Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Mysteries

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about Halloween! I don’t really read a lot of scary books, so instead I thought I’d make a list of some of my favorite mysteries/thrillers. 

I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga // This is a fantastic YA series about a boy called Jasper Dent. His father was a serial killer, and is locked up in jail when murders start happening again in their little town. 

Gravity by Tess Gerritsen // A fairly recent read! I loved this science fiction mystery so much. It’s about the astronauts on the ISS when a deadly and unknown virus breaks out. 

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch // Another YA mystery! I was pleasantly surprised with this one… I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. 

The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles #1) by Tess Gerritsen // This series is the reason I picked up Gravity be her. I used to love these books, and the TV show as well. I haven’t watched the show in full. I really want to re-read these, and see if I still love them. 

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium #1) by Stieg Larsson // I read this trilogy quite a few years ago, and I believe in Dutch. Highly recommend. Would not recommend the movie -or at least not the American version. Didn’t like that at all.. 

The Passage (The Passage #1) by Justin Cronin // This book is absolutely massive! It’s actually the reason I haven’t continued the series. They’re just enormous. But it’s really good! It’s about our society years/decades from now, when a zombie-vampire-virus has broken out. You get to see how the virus breaks out, who it affects, how it stretches over communities and years.

One For the Money (Stephanie Plum #1) by Janet Evanovich // This is more of a cosy mystery series. I really love these. Granted, the series has been going on for a long time. Maybe they should have stopped earlier. But I remember reading these books so vividly: they made me laugh while I tried to figure out who was behind the new mystery. 

Obsession (Faces of Evil #1) by Debra Webb // I read this 2 years ago and was determined to continue the series immediately. Still haven’t done it… But this book was good. It’s about a FBI Special Agent Jess who returns to her hometown to solve a case. There’s a creepy serial killer, an ex, and a whole lot of suspense involved.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl // I read this for the #spookathon, and absolutely loved it. It’s amazing. There are different formats in the book too so aside from the normal prose you have police reports, articles, web pages, text conversations, pictures, etc. It blew my mind to be honest.

The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2) by Robert Galbraith // I included the second book instead of the first one because I loved it more, but I’d obviously recommend starting with number 1. This mystery was great, I didn’t see the twists coming and I really like the two main characters!


Those are the 10 (cozy) mysteries I really enjoyed! Have you read any of them? Did you like them? Recommend me some mysteries if you want!

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Mysteries

  1. I loved the Stieg Larsson books! Sooo good! They got me back to reading thrillers a couple of years ago. I didn’t like the movies either, although the Swedish was a bit better than the American. The only thing I really liked was the Swedish Lisbeth.

    The Passage is awesome as well, I am currently reading City of Mirrors.

    Like

  2. The Passage made my list this week but because I really want to read it! I agree though the sheer size of it is daunting! I really enjoyed Damage Done too, so twisted and creepy!

    Great list Definitely going to check some of the others on your list out, as I’m not big on horror either.
    Happy (Early) Halloween
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  3. Damage Done looks good, and I wondered about The Girl With The dragon Tattoo. It sounds like something I would like- and yeah I heard the American movie wsn’t very good…

    Like

  4. I read the novella Incendio by Tess Gerritsen but haven’t gotten around to reading more of her work. I really liked the novella though. I still want to read Cormoran Strike, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet either, haha.

    I have really enjoyed The Mysteries by Lisa Tuttle and Naked in Death by J.D. Robb this year. 🙂

    Like

  5. Awesome list! I’ve only read two of the ones you mentioned. I also loved the Millenium trilogy (although I have yet to read the third book!) and I’ve seen the movies (both the Swedish and the US versions). The movies were okay, the Swedish ones at least. I also absolutely loved The Passage. It’s crazy but really well thought out and well-written, too. I also haven’t continued the series but I wouldn’t mind picking it up again. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

