Weekly Wrap Up | November #1

How is it November already? How is it almost 2017? I just don’t understand. 

what i read 80c8b0

Snakewood by Adrian Selby // ★★★ // I finally finished this one! It only took me like 10 days. I’m so torn on it as well! On the one hand, I really enjoyed the story. But on the other hand, it was sooo slow to read. 

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp // ★★★★.5 // This was absolutely incredible. I saw it at the library and knew I wanted to read it immediately. I actually read it in 2 or 3 hours, because I couldn’t stop reading. So good, and I’ll try to write a full review soon.

When Ryan Came Back by Devon McCormack // ★★.5 // I’ve already reviewed this review-copy I got sooo long ago, so I’ll link back to that here. I liked the mystery, but I think there were quite a few problematic things in this book. 

Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike #3) by Robert Galbraith // ★★★★.5 // I read the second book a few weeks ago, and knew I wanted to continue as soon as possible. So when I went back to the library, I picked up this one. I think it’s my favorite one in the series so far! 

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins // ★★★ // To be quite honest, I was disappointed in this book. It wasn’t the mind-blowing read I was expecting due to all the hype. I think I will see the movie because it might work better in that format? I don’t know. I’ll write a review soon. 

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie // ★★★★★ // I read my first book for #NonFictionNovember2016! This was only 50 pages, but so worth every second and cent that went into it. I highlighted several sentences and paragraphs, and I’ll be thinking back on it for a while. 

what i watched 80c8b0

I don’t think I watched a lot this week, to be honest. I didn’t really have the time. I did watch the new episodes of Scorpion and Lucifer, because I love those shows. And I watched a few episodes of Chicago P.D. I had never seen this show before, but it seemed interesting, and I do love me some crime shows. I’m enjoying it, even though I’ve only seen like 4 episodes. 

in real life 80c8b0

I had one more driving class (of 2 hours, as always) this week. I should have 4 more hours, but they’ve been put off because a new law will be introduced in December that will let me get a learner’s permit again. It’s a long story, and I don’t want to get into it. Let’s just say I got unlucky a few years ago, and I might get lucky now. Don’t worry, I didn’t do anything bad. When you have a learner’s permit, it expires after 3 years. I let mine expire without taking my practical exam. 2 months before that happened, a new law was introduced that stated that those who let their learner’s permit expire, have to wait 3 years for a new one (or take all the classes with the driving school, which is really expensive). 

I had another job interview with the same company I interviewed for last week.
I went to Pairi Daiza (which is kind of an interactive zoo-like place in Belgium). I’ll have a picture post on that soon! 


That was my week! How was yours? Did you read, watch or do anything fun?

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | November #1

  1. Hey, you said your name! Confirmed: super pretty.

    Why yes, we SHOULD all be feminists. I rarely read nonfiction myself, though I hoard history- and culture-related books; it’s an impressive and mostly unread collection. Maybe I’ll be inspired enough to follow your good example and finally read them. (Though none of them are as short as fifty pages, so, uh, maybe I’ll put it off a bit longer.) =)

    Congrats on finishing Snakewood! Celebrate!

    I think the only one of these I might eventually pick up is Galbraith’s, assuming I ever get around to reading the first two in that series. It really does sound interesting.

    Congrats on getting a second interview! Looking forward to seeing the animal pics. =D

    Like

  2. What a lovely post, dear Jolien! I’m so glad you enjoyed This is Where it Ends – one of my favourite books as well. Anything to do with Autumn/Sylv melts me every time. ❤ Honestly, I didn't love The Girl on the Train all that much either (such a shame really; I was so looking forward to digging into it and devouring it in a matter of hours, but it truly didn’t live up to the hype for me), but I hope the film does it better for you. Do keep us updated on how that is, yes? I hope this week is infinitely beautiful for you. xx

    Like

  3. Thanks for the reminder that ‘We Should All Be Feminists’ exists. I’d completely forgotten about it! Good luck with the interview (yay that you made it to the second round!) 🙂

    Like

  4. Jolien,
    I didn’t know you had a YouTube channel! Subscribed, obviously. You’re so clever and I heart you. You’re reading such interesting things. I don’t think I can handle a lot of them. I have a book by Adichie.
    It’s one of her longer books (Americana, I think it’s called). I heard really good things about her, so I’m giving her a shot.

    Oh my gosh, it’s so exciting that you’re taking driving lessons. Here in the US, it’s not that expensive to get lessons. But, to be honest, I was never a fan of driving–(I have seizures that were undiagnosed, so my brain would shut off while I was driving. Not very safe). I hope you like it better than I did.

    I like the set up of this blog entry a lot, by the way. Very neat. Thumbs up, my beautiful friend.

    Like

    • Aw, thanks Dina! 😀 I’ve heard great things about Americanah, so I hope you’ll like it! I think I want to buy a copy too.

      Oh no, that’s awful! If you ever want to talk about your day, or something that happened to you, or anything at all, MESSAGE ME! You are always the sweetest person ever to me, and I want you to be okay ❤

      P.S. I think I hate driving because I feel like I could possibly do so much damage. I'm probably the most careful driver ever at the moment. I always feel like I'm in a box of death and destruction. (Me? A drama queen? I have no idea what you're talking about)

      Like

Leave a Reply

