October Book Haul!

I don’t do book hauls often. Usually, when I buy books I buy small quantities at a time. Maybe in a secondhand store, or my favorite store is having a sale, etc. But I saw someone haul some books they’d ordered from Amazon.fr, which I found really interesting. I live in Belgium, so they shipping is free and the shipping time is short when I order from the French branch. Yet I’d never done that. So I decided to take a look at the English section they had. And I ended up ordering 11 books -and paid €60 in total (shipping included). That’s so cheap!

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
The Circle by Dave Eggers
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
The School for Good and Evil (School for Good and Evil #1) by Soman Chainani
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff VanderMeer
Jurassic Park (Jurassic Park #1) by Michael Crichton
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3) by Brandon Sanderson
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo

18 thoughts on “October Book Haul!

  1. Definitely some brilliant stuff in there! I’ve been thinking about picking up The School for Good and Evil for a while, so I’ll look forward to your review. I really hope you like Annihilation because I love it, but it seems to attract mixed reactions.

    Like

  2. What a gorgeous Pride & Prejudice!

    As a DIEHARD P&P fan, let me tell you: I enjoyed it the first time I read it (I went into it blind, like you, not knowing what it was about), but because Austen doesn’t describe facial expressions, vocal tones, body language, or explicit emotions, I had a hard time understanding and bonding with the characters on an emotional level. They all seemed very cool and aloof to me, because I wasn’t sure what emotions they were feeling.

    And then I watched the 1995 BBC miniseries version of P&P (with Colin Firth, excuse my swoon), and my mind was blown–because the characters were not cool, aloof, emotionally distant people, as I’d imagined them. These were people I could relate to, fall in love with, be aggravated by, laugh at and with. I immediate reread P&P, imagining the characters speaking with the expressions and tones (etc) that I’d seen the actors use in the miniseries, and holy crap was it a totally different reading experience.

    So, honestly, weird as it sounds, this is one of those books that I’d actually advocate watching the miniseries first if you’re having a hard time engaging with the book. Honestly, I watch the miniseries at least three times a year, and reread the book about once a year. That’s my level of obsession.

    Note: I don’t like the Kiera Knightley film version, because: (1) its two-hour length means that a HUGE amount of story and character development are sacrificed, so it feels like an unsatisfactory Cliff’s Notes version of the book, and (2) its Mr. Darcy looks and acts like he’s milliseconds away from breaking down into tears the entire movie. Colin Firth has the proud-aloof-but-ultimately-goodhearted thing down pat, no pitiful sobs imminent.

    Whew, sorry to talk so much! I just. It’s P&P, you know?

    I’ve been putting off reading the second Mistborn book, too, though I also own the entire trilogy. Maybe we’ll both make it through the trilogy by this time next year! *Goals.*

    Congrats on the awesome haul! Hope you love them all. =)

    Like

    • Thanks for this amazing comment! 😀 I actually didn’t have a problem reading P&P and only realized that she doesn’t describe those things when you said it! I’ve now watched both the mini series and the 2005 movie too 😀 I really like how the mini series includes everything, but I quite like Keira Knightley as Elizabeth too? I quite enjoyed both adaptations, to be honest 😀 But like you said, the 1995 mini series is far more developed and in depth (which is amazing).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is an epic book haul, Jolien!

    Thank you for the mention – and I love your frown as you read the back blurb of the Goblin Emperor, haha! 😀 I hope you like it and that this won’t ruin my standing with you when it comes to book recs.

    Also HOW HAVE YOU NEVER SEEN A P&P MOVIE?! No, I get it, if you’re not an Austen fan, you’d have no reason to watch it, but it’s a very pretty movie. Beautifully done (the Keira Knightley version).

    Like

Leave a Reply

