Top 5 Wednesday: Misleading Synopses

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Misleading Synopses

  1. The Royal We sounds like a big NOPE. Lack of communication kills me, and who wants to read a depressing fairy tale? (Okay, probably plenty of people. Not me.)

    Ahaha, I feel your expression/reaction to The Emperor’s Knife in my bones, and I haven’t even read the book.

    I wasn’t a fan of The Great Gatsby, either. I can see its literary merit, but it’s just not my kind of book. (Bored me to tears, honestly.)

    One of the most misleading synopses I can think of off the top of my head is that of The Raven Boys:

    “Blue’s a quirky girl who knows better than to look twice at those wealthy, snobby, spoiled boys who attend the private school Aglionby—but then she meets four Aglionby boys who’re MYSTERIOUS and HOTHOTHOT. Now she’s got a reverse harem going on, which is cool, but what’s a girl to do when she’s been told all her life that if she kisses her true love, he’ll die???”

    Quite possibly one of the worst synopses of all time (even without my paraphrasing).

    Like

Leave a Reply

