Top Ten Tuesday: Rolling Into a Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about your fall TBR. 

As some of you may know, I have a big problem with TBRs. I never, ever stick to them! So I created a different system. For each season, I have 10 books on my TBR. When the next season arrives, I only get to replace the books on the list that I’ve actually read. I only read 2 books from my Summer TBR: Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb and The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. So I only get to replace 2 out of the 10 books… 

fall-tbr-80c8b0

All of these were on my summer TBR, but I still haven’t read them. I know, I’m the worst!

The Emperor’s Blades (Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne #1) by Brian Staveley // I think this has now officially been on my shelf for a year. I’ve heard amazing things about it! I’m just scared to start another series at the moment… There are so many I still have to finish.

The Demon King (Seven Realms #1) by Cinda Williams Chima // This has been on my shelf for over 2 years. Maybe even 3. How scary?? I’ve heard so many people rave about this which is actually the reason I haven’t picked it up. I’ve read quite a bit of fantasy, and I’m afraid this won’t live up to the hype for me. 

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson // This book is intimidating, let’s be real. It’s ginormous. 

Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin // Another hype book! I still have to buy a copy… And read it…

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson // I need to read more non-fiction, and this is at the top of my list. It’s a hilarious biography about mental illness. Does that not sound like something you need right now?

Age of Myth (Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // I was so excited for the release of this book! I’m a huge Michael J. Sullivan fan! The only reason I haven’t read this is because it’s quite expensive. I usually read paperbacks as well, and I’ve only really seen the hardcover.

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2) by Brandon Sanderson // I should have read this book years ago. I think I read the first book in 2013 or 2014? How shameful.

The Black Company (Companies of the Black Company #1) by Glen Cook // I’m hesitant on this one. I tried to read it a while ago, but couldn’t get into the first chapter so I put it back down. But so many people rave about this fantasy series, so I need to give it another try. 

Night Film by Marisha Pessl // This is the first new addition to the TBR! I’ve had this on my shelf for a bit, and I thought it might be nice to add another genre to my TBR list. In case I don’t want to read fantasy…

The Desert Spear (The Demon Cycle #2) by Peter V. Brett //  I loved the first book in this series, The Warded Man. I read it in the beginning of 2016, and I’m determined to continue the series soon. I don’t want to leave years between the books! I’d really recommend the first book, I don’t see that many people talking about it. 


So that’s my Fall TBR! Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think of them? Do you have any problems sticking to your TBR?

59 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Rolling Into a Fall TBR

  1. I love this idea of a continuous seasonal TBR that replaces only the books once you have read them! I always find new books that over take books on my previous TBR and i never get around to the reading them 😉 I think i might have to borrow this idea…….

    Like

  2. I love it! Black Company! Don’t see it too often. I read the first book and thought it was a bit boring sometimes. But I just love books about soldiers & mercenaries and it had so much potential. I would have read on but can’t get the books anywhere! I would have loved them as Kindle editions..

    Reading The Demon King right now and am almost finished. Not sure if it’s a series I will continue. I wait until the end.

    The Desert Spear is on my list as well! It’s been too long since I read The Painted Man.. But I really enjoyed it as well. Didn’t like The Emperor’s Blades so much, unfortunately. I was having high expectations for it.

    Enjoy all of your Sandersons :))

    Like

  3. That cover for Furiously Happy is kinda terrifying!
    Yay for Sanderson books! I hope you’ll get to Well of Ascensions! I think it’s the slower of the three books, but it has its moments. Way of Kings is definitely ginormous! I made the mistake of bringing it to read while in a long queue. It was the hardcover too. My poor arm was so sore the next day 😦

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed the first book in the Black Company series – it was unlike any other fantasy novel I’d ever read, dark and real and so compelling. I didn’t really get into the rest of the series as much, but my husband devoured every single book!

    Like

  5. Wolf by Wolf is my list this week too! And though I don’t have a concrete plan to read Night Film, I’ve been meaning to read it for a while. It seems really interesting!

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  6. OMG read Wolf by Wolf! It’s so good! It’s also the only book I’ve read on your list and the only one I can put my stamp of approval on. So read it! Also the sequel and final book is coming out soon so you could binge it 😄

    Like

  7. I’ve heard excellent things about Brandon Sanderson’s stuff so I hope you enjoy his books! The only one on your list I’ve read is Wolf by Wolf which I’ve read and thought was really good. It wasn’t 100% my cup of tea because I wanted a little less motorcylce racing and a little more political uprising + epic shapeshifting but all in all I think it’s worthy of the hype so hopefully you like it 🙂

    Like

  8. I’m the same way with my TBR. I usually pick a book based on my mood at that minute, which doesn’t always mean it’s something from my list. Wolf by Wolf looks really good though, I hope you like it!
    My TTT!
    Happy Reading!

    Like

  9. I tooootally recommend dumping everything AND READING FURIOUSLY HAPPY RIGHT NOW!! It’s so hilarious. I literally couldn’t stop reading and laughing over it.😂 It’s honestly the perfect book, eeep!! 😉 And I loved The Demon King so so much so *fingers crossed* that you will end up enjoy that too!

    Also YAY finally someone else who struggles planning their TBR! *hi fives* 😂 I never know what to do for these kind of prompts because I don’t know what I’m going to read until 5 seconds before I pick it up ahahah. Plus I library all the time, so it more depends what my library gets in. I mean, I have a gazillion books on my TBR, but actually commit to them? Pfft no. I can’t handle that kind of commitment.😂

    Like

    • Okay, I really need to make Furiously Happy a priority! I’m going on a trip along next week, so maybe I’ll listen to the audio book then 😀 I also can’t handle TBR commitment. I just can’t read a book if I don’t feel like it! It’ll completely ruin it 😦

      Like

  10. I actually own the whole Demon King series and haven’t read it yet. I did jump ahead and read Flamecaster and I liked it enough to buy more of her books. I am also really wanting to get my hands on Wolf by Wolf. That feels like a book that got away from me that I really need. Great list!

    Like

  11. Good idea to have a seasonal TBR list that continues throughout the year!
    The Demon King is amazing! Well, I did take me a while to get into The Demon King honestly, but once I did I was hooked and the series as a whole was so great! And The Well of Ascension has been on my TBR for way too long as well 🙂

    Like

  12. You know I’m going to tell you to read The Demon King now by now. 😀
    I’ve been doing better with sticking to my monthly TBR’s this year. But not the list of books I made at the start of the year. I’ve read like one of 16. Never doing that again, haha. I haven’t looked back on my spring tbr I made for ttt. I should… Oops only 2, haha. I guess I’m better with month tbr’s than seasonal or year long tbr’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

