The Sunshine Blogger Award!

I was tagged for the Sunshine Blogger Award in August by The Library Lizard -so thank you! I’m finally getting around to doing it. Oops, so sorry that it took me so long! So the point of this tag is to answer the 11 questions given to you, tag some other people and ask them questions. Let’s get into it. 

What is your favourite book title?

My favorite title? Man, what a question. Let me think about this for a while. I’ve always enjoyed the title Nice Dragons Finish Last. Is it my favorite title of all time? I don’t know. But I love it. Both because of the pun, and because in this case, it’s so true. 

Why did you start blogging?

I guess I started blogging because I loved the bookish communities so much. Both the blogging and vlogging ones. I loved these people who shared the same passion, and I wanted to be a part of it. I wanted to talk to you all about the books I’ve been reading! To have conversations about them. To share my opinion.

What is your favourite genre?

My favorite genre is fantasy, without a doubt. I might branch out at times and read other genres, but no genre holds my heart like fantasy does. Blame Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings and Eragon for that! 

What is your least favourite genre?

I have no clue. I feel like I don’t have a genre I really dislike? I do have books I dislike. I guess I don’t usually enjoy books with a pronounced religious theme? I’m not religious, and I have no connection to it whatsoever. I don’t even understand religion. So I don’t tend to do well with really pronounced religious main characters, because I just can’t relate. 

Name three of your favourite characters.

What is it with all these difficult questions?? Okay, I can’t leave Hermione off this list. It may be a cliché answer, but I genuinely don’t care. I love her. I also hold Percy Jackson very close to my heart. My precious one, may you always be witty and alive. Not necessarily in that order. And the last one? So hard to pick just one! Maybe Locke Lamora (from the Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch)? I do love his antics. Maybe Pippin from The Lord of the Rings? I CAN’T CHOOSE. 

What fictional world would you choose to live in?

middle-earth

Finally one I can easily answer. Middle Earth. Yes, I would love to see places such as Narnia and Hogwarts. But I’d still want to live in Middle Earth. I’d get to spend time in the Shire, with those quaint little hobbit houses and all the beautiful green scenery. I’d see the sea, and the Elves leaving. I’d see Rivendell. And Lothlórien. And Minas Tirith. And Rohan. I’d want to visit the Ents, and the Dwarves, and the Elves, and the Hobbits -and of course, the humans. I’d skip on a visit to Mordor though. No thank you. 

What do you use as a book mark?

A bookmark. Sorry for the boring answer! I just use a bookmark. I have so many free ones from the Bookdepository, from all of my orders. I have a beautiful laminated plate with my name in calligraphy that my mom made for me years ago. I have some magnetic cute coffee-related ones Inge gifted to me last year. I just use a bookmark! 

What is your favourite letter of the alphabet?

Do I even have a favorite letter? Does anyone? I feel like a narcissist if I go with J. Because it’s the first letter of my name. I also enjoy how it’s pronounced differently in so many languages -so that it becomes almost impossible to pronounce my name correctly if you don’t speak Dutch. It’s a soft sound in Dutch, kind of like the “y” in young. In Spanish, it’s pronounced the same way as a Dutch g. In English, it’s completely different too. Fun times. Try and introduce yourself with my name, I dare you. Best of luck in Starbucks too. 

What’s the longest book you’ve ever read?

According to Goodreads, it’s A Storm of Swords (ASOIAF #3) by George R.R. Martin with 1177 pages. It’s possible that this is the longest book I’ve read. I’m not including bind-ups, because those are technically more than one book. Yeah, so the Game of Thrones series. Man, those books are long as hell. 

Favourite book cover?

I love the covers I have of the Harry Potter series. They’re simplistic and beautiful -and I’ll adore them forever. Each spine has a different color too, and I love to look at them on my favorites shelf at home. 

Sunshine or snow?

Sunshine! Let me tell you, I’m the clumsiest person ever. You should never let me go outside when it’s freezing, snowing or covered in ice. I will injure myself. I’m not overreacting here. I have many stories of falling with my bike in winter. Some included a nosebleed, and especially rude people. For example, last time I fell, I really needed to sit down because I hurt my knee and had a nosebleed. So I sat on a random doorstep in the street I’d fallen in. Someone opened the front door, so I fell back and then said: “I’d invite you inside but I just cleaned the hallway”. GEE THANKS. I’M FINE. 

I AM TAGGING ALL OF YOU!
Especially Kyra, Kaja, Inge, Ely and Holly

And because I had such trouble answering some of these questions, I want you to answer some of the same questions. Here they are:

What’s your favorite debut novel of the past few years? 
Which character do you identify with most? 
Have you ever read a book and wished you could ask for a refund for said book?
Name 5 of your favorite characters. 
Are you a mood reader, or a TBR/list reader? 
How did your love for reading start? 
What is your favorite bookish memory?
Which fictional world would you want to live in? 
What is your favorite genre? 
List your 5 favorite movies! (if it’s a series, it counts for 1)
Sunshine or snow?

10 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award!

  1. Jolien, thanks for the tag! 🙂 I’ll definitely do it after my break, I love the questions and it’s always nice to have posts that break up the monotony all the reviews.

    Rohan is probably my favourite kingdom from the LOTR. I loved how they portrayed it in the movies! I really need to re-read the book soon.

    Haha and I know what you mean about your name being unpronounceable. Mine’s not TOO bad but my husband’s name is Anže, so you can probably imagine nobody has a clue how to read that. And let’s not even talk about surnames…

    And I’m really clumsy, too. I once fell on an ice patch in front of my parents’ apartment building and I cut my freaking wrist. I still have a scar that kinda looks like I tried to hurt myself. Fun times.

    Like

    • I can’t wait to see your post! Yes, Rohan does sound absolutely wonderful. I just have such fondness for The Shire and Lothlorien too. How do you say his name? That’s so interesting! Oh no, that sucks 😦 being clumsy is the worst! I know, trust me :p

      Like

  2. Oh man, those HP covers are lovely! And your mom gifting you with a fancy bookmark is adorable and sweet.

    But seriously, I’m dying to know exactly how your name is pronounced. I didn’t realize I’d gotten it so wrong, and it’s bothering me now. *Dies of ignorance.* =D

    Like

  3. Great answers. I wish I could say the same about bookmarks. I end up using receipts, papers, tissues because I always misplace my bookmarks. I love the reason you gave behind your decision to blog.The book blogging community is awesome:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

