Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

I was tagged for this one by the lovely Ely @ Tea & Titles. I assume you’re already following her. If not, definitely check her out! The blog is run by Ely & Michelle, and they are both wonderful beings.

How long have you been a blogger?

I’ve been a blogger since September 2014, so a little over 2 years! I can’t believe it’s been 2 years already. I’m so grateful I decided to take the plunge.

At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

I have no plans to do so? I don’t think I can put a time on that. Maybe in a few years, I won’t have the time. Or I won’t have time to read anymore. I don’t know. But right now, I don’t have any plans of leaving the community.

What is the best thing about blogging?

No doubt, you all. The community. I know there are a lot of discussion posts on drama on Twitter/within the community, but I have personally never been part of it. I’ve only had one rude comment, which wasn’t even rude to me, but to the YA genre. I just deleted it. The support I’ve received from you all, the recommendations and the friendship, those are things I treasure. 

What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it better?

Like I said, I’ve only ever gotten one rude comment. So I guess that’s the worst part. People who misunderstand and get angry, drama, etc. I don’t often see the drama first hand, so I think I already make it better by following only the great and chill people. 

How long does it take you to make/find pictures to use? 

I’ve been trying to get more into book-photography, but I don’t do it often yet. When I do, I plan different books to photograph on one day or one morning, so I do it all together. I also don’t have that many graphics on my blog, so I guess this question doesn’t really apply to me. 

Who is your book crush?

Can I think about this answer for 10 years? Yes? Thank you. I guess I absolutely adore Fred Weasley. And I love Eragon (from the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini) too, especially as he grows during the books. And Jem Carstairs (The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare). Jem’s the best. 

What author would you like to have on your blog?

I guess Rachel Aaron or Michael J. Sullivan? I adore both authors, think they are highly underrated, and would read anything they wrote.

What do you wear when you write a blog post? 

Whatever I’m wearing that day? Sometimes jeans, sometimes a dress, sometimes sweatpants or pyjamas? I guess it depends when I’m writing, and where I am? 

How long does it take you to prepare? 

Prepare for what? To write a blog post? None at all, I turn my laptop on and start writing. To film a video? Not long, I just grab the books and move the camera.

How do you feel about the book blogger community? 

I love this community. There have been so many people over the past 2 years that have made me feel welcome, appreciated, and so on. I’m so glad to get to know you all. 

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog? 

Am I the right person to ask this? I don’t know. I guess I’d say to just be yourself when you write. Don’t try to imitate someone else’s writing voice. It won’t feel genuine, and you won’t be able to stick with it. Just stick with the writing style and blogging style that suits you. There will be people out there who will love to read it. Also, be respectful. Accept that you have much to learn, especially in the case of diversity. A while ago, I wrote a blog post about privilege and feeling uneducated, and the response I got was great. I have a lot of privilege that I was born with. So I try my best to read diversely, to understand others’ experiences and to never, ever discount them. 

Are you still here, reading this? Then I am now tagging you.

9 thoughts on “Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Leave a Reply

