I’m Participating in the #Spookathon!

I actually wasn’t planning on participating in a readathon, but the challenges in this one looked like such fun! So here I am, the weekend before the readathon, making my TBR post for you all. 

Runs October 17-23
Hosted by BooksandlalaPaige’s Pages and Bookerly
Follow @spookathon on Twitter and use the #spookathon hashtag!

tbr

I plan on reading 3 books during the readathon! I hope I’ll be able to get to all 3, because they’re not very short ones either. Here are the challenges: 

1. Read a thriller
2. Read a book with red on the cover
3. Read a book with a spooky word in the title
4. Read a 2016 release
5. Read a book with a paranormal character/creature

Night Film by Marisha Pessl // This book will fulfill both challenge 1 and 2, because it’s a thriller and my copy is pretty much completely red aside from the girl’s face. I’ve wanted to read this book for ages! It’s a thriller with news articles, webpages, phone conversations, etc. mixed in it. Doesn’t that sound amazing? 

Days of Blood and Starlight (DOSAB #2) by Laini Taylor // I really liked the first book, but never actually continued even though I have the entire trilogy. But I think this book counts for challenge 3 and 5. Blood is a spooky word right? And it’s got angels and demons, which is paranormal.

Snakewood by Adrian Selby // I only bought this last week in Dublin, but it looks amazing. Plus it’s a standalone fantasy. I chose this for challenges 2 and 4. It was released in March, and it’s an additional red book! 

If I can read all three, I will have completed all the challenges -and gotten 3 books off my TBR!


Are you participating? Have you read any of these books?

17 thoughts on “I’m Participating in the #Spookathon!

  1. Good luck with the readathon! I’ve been seeing Night Film everywhere lately, so I’m looking forward to your review (thrillers aren’t something I normally pick up, but I could be tempted!).

    Like

  2. I hope that you’ll enjoy Snakewood, I really liked it even if the first quarter/third was a bit hard to get through because Selby throws you into his world and expect you to understand everything but, after the first 100 pages, it “redeems” itself and becomes very good! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sorry if this comment appears twice but WP keeps eating my comments on various blogs and I have no idea why, so I copied my comment before posting it… Gah.

    Laini Taylor!!!! 🙂 I translated this trilogy, I know it inside-out, I think. I hope you’ll like this sequel. The cover is really gorgeous, I have the US versions at home and while they’re pretty, this one is better. Good luck with your readathon!

    Like

  4. Laini Taylor!!!! 🙂 I translated this trilogy, I know it inside-out, I think. I hope you’ll like this sequel. The cover is really gorgeous, I have the US versions at home and while they’re pretty, this one is better. Good luck with your readathon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

