Mini Reviews | Red Glove & Never Never

It’s time for another mini review post! I’ll be talking about 2 books I read recently. One I really enjoyed, one I didn’t. Let’s get into it!


red-gloveRed Glove (Curse Workers #2) by Holly Black
Published: 05.04.2011 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Urban Fantasy, YA
Rating: 4/5 stars – ★★★★
Goodreads

I won’t provide a synopsis, as this is the second book in the trilogy.

review

I read the first book in May, and didn’t want to leave too much time in between books (see my review of the first book here). Well, I actually listened to the audio book. So when I was planning my trip to Dublin in the beginning of October, I thought it would be the perfect time to listen to the sequel (I traveled alone). 

I love the audio books of this series. They are narrated by Jesse Eisenberg -which now means I associate Jesse with Cassel. Cassel really is a young Jesse to me. I love his narration, although I know a lot of people won’t. If you don’t like his voice, or the fact that he talks faster and a tad more quiet than most people, don’t listen to it. But I love it! It really gets me immersed in the book.  

I loved the fact that this book allows us to get to know some of the characters better. Especially Lila and Daneca were interesting to me! One from a worker/mafia family, one from a family fighting for worker rights (by worker, I mean curse worker and not a factory worker). 

The focus on the characters does show in the mystery aspect. Each book has a mystery/thriller aspect, and I have to admit I enjoyed the mystery of the first book more. I was more involved in it. I guess, in a way this book suffered a bit from middle-book-syndrome. 

I can’t wait to see what Cassel gets up to in the final book! I hope it’ll end up being my favorite of the trilogy. So far, this book was my least favorite. 


never-neverNever Never by Brianna Shrum
Published: 22.09.2015 by Spencer Hill Press
Genre: Retelling, YA
Rating: 2.5/5 stars – ★★.5
Goodreads

SynopsisJames Hook is a child who only wants to grow up. When he meets Peter Pan, a boy who loves to pretend and is intent on never becoming a man, James decides he could try being a child – at least briefly. James joins Peter Pan on a holiday to Neverland, a place of adventure created by children’s dreams, but Neverland is not for the faint of heart. Soon James finds himself longing for home, determined that he is destined to be a man. But Peter refuses to take him back, leaving James trapped in a world just beyond the one he loves. A world where children are to never grow up. But grow up he does. And thus begins the epic adventure of a Lost Boy and a Pirate. This story isn’t about Peter Pan; it’s about the boy whose life he stole. It’s about a man in a world that hates men. It’s about the feared Captain James Hook and his passionate quest to kill the Pan, an impossible feat in a magical land where everyone loves Peter Pan. Except one.

review

I was so disappointed in this book. It was a fairly quick read, which at this point is one of the only things it has going for it. As I’m thinking about it, I feel like I should bump it down to 2 stars. Anyway, let’s get started. 

I thought this was going to be a amazing Peter Pan retelling. And you may know that I’m a big fan of the show, Once Upon a Time. The Peter Pan season was one of my favorites, and Hook is probably my favorite character in the entire show. And I felt like he was done a gross injustice here. 

I wasn’t really immersed in the world, which is quite the feat because it’s Neverland. Neverland sounds pretty awesome in general -although a tad creepy. And I wasn’t in love, or attached really, to any of the characters either. 

The main character here is Hook, but there’s a fair amount of Peter Pan and Tiger Lily too. Peter was supposed to be this creepy sociopath. He has that childlike sense of right and wrong -and in his case, right is whatever he wants. And yes, he was most definitely a sociopath -or psychopath. Help me, I can never tell the difference. But I wasn’t creeped out at all. Just annoyed.

Then there’s Hook. He’s supposed to be the smart one, the one who wants to grow up because he believes that most of what Peter does is wrong. And I thought it would be an amazing tale of the both fighting each other, and Neverland attacking Hook. But once Hook decided to leave the Lost Boys, all he did was whine and sulk. Like a child -the exact opposite of what he was supposed to be. Plus, I could never get a grip on his character because the time and age is so different. One moment he’s 13, then something happens and he’s 17, and then he’s in his 20s. How does he know? How do I keep up?? Even though he was in his twenties, he still acted like a spoiled child! 

This was just not the book I hoped it would be. 

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews | Red Glove & Never Never

  1. I’ve read Never Never – I think that with better polishing and editing to tighten up the writing/story, it could have been a much better book. I liked it, but I agree the sulky thing was way drawn out. Though I suppose he really was a 13-year-old kid in a body of a 20-something due to being robbed of his chance to mature normally.

    Like

  2. So glad to hear you enjoyed Red Glove! I have it out from the library – really looking forward to reading it! 🙂 It’s a pity about Never Never though. I have a copy of it but I’ve heard such bad things that I’m not really sure I want to read it anymore haha! Great reviews! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

