Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to the To-Read List

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the books you’ve recently added to your to-read list, or shelf, etc. So I chose the 10 books I last added to my to-read list on Goodreads!

Longbourn by Jo Baker // This is a story that takes place during the Pride and Prejudice story, but from the perspective of a servant in the Bennett household. As I’m writing this, I’m reading P&P for the first time ever. So it’d be interesting to read the servant perspective later. I saw this one on someone’s TTT post last week. I’m sorry, I forgot which blog.. If I commented on your TTT about Longbourn, let me know!

I Contain Multitudes by Ed Yong // In the spirit of #NonFictionNovember2016, I have been adding loads of nonfiction books to my shelves. This one is all about microbes and bacteria! 

From Dust and Ashes (WWII Liberator #1) by Tricia Goyer // I saw the sequel to this in the same TTT post as Longbourn -let me know if it was yours- and thought it looked interesting. So I added the first book to my reading list. WWII historical fiction? I’m intrigued. It’s also about the wife of an SS guard after the liberation of a concentration camp in 1945. Intriguing perspective!

Grunt by Mary Roach // I’ve seen many people talk about her other nonfiction book, Stiff, but this one seemed interesting too! It’s about humans at war, the affect of panic, exhaustion, heat, noise, etc. I know absolutely nothing about the topic, so I want to remedy that. 

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman // I’ve seen many people talk about this book, including Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic. It seems to be universally loved, so I bought it. It’ll be in my October Book Haul -if that’s not up yet. 

First Women by Kate Anderson Brower // I don’t know much about the U.S. presidents throughout history, let alone about the First Ladies. But I have so much love for Michelle Obama, so I want to know more about the First Ladies throughout history! 

The Last One by Alexandra Oliva // This is a science fiction book! I don’t read a lot of science fiction. And I know there is some controversy about the Goodreads Awards and how they are chosen -for the record, I do agree that the process isn’t good. But I saw this one in the nominees and thought it sounded really interesting. “It begins with a reality TV show. Twelve contestants are sent into the woods to face challenges that will test the limits of their endurance. While they are out there, something terrible happens—but how widespread is the destruction, and has it occurred naturally or is it human-made? Cut off from society, the contestants know nothing of it.”

The Romanovs by Simon Sebag Montefiore // I’ve always been fascinated by the Romanovs -blame Anastasia. It was my favorite animated movie when I was young. But I don’t know all that much about the family. I saw this book in a Nonfiction November TBR video, so wanted to add it to mine as well. I’ve also had a book called The Romanov Sisters on my TBR for ages, and want to get to that too. 

The Midnight Assassin by Skip Hollandsworth // I think this is a true crime nonfiction book about ‘America’s first serial killer’. I don’t know how truthful that statement is, but I LOVE true crime. It’s why I love Criminal Minds so much. 

Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winters // First of all, look at that cover. It’s an alternate history novel. It’s set in present-day, only without the Civil War in the U.S. ever occurring. Slavery still happens in four states. It’s about Victor, a young black man who works as a bounty hunter, and Jackdaw, a runaway. Victor infiltrates an abolitionist movement called the Underground Airlines. It sounds so interesting! 


So those are 10 books I recently added to my TBR! There are no fantasy books in this list, which kind of surprises me. I’ve been trying to broaden my reading horizons though! Have you read any of these? Which books are new to your to-read shelf? 

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to the To-Read List

  1. I’m obsessed with The Romanovs and have read/own both books you mention. Anything written on the family by Helen Rappaport is a worthy read. Enjoy and look forward to hearing your thoughts.

    Like

  2. I haven’t read Grunt yet but it’s also in my TRB. Bonk and Stiff were both great reads so I’m sure this one will be as well. I’m also obsessed with the Romanov family. I loved The House of Special Purpose and am also looking forward to The Romanovs.

    Like

  3. Hey, Jolien! Looks like a great list here. I remember seeing Tricia Goyer’s from way back when. Also, Alice’s is one I thought sounded intriguing when its cover was revealed. 🙂

    Happy reading, and as always, thanks for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Like

  4. The Romanovs sounds sooo interesting and the cover is just gorgeous! I haven’t heard of the others you mentioned, I will definitely check them out on Goodreads. It’s always good to research books 🙂 Longbourn sounds like my kind of read.
    P.S: Sorry if I’m spamming you, I just watched some of your YouTube videos, too! 😀

    Like

  5. I heard so many good things about Radio Silence, hope to read it too some day! And The Romanovs sounds great too (I also have an interest in that period and that family thanks to Anastasia 🙂 )

    Like

  6. I loved Longbourn so will wait to see what you make of it – that being said it’s been years since I read Pride and Prejudice so I don’t suppose that would have been as fresh in my mind – it will be interesting to see how the two compare for you.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  7. Great list. I hadn’t even heard of The Last One and also don’t read a lot of sci-fi, but it sounds really interesting. Thanks!

    Like

  8. The Last One sounds a tiny bit like Dead Set, a TV programme about a zombie outbreak. It centres on the Big Brother house, and for a few days they’re completely oblivious that the world has fallen apart. If you’ve not seen it, I recommend it 😀

    Like

  9. I’ve picked up Longbourn off the library shelf so many times but for some reason I’ve never actually checked it out and read it. I think it’s so clever and fascinating when writers tackle old classics from different perspectives, particularly novels that are as well known as Pride and Prejudice. I hope you enjoy P&P! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

