Top Ten Tuesday: Name That … !

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the characters you’d name your pet or child after. 

pet

Zeus // The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan // I’d actually prefer Poseidon, but Zeus kind of has a nicer ring to it? 

Blackjack // The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan // I know Blackjack is technically a pegasus, but I loved the name. Even if your pet is not a pegasus…

Ghost // A Game of Thrones (ASOIAF #1) by George R.R. Martin // Wouldn’t it be amazing to have a dog called Ghost? Yes, I think so. I love Nymeria as a name too, but it’s not as easy as Ghost…

Calo // The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch // I love both Calo and Galdo equally. But the name Calo just sounds wonderful for a dog -in my opinion. 

Blue // The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater // I would love to call my dog Blue. First of all, a lot of people would be confused. Why did you call your dog Blue? It’s not blue… Second of all, I love the character Blue so much.  

child

Luna // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // I love Luna – both the name and the character. And I think it’s a beautiful name for both a pet or a little girl. 

Eli // The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron // I actually don’t know why I like the name Eli so much. But I think it’s a great name (one you can easily pronounce in multiple languages too). 

Isabelle // The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // I love this name. In Dutch, it sounds beautiful. In French, it sounds amazing. And in English it sounds pretty great too! And you can shorten it to Isa if you wanted to. 

Elisa // The Girl of Fire and Thorns (The Girl of Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson // I love the sound of the name Elisa. It sounds so elegant! 

Ian // The Host by Stephenie Meyer // I love the name Ian. It’s such an amazing name! 


Those are the names I’d use for a pet -or even a child! Do you like them? Which ones would you choose?  

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Name That … !

  1. It’s funny you should mention Eli because that’s how a lot of people spell/pronounce my name. I know it’s supposed to be pronounced like the Welsh town, but I’ve always said it like ‘Ellie’. Beside the point, I do really like it as a name. I love how the Dutch pronounce names…or really any European country—I just love how names can sound so different. Okay, I’m done nerding out about different languages.

    Like

  2. I legit love all the names from Percy Jackson/HoO! I also really love the name Luna, though I feel like a lot of girls are going to have that name in the next 10 years hehe. Great List 🙂

    Like

  3. Haha, I actually would name my dog Nymeria! Or Rhaegar, actually…going on a Game of Thrones route. That said, a simple one like Ghost would be great if I ever get myself a husky breed of dog. For some reason I see Zeus as a bulldog, and I cannot explain why XD.

    Like

  4. A dog name Blue reminds me of Blue’s Clues, where the dog is actually blue in color. Haha. Ghost would be such a cool name for a white dog. Luna and Isabelle are definitely good names for children!

    Like

  5. I like Zeus and Blackjack for pets, I think Blackjack would be great for a black cat. As for kids, I like Luna and I think Isabelle sounds very classy.

    Like

  6. Zeus, Blackjack, Ghost, and Blue are such awesome names for pets! I also really like the name Luna. ❤

    I really want a cocker spaniel named Gatsby, and my favourite names for children derived from literature/mythology are Antigone, Cordelia, Guinevere, Sibyl, Freya, Edmund, Henry, Percy, and Lysander

    Like

  7. Isabelle; Elisa and Ian are all wonderful names. I like names that I don’t see or hear as often because, as a reader, I think these are the characters and/or stories that remain in my memory the longest. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

