audio books

White Cat (Curse Workers #1) by Holly Black // Narrated by Jesse Eisenberg // Jesse Eisenberg. What more do you want me to say? This book is already really good, but his narration elevates it. 

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch // Narrated by Michael Page // I was kind of hesitant to read a high fantasy book through audio. I thought it might be difficult to follow, or wouldn’t keep my attention. I didn’t need to worry though. I was captivated by this book -and Michael Page’s narration.I’d highly recommend it.

The Crown Tower (Riyria Chronicles #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // Narrated by Tim Gerard Reynolds // I read the Riyria Revelations in physical format, but didn’t own the Chronicles yet. At the time I wanted to read this, I spent quite some time commuting to an internship. I really wanted to read the books, but didn’t want to carry them. So I decided to try out the audio books. And found a new favorite narrator.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // Narrated by Stephen Fry // I didn’t think my love for Harry Potter could increase. And then I heard my favorite stories being told by Stephen Fry. He just fits with the entire feel of the story. I love it!

The Thousand Dollar Tan Line (Veronica Mars #1) by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham // Narrated by Kristen Bell // Okay, you probably shouldn’t read this if you haven’t watched the Veronica Mars TV show and movie. If you do, there will be spoilers -just saying. I really liked this book. But what made me love it, is the fact that Kristen Bell narrated it. The one and only Veronica.

podcasts

I’ve been trying to get into podcasts more, and I’ve found 5 I’m really enjoying so far. If any of you want an app recommendation to listen to podcasts to (Android), I use Podcast Republic! 

Call Your Girlfriend // This podcast is held by two best friends. They catch up, talk about current events and happenings -and they’re really funny. It’s been a while since I’ve listened to the podcast, but when I first got into podcasts, this was one of my favorites.

Ladies Who Lunch // This is a podcast by Cat and Ingrid, two YouTubers. I think their podcast is amazing. Each week, they talk about a certain topic. I love hearing their opinions, because they are always well thought out and structured. I may not always agree, but I appreciate listening. I also like that while Cat and Ingrid are similar in many ways, their opinions are also often different which leads to interesting conversations. 

Serial // This podcast is probably the most famous one ever. I listened to the first season and was captivated. I still have to listen to the second season.

The Lively Show // This show is capable of making you a better person. And by that, I mean that it is full of helpful advice and great ideas. I’ve been inspired to meal prep, take a course online, de-clutter my house, etc. Jess has a very lovely and soothing voice, and she’s always so kind to her guests.

What Should I Read Next // As this is a book blog, I couldn’t talk about podcasts without mentioning a bookish one. I started listening to this one last month, and I really enjoy it! I’ve gotten some great recommendations I would never have heard of/picked up otherwise.


Those are my 10 audio recommendations! Have you listened to any? What are your favorite audio books and/or podcasts? I’d love some of your recommendations to try out. 

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Audio Recommendations

  1. CANNOT wait to read the Veronica Mars books. They sound and look like fabulous reads – and I do have them on my shelf so there’s no legit excuse NOT to read them. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland, Jolien.

    Like

  2. I don’t know if I could listen to an audiobook, but I think the first one I’d want to try is Harry Potter because I’m so familiar with the story. Thanks for the podcast recs too! I really need to listen to Serial and I’ll definitely try and check out What Should I Read Next? too!

    Like

  3. I haven’t heard Stephen Fry’s narration yet, only little snippets, but I can imagine how awesome it must be. And I’m so glad Kristen Bell read the Veronica Mars book, if not it would have been a bit disappointing!

    I also heard the first season of Serial and I was captivated by it, but I haven’t heard the second one either. I love you recommendations, I’ll have to check those out! I often listen to The Read, which is hilarious.

    In my TTT I talked about the reasons I can’t listen to audiobooks. You can check it out here if you want: https://chapteradventures.wordpress.com/2016/09/20/top-ten-tuesday-why-i-cant-listen-to-audiobooks/

    Like

  4. The Harry Potter audiobooks seem to be making a lot of lists today! (somewhat unsurprisingly 😉) I’ve been tempted by that Lies of Locke Lamora a few times, good to know it works well.

    Like

  5. My absolute favorite audiobook is Harry Potter, but I prefer Jim Dale as narrator. 😛 (I haven’t actually heard Stephen Fry, though.) Holly Black’s series is also great on audio!

    My recommendations are:
    Daughter of Smoke & Bone Series
    The Scorpio Races
    Graceling/Fire/Bitterblue
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo + sequels
    Chaos Walking trilogy
    A Gathering of Shadows
    Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
    His Dark Materials trilogy (read by Philip Pullman himself!)
    Seraphina
    Lock In
    Codex Alera seires

    Like

  6. Stephen Fry? Harry Potter? That’s such an awesome combination. I really need to check those audiobooks out.
    The only book related podcast I’ve been listening to is the Legendarium Podcast. They’ve been doing readings of Sanderson’s book lately and I like listening to their discussion on each book.

    Like

  7. I’m actually listening to The Lies of Locke Lamora audio at the moment. I was a little worried I would lose some of the details as well, but Michael Page is a great narrator and is keeping my on track.

    White Cat sounds really good and I have it on my ipod to listen to soon. I had no idea Jesse Eisenberg was the narrator though.

    My TTT

    Like

  8. Ooh Veronica Mars- I bet that would be great on audio, especially with Kristen Bell narrating. I still want to rad those, maybe audio is the way to go. I don’t listen to a lot of audio as I get distracted but I’d like to…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I don’t listen to audiobooks, but I really want to try some soon and Veronica Mars seems perfect for it. Narrated by Kristen Bell, that just sounds to good to pass up 🙂 And if White Cat is narrated by Jesse Eisenberg I may have to give that one a try as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

