Top Ten Tuesday: Thieves and Assassins I Can’t Help But Love

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about villains! Now, I already made a post about my favorite villains last year. So instead, I decided to make a post about all the “bad” characters I happen to love. Not every protagonist is a hero, but that doesn’t make them any less lovable, right? 

Fitz // Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) by Robin Hobb // Fitz is an assassin, as you probably got from the title Assassin’s Apprentice. I do think he’s the least assassin-y, because the books are like chronicles of his life. They start when he’s just a little boy and not yet an assassin. I’d still recommend them though! 

Royce and Hadrian // The Crown Tower (Riyria Chronicles #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // One of my favorite thieving duos. I just love Royce and Hadrian. Hadrian is a more trusting and naive mercenary, and Royce is a paranoid thief. What better combination could there be?   

Kaz (and his crew) // Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo // I still haven’t read Crooked Kingdom so no spoilers! But I love the crew already, because they are amazing. 

The Gentleman Bastards // The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch // I have so much love for the Gentleman Bastards. They don’t steal because they have to, but because they want to. The schemes are so crazy, you won’t know how the threads are all connected until you reach the end.

Eli Monpress // The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron // I love the charismatic thief character, which is exactly how I’d describe Eli Monpress. He has fun stealing, he’s charismatic and made me laugh several times. 

Celaena // Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas // I couldn’t possibly make a list of my favorite assassins without Celaena… I also haven’t read Empire of Storms yet, so no spoilers! 

Azoth // The Way of Shadows (Night Angel #1) by Brent Weeks // I loved Azoth because you start following his character even before he starts training. He’s a street thief at first, living in fear of the older kids in the gangs. Why does he train to become a wetboy (an assassin with Talent)? Because he no longer wants to be afraid of anything.

Kat (and her crew) // Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally Carter // These aren’t fantasy books, yet still involve a fun crew of thieves. Kat and her crew (which partly consists of her family members) steal art (usually), but not to make themselves rich. At least, not anymore. 

Ismae // Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers // Grave Mercy was one of the first trilogies I read about 3 years ago when I really got back into reading. I loved it so much. In fact, I might want to re-read soon. And I just saw on Goodreads that there will be more books published in this series! YAY FOR MORE BOOKS!

The Assassin // The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson // I won’t tell you the assassin’s name because that’ll ruin a big part of the first book for you. I loved the assassin the most of all in this story. Far more than the prince. 


So that was my list for the week! I didn’t completely stick to the topic, but I didn’t want to just repeat a previous post I’d written. Have you read any of these? What are your favorite books about thieves and/or assassins? 

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Thieves and Assassins I Can’t Help But Love

  1. These are great! I have Six of Crows on my tbr, I just got it from a friend – and I definitely need to get Aaron’s Eli series, I’ve been meaning to read that for a while now.

    And my love for Locke & crew knows no bounds. I’m currently re-reading The Republic of Thieves ❤ ❤

    Like

  2. What a fun way to spin this week’s topic! I’m anxious to read Ally Carter’s series (because it looks darling!) and “Six of Crows” intrigues me. 🙂

    Like

  3. Azoth! ❤ Though I sometimes forget that's his name because I always just call him Kylar. He makes me laugh from time to time, and the fact he'd survived training with my favorite assassin ever is even better. Lovely list 🙂

    Like

  4. The Lies of Locke Lamora and Assassin’s Apprentice are both high up on my TBR – autumn/winter is the perfect time to read a good fantasy novel, too! Which should I read first? 😀

    Like

  5. I loved Fitz, and Ismae was awesome as well. And The Gentlemen Bastards have me so intrigued, I need to read Lies of Locke LAmora at some point.

    Like

  6. Great twist on this week’s topic, I love me some anti-heroes 🙂 Kaz and his crew are definitely some of my favorites as well! And of course Celaena! I only read the first book in the Remnant Chronicles, but the assassin character was definitely super intriguing! And I should really continue with the rest of the series 🙂

    Like

  7. Han from The Demon King is a great thief 😉 As for bad characters being the main characters I love Bartimaeus from the Bartimaeus trilogy for that. 😀 Great topic change.

    Like

  8. Totally agree with Fitz and the Gentleman Bastards 🙂 They are all awesome! I read the first book of the Night Angel Trilogy as well – I always liked the main character’s teacher, he was a badass

    Like

Leave a Reply

