Top Ten Tuesday: If Your Book Club Likes Historical Fiction

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about book clubs! I decided to choose books your book club should read if they love historical fiction.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // I’ve talked about this book many times. And I will keep doing so until I see it mentioned more often here. It’s the story of two French sisters during the second World War -and above all, the part women played during the war. 

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Another book I have talked about endlessly for 2 years. I don’t really know whether this truly counts as historical fiction, but I decided to put it in here anyway. It’s a retelling of Achilles‘ story through the eyes of Patroclus. 

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers // I’m so excited this series will get more books in the next years! I absolutely loved it. It’s about assassin nuns in 15th century France and Brittany. Yes, please. Also, there is a lot of court life, politics and intrigue. 

The Emperor’s Spy (Rome #1) by M.C. Scott // I picked this book up randomly at a book fest because it was so cheap -and its sequel too. I was so pleasantly surprised by it! It’s set in many different cities and countries during the rule of Nero, emperor of Rome. But it also talks about the start of Christianity, Boadicea, the Sibyls, etc. So great!

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // This was an amazing debut novel! It’s set in ancient China, at court. It’s the story of a concubine who later becomes the Empress of Bright Moon -it’s not a spoiler, it’s literally the title of the duology. I think the second book was released shortly after the first one, and I really want to read that too! 

The Diviners (The Diviners #1) by Libba Bray // This is quite a well known book. It’s set in the 1920s in New York! It’s creepy, fun, atmospheric and intriguing. I still need to read the second book though! 

Outlander (Outlander #1) by Diana Gabaldon // Outlander is (mostly) set in Scotland during the 18th century. Although this book took me a while to read, I really ended up loving it. It highlighted many not-so-great things that happened during that time too: how the English treated the Scots, how a man treats his wife, how a woman gets accused of witchcraft and murdered when she’s just smart -and doesn’t agree with the priest. 

Labyrinth (Languedoc #1) by Kate Mosse // Labyrinth has two timelines: France in 2005, and France in the 13th century. I have to admit that I loved the 13th century timeline far more. But it’s a great (and atmospheric) story about Christianity, Catharism, and family. 

Brethren (Brethren #1) by Robyn Young // It’s been such a long time since I’ve read this book. I really want to re-read the trilogy. But I do remember loving it, which is why I keep picking up series by Robyn Young. This book is set in Paris, London, Palestine and Egypt during the last Crusade. It’s a story of a young man called Will, a member of the Order of the Knights Templar.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys // I feel like not many people talk about this book, even though so many people love the author. This is actually the first book I ever read by her. It’s set in New Orleans in 1950, and it’s the story of Josie who wants nothing more than to leave the French Quarter. There, she’s known as the daughter of a prostitute. It’s such a great story, people.


So those were my historical fiction picks! Clearly, I need to read more of the genre. Have you read any of these? Which historical fiction books would you recommend? 

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: If Your Book Club Likes Historical Fiction

  1. I read a LOT of historical fiction when I was teenager but for some reason it’s not one of my favourite genres as an adult. I don’t exactly avoid it as a genre, but it’s not the first thing I look for now. No clue why I had such a change of habits!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great minds thinks alike! I did the same topic! I love Historical Fiction! I really need to read more of the genre because Fantasy is grabbing my attention more this year. AWESOME! 🙂 *high fives*

    Like

  3. I absolutely adored The Song of Achilles and I’ve been wanting to try Grave Mercy. The Moon in the Palace is new to me, but sounds really interesting, so I’ll have to look it up. Thanks for the recs 🙂

    My TTT.

    Like

  4. Ooh Grave Mercy would be on my list too. Great pick. And I heard so much about The Diviners, including the 20’s setting and the creepiness. I did want to read those…

    Like

  5. OMG, more books to add to my TBR! I’ve always wanted to read more historical fiction but have no idea where to start. My Lady Jane is one that I’ve read though while it is a fun read, it pretty much tossed history out the window at one point. Great list!

    Like

  6. Great list. I have watched movies/series under this category but I haven’t really read many books of the genre. I have the Ninghtingale on my TBR so perhaps I will start there. Thanks for the recommendations.

    Like

  7. I don’t read a lot of historical fiction but they’d be great reads for a book club because there’s so much to discuss about how things have changed and how accurate the book is. Grave Mercy sounds really interesting. I’ve heard a lot about The Diviners and Outlander too. I’ll be sure to check them out. Great list!

    Like

  8. Great list. The Diviners and Grave Mercy still appeal to me even though I am not usually drawn to historical fiction. I really like the original cover of The Diviners

    Like

Leave a Reply

