Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Up Books I Ended Up Loving

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the books you read because of a recommendation. 

While I’ve been a blogger for 2 years, I was reading blogs and watching BookTube videos long before that. These are all books I’ve picked up because I heard such great things about them. Sometimes I’m afraid of the hype, because I’ve noticed it doesn’t always come true for me. But these books I absolutely loved. 

The Martian by Andy Weir // I don’t often read science fiction, something I’ve been trying to change in the past year. What better way to start than with a book highly recommended by many (and then about to be made into a movie)? I’m so glad I did, because I absolutely loved it. 

The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson // Brandon Sanderson is a highly recommend fantasy author, especially in the blogging community. I picked up The Final Empire after seeing it on so many BookTube videos, and am so grateful. It’s just amazing. I still need to continue the series though.

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater // Another book I probably would have never picked up without the blogging community. I still have to read her other books, but this series has become one of my all-time favorites. 

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes // I saw so many people talk about this book, and mention that it had made them cry.  I can attest to that. I bawled my eyes out while reading, and while watching the movie…

Splintered (Splintered #1) by A.G. Howard // If there was ever a hyped up Alice in Wonderland retelling, it’s this one. I read it during a read-a-thon and really flew through it. It was so much better than I thought! I haven’t bought the sequels yet though.

The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen // This book had already received so much hype before it was even released. Apparently, a movie deal with Emma Watson was already signed before the book was out. That’s high praise… I don’t know anything about the movie now, but I finally read this book in July! It was so good. I’m hoping to read the next book soon. 

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer // Another book I probably would never have picked on my own. Cyborg Cinderella does sound cool, but I don’t know whether it’s something I would’ve gravitated towards. By now, I’ve finished the series and fallen in love with pretty much all of the characters. 

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo // I probably would have picked this book up anyway because I loved her Grisha trilogy. But I did read the initial trilogy because of the hype on BookTube and the blogging community. So it kind of counts, right? This book is GLORIOUS. 

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers // I love the His Fair Assassin series. They’re an amazing blend of historical fiction and fantasy! You might know that I love fantasy and court settings filled with political intrigue. This book had lots of it. I can’t wait to read the 4th book that will be released either in 2017 or 2018. 

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas // Couldn’t leave this off, could I? Throne of Glass is one of the most loved series in our community. And so far, I’m really enjoying it! Although I haven’t read Empire of Storms, so I can’t speak for that one. 


So those were 10 books I read because of the hype in our bookish communities and ended up really loving! Have you read any of these? Did you love them? Which hyped up books did you love as well? 

62 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Up Books I Ended Up Loving

  1. I also picked up The Raven Cycle, Cinder, Throne of Glass and Six of Crows because of the hype. Somehow when I started reading both The Raven Boys and Six of Crows for the first time I actually hated them! But the book community convinced me to give them a second chance and now they’re two of my ultimate favourites!
    I liked Cinder and expected a lot from this series given the praise it got but the language read really flat to me. I was told the series got better as it progressed but I really disliked Scarlet and I couldn’t bring myself to continue the series because it felt really plain and undescriptive.
    Throne of Glass is so epic for a YA series. I do have my problems with it and never really cared for the romances (which is so much of what fans talk about), but I think the series is getting more and more interesting plot wise and I can’t wait to read Empire of Storms because the stuff at the end of Queen of Shadows felt game-changingly awesome.
    Great post 😀

    Like

  2. I read Me Before You because of all of the hype, and the movie trailer. I liked most of the story, but I thought the representation of disability was disgusting, which kind of put a damper on the whole thing 😦

    Like

  3. Haha, funny story. I was actually on my way home and reading Cinder on the train, and ended up sitting next to someone who eyed my book with interest. She wound up getting really enthusiastic about YA books and said I might be interested in reading the Splintered series. So yeah, that was definitely one recommendation I mean to take note of! I haven’t read Splintered yet, but it IS on my TBR!

    Like

  4. I’ve read and loved a few of these – and, every time I see the cover for Splintered it just stuns me – I love the covers for that series. So vibrant and eye catching.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  5. I’m so glad that I read the Raven Cycle! I definitely wouldn’t have picked it up if it wasn’t talked about so much on blogs. I still need to get to Me Before You and Six of Crows, hopefully soon!

    Like

  6. 100% agree about Raven Boys and Six of Crows. I resisted reading both for so long and then felt stupid for waiting so long once I finally read and loved the books. Great idea for the list!

    Like

  7. I am so grateful to the book community for directing me towards Throne of Glass/Sarah J. Maas because now I’m completely in love and the books gave me an escape when I was going through a bit of a rough time.

    I STILL haven’t read Six of Crows, but once Crooked Kingdom came out the hype got too much so now I’m on the hold list at the library, and the more I hear about the series the more I want the book right now so I can demolish it because it sounds like exactly the kind of thing I’d enjoy (even if I didn’t enjoy the Grisha trilogy that much)

    Zoe @ Readabilitea

    Like

  8. Yes yes yes to The Martian and The Raven Boys! I haven’t read any of the other books on your list, but one of my friends has been insisting that I read Cinder for the LONGEST time. She has assured me that I’ll fall in love with the series as soon as I start, so I guess I should probably read it relatively soon 🙂
    Great list!

    Like

  9. I have read six of these! 😀 That’s a first, usually it’s like one or two whenever someone lists books hahaha. Read the first five books and Cinder. I generally tend to be disappointed by overhyped books, but sometimes they really deliver. I still have to watch the Me Before You movie but I’m scared :3

    Like

  10. I loved Grave Mercy (and would love to see a movie version- if done right), and I liked Queen of the Tearling also. And Six of crows I need to get…

    Like

  11. I read Me Before You because of hearing so much about it. I didn’t like it. It mad me mad lol. I still need to read The Queen of Tearling.I looooved Grave Mercy. I still need to read the last book in that series.

    My Top Ten

    Like

  12. I didn’t feel The Martian lived up to the hype (but I had very specific issues with Mark bloody Watney, almost all of which Matt Damon has made me feel much better about; it’s still one of my go-to recommendations / gifts for other people, and a brilliant gateway book into SF), but it was a good read.

    Final Empire is sat on my TBR after many recommendations. I’ve got cold feet about it for various reasons, but one day I will finally take the plunge.

    Like

      • I hated Watney’s sense of humour in the book. I felt he came across as sexist and a bit of a playground bully, and in the book I didn’t get the sense of camaraderie that you get from the film. And some of the lines / jokes really just hit me as nails on a chalkboard (that one about raping the MAV? WTF?) So while I enjoyed the McGuyvering and the scenes at NASA, I actually didn’t care in the book if he lived or died. I find him much less objectionable in the film – most of the things I hated got cut from the script. It’s actually a go-to comfort movie in our household now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. It’s great when hyped books actually live up to the hype though I do hate the feeling of the hype and it tends to put me off books for a really long time. Of these I’ve only read Cinder ( which I didn’t like that much) but I do really want to read The Raven Boys as it sounds so different.

    Like

  14. I loved The Raven Boys, Cinder, and Grave Mercy! Totally worth the hype. I still need to read the Mistborn trilogy. I think what’s holding me back is that I feel like once I read one of Brandon Sanderson’s books I’ll have to read them all. And there’s so many! And they’re so long!

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  15. I love your list so much! I also read most of these because of the hype and ended up loving them as well. Fun fact: I actually first picked up Throne of Glass on a whim a few years ago (a Dutch copy at the Antwerpen Boekenbeurs), before I was into book blogging or booktube so I didn’t know about the hype yet. But I’m happy I did, because it’s now one of my favorite series 🙂 I haven’t read Queen of the Tearling or Grave Mercy yet, but they’re definitely on my TBR to read soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

