2 Mystery Mini Reviews | Call After Midnight & The Silkworm

call-after-midnightCall After Midnight by Tess Gerritsen
Published: 01.01.1987 by Mira
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Rating: 3/5 stars – ★★★
Goodreads

Synopsis: Newlywed Sarah Fontaine must join forces with special agent Nick O’Hara to find her husband Geoffrey, who is presumed dead, and as they journey to Europe to discover the truth, they become the pawns in a deadly game of espionage.

review

I bought a copy of this in a secondhand shop in Dublin because a) it was super cheap and b) I love Tess Gerritsen’s mysteries. And it seemed to be about 300-330 pages at first. Until I realized that the last 60 or so pages are previews of two of her other books.

This book only has like 250 pages! For a mystery book, I feel like that’s difficult. In my opinion, a mystery needs time to develop and build the tension, and this book lacked in that department because of the length. 

In general though, I quite liked the mystery. It starts with an assassin murdering an assassin. And then Sarah gets a call. Her husband has been found dead in a hotel in Berlin. Only Sarah thought he was in London. She doesn’t believe he died, and wants to find out what happened -which is where Nick O’Hara from the U.S. State Department comes in. I had fun with the mystery -even though I had to suspend my disbelief at times.

The biggest reason I only gave this book 3 stars -aside from the length- is the romance, and how prevalent it was. First of all, Sarah had only married Geoffrey 2 or 3 months ago. She had only known him for 6 months. How do you marry someone you’ve only known for 6 months? That aside, she discovers some things about Geoffrey that make her believe she never really knew him. (I’ll try to hold in my DUH! here). And that’s where the romance with Nick starts. And I feel bad for not liking the romance, because I LOVED Nick’s character. He was an honest, smart and kind person. But you can’t fall out of love with someone in a few days, and fall in love with an entirely new person! Especially when you are a) so dependent on the new person and b) he must be intertwined with your husband’s tragedy in your mind.


the-silkwormThe Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2) by Robert Galbraith
Published: 19.06.2014 by Sphere

Genre: Mystery, Crime
Rating: 4/5 stars – ★★★★
Goodreads

Synopsis: When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days—as he has done before—and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine’s disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives—meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced. 

review

I didn’t particularly love the first book in this series, so I didn’t purchase the books. And I was kind of hesitant to continue. But a few weeks ago I went to my local library, and saw a copy of it there. I’ve been in a mystery/thriller mood lately so I figured I’d give it another try. And I really enjoyed this one! 

First of all, I loved the mystery in this book. It included the publishing/author world, which is always a plus to me. It’s about this author who goes missing -and his wife asks Cormoran to find him and bring him home. Along the way, you discover more about Owen and his works. He seems like a horrible person, and not that great of an author either, so there are many people who can be seen a suspects. By the end of the book, I didn’t even feel sorry for him anymore. I thought that he kind of deserved what happened to him -although maybe not in such detail… I never guessed who was behind the crime, so I was completely taken by surprise at the end. 

Then, there are the characters. I think that my biggest problem with the first book is that I didn’t connect to Cormoran at all. I found him much more relatable in this book. I was most definitely rooting for him: not just because he was helping this old and lonely woman, but also because he’s not afraid to stick it to those he hates/doesn’t respect. I also love Robin, his assistant, so I was glad to see her take a big(ish) role in this book. I hate Matthew though, can we just get rid of him? I feel like he doesn’t respect her enough. 

I was so pleasantly surprised by this book! I’ll definitely pick up the third book on my next trip to the library. 

8 thoughts on “2 Mystery Mini Reviews | Call After Midnight & The Silkworm

  1. I liked Silkworm much better than the first Cormoran Strike book, too! I will warn you over book 3 in the series, because a lot of the drama going on in the background is Matthew-related, which drove me nuts. Still, I’ve liked the books so far. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

