Putting Aside My Favorite Genre?

Most of you already know that fantasy is my favorite genre. It’s my love. Which is why I dedicated this blog to the speculate fiction I read. Sometimes I take a break for a romance review, or a non-fiction one, etc. But I always circle back to my main genre: fantasy. And lately, that hasn’t been the case. 

In October so far, I’ve read 1 fantasy book. In September I read 2 -aside from some of my Harry Potter re-reads of course. That’s ridiculous for me. Especially because while I’m writing this, I’ve read 20 books during that time -17 not including the Harry Potter ones. I can’t explain why I haven’t felt like reading fantasy as much as I otherwise do. 

The past few weeks, I’ve been in a mystery/thriller mood. The weeks before that, it was romance. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with expanding your genres, I’m not saying that. But I feel at times like I’m letting you guys down. I feel like, if you follow my blog, that’s because you love the books I usually read. Fantasy. And by not reading that genre, or speculative fiction in general, I’m letting you all down. 

It’s not that there are no fantasy books I’m excited to read! There are so many I want to pick up. Especially The Wise Man’s Fear, The Desert Spear and No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished. I’m really excited to read those! Yet I can’t seem to pick them up? 

I don’t want to let you all down. 
I want to tell you about all the amazing fantasy reads out there. 
I want to discover more amazing fantasy books. 
I just can’t seem to do so right now. 
I hope you’ll bear with me, while I go through some other genres. 


Have you ever gone through a period where you’ve stepped away from your favorite genre? Have you noticed the lack of fantasy here, or am I just making it up? Let me know! 

43 thoughts on “Putting Aside My Favorite Genre?

  1. Hi, Jolien! I know exactly what you mean. Only, I’m usually a romance reader that occasionally reads a fantasy, mystery or other type of book. I’m brand new to the blogging, but my Goodreads friends haven’t seemed to mind. I think that you should read whatever speaks to you. Your friends will be happy for you and might discover something new themselves. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sometimes you need a break away from a genre. I had this weird change in book taste during the pregnancy towards the mystery genre. There is nothing wrong with branching out and reading different things. Read what makes you happy and share it here when you want to. 🙂 We’ll be here.

    Like

  3. I totally get what you’re going through. My favorite genre is fantasy, too, and sometimes, as much as I love it, I just have to take a break from it. I almost think you need to, like, recharge your batteries or something for each genre. I know that I’ll find stretches when not even a quarter of the books I read are fantasy – then I’ll read nothing but fantasy for a dozen or more books.

    As for letting us down, I say try to not worry about it. In my experience, if you’re not in the mood for the genre, you’re probably not going to enjoy the book – and I’d much rather read reviews of books that you were actually excited to read than those for books that you felt like you were supposed to read.

    Like

  4. Fantasy’s my favorite genre as well, but I’m also a pretty big mood reader and I go through phases as well. Maybe this week is romance, next week is contemporary and I’ll only come back to fantasy in a month. I’m ok with that because it keeps my love for reading strong, and so I also really don’t mind if you discuss other genres on your blog as well. It’s not the genre that really matters, but the quality of the blog 🙂 And sure, I first discovered your blog because of the fantasy recommendations and reviews, but I don’t just love it for those! So I will definitely keep visiting your blog, no matter what genre you’re reading or talking about!

    Like

  5. I don’t think anyone thinks this at all, Jolien. It’s fun to read your lovely corner of the web no matter what you’re reviewing. As the years pass, I think our reading tastes change and evolve, and that’s part of the blogging journey. Things change, and that’s okay. 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh yes! Pretty often 🙂 I think I might read a thriller next. Sometimes you need a break from your favourite genre and there’s so much else out there. I’d be interested in your opinion on other genres as well 🙂

    Like

  7. Oh, yeah, I often need a break from a certain genre. I read so many romances, for example, that I NEED something else as a palate cleanser. Or I read a string of heavy fantasy and just have to read something fluffy afterwards.

    Don’t worry about it. Even if you stopped reading fantasy altogether, people would still read your posts, I think! I know of a blogger who went from being a YA blogger to a romance blogger and even grew her following. I think what matters most is that your enjoyment of reading comes through.

    Like

  8. I don’t follow your reviews for fantasy either! I have certain fantasy series that I enjoy, but it’s not one of my top genres. I enjoy your wide selections and the voice you write your reviews in. If you want to read more fantasy, you should, but don’t feel obliged! 🙂

    Like

  9. Oh, I think it is TOTALLY fine to step outside your “usual” reading comfort zone! Anyone who only follows you because you read fantasy kind of isn’t worth having around, tbh. I think well rounded is so much more fun anyway, because then there’s something for everyone 😉 And I feel you, I know from time to time I end up just wanting to read different stuff- kind of like I get in a lull with my usual fare and need to change it up! Definitely nothing wrong with that as long as you’re happy!

    Like

  10. Girl, I don’t read your blog because you mainly read/talk about fantasy, I follow you because you have a dang good blog and I love reading your posts no matter what they are about, you most certainly are not letting me or anyone down.

    Like

  11. I relate to this so much! Fantasy has ALWAYS been my favorite genre, since I first started to read, and now…I’m so “meh” towards it. I still enjoy rereading my favorites, but I haven’t enjoyed a new YA fantasy in I don’t know how long, and I’m not faring much better with adult fantasy. I’m in such a mood for thrillers and mysteries!
    As for what to do about your blog, I wouldn’t worry too much. Yes, the your blog readers probably do enjoy fantasy, but I have a feeling that most of them follow your blog because they like YOU.

    Like

  12. I personally don’t think you are letting anyone down. You’re simply stepping outside of your comfort zone of fantasy books to read other genres, and I respect that. It took a while for me to start reading other than fiction books, so I am happy for you.

    Plus, I follow blogs simply because I enjoy the content they make and how they style their work. It has nothing do with the genre you’re reading.

    Like

  13. I don’t really notice when people stop reading a certain genre (i didn’t notice it here). I go through genres like crazy, and I think helps me keep burnout away. I hope you enjoy whatever you read, even if it is not your go-to genre!

    Like

  14. I definitely do not think you’re letting your readers down by branching out and reading different genres! If your readers love the sort of reviews you’re posting, then maybe they will also love the other genres you’ve been reading, considering they have that in common with you.

    I usually go on genre sprees. I was reading everything fantasy a few months ago, then I was reading everything sci fi and in space, and now I’m reading everything zombie or survival/post apocalyptic. And I love it! I get bored with books other wise. I definitely think it’s an awesome thing you’ve been finding so many other cool genres!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

  15. It’s great to read multiple genres. I do the same thing too. There’s time where I just can’t do fantasy because fantasy tends to be quite dense and I’m just looking for something light to read. Don’t feel pressured to do only fantasy and just talk about whatever you read 🙂

    Like

  16. I tend to find reading fantasy difficult especially when I’m writing fantasy, so I avoid them whenever the plot bunnies start working. Same for SF! It’s really much better just to go with what you feel comfortable reading, since the blog and the act of reading is ultimately for you. Frankly, I find it even helps me as a reader to see what other types of books my fellow fantasy bibliophiles are enjoying!

    Like

  17. Feel free to read other genres! I never really follow blogs just for genres, I like when people branch out, get a bit of everything in there. You do your thing. ♥

    Like

  18. I’m so glad you wrote this! I feel the same. I adore fantasy but i’ve been reading a lot of romance lately too. And becore I got really into fantasy, i read crime/mysteries so I for one would be interested in reading your thoughts on the mysteries/thrillers/romances you’ve been reading too! It’s good to have variety, and who knows, we may all find new genres/books/authors because of you 🙂

    Like

  19. I don’t ever follow blogs for particular genres. I’m a very wide reader—I will give almost anything a go. I think it’s important to try different things because you might find a new favourite genre or author and I think that’s the best feeling. Basically, I would never stop following you for not sticking to the same genre. If anything, I’m just going to love your posts even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

