Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Movies

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, we’re changing it up! I’m talking all about my favorite movies. While I love reading, and watch quite a lot of TV shows, I don’t watch that many movies. These are some of my absolute favorites, some of these I’ve watched multiple times. I’m not counting animated movies, by the way. I’ll make a separate post on that soon. 

The Lord of the Rings // I’m counting the entire series here. I love these movies. They were the start of my love for epic fantasy. I remember watching the last movie on the couch with my mom and brother. I was horrified at the giant spider, my mom horrified at the Orcs, and my brother enjoying our horrified faces. I just love it. 

Harry Potter // Like LotR, I’m counting the entire series. Not just The Goblet of Fire. You just can’t leave these off. While they aren’t the perfect adaptation, they’re pretty damn great. 

Troy // I think my adoration for Greek mythology, Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome was multiplied after watching this movie. First of all, it’s Brad Pitt as Achilles. I just adore this story. And the music. And the actors. And the scenery. And the original story. 

Now You See Me // A little bit more recent than the previous three. I don’t really know why I adore this movie so much -and why I’ve watched it multiple times. I do love Isla Fischer, Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo and Dave Franco. And I loved them before I watched it, so maybe that’s a reason? I am also fascinated by magic and magicians, and sleight of hand. 

Deadpool // An even more recent pick! What is happening? I can’t tell you how often I laughed out loud while watching this. It’s a specific type of humor though -so watch the trailer, and if you don’t like it, you won’t like the movie. Or you can already tell from the poster. I think Ryan Reynolds did an incredible job portraying Deadpool. I really want to read the comics now.

The Holiday // I’m going to be cheesy and honest, and say this is one of my favorite rom coms, ever. Maybe I should make a list of those! I have rewatched this movie multiple times, often during the Christmas holidays. 

Brooklyn // I watched this in 2016, and was blown away. It’s the kind of story I’d describe as quietly beautiful. It’s the story of an Irish young woman in the 1950s, who moves to New York City to find a job. She leaves her family and everyone she knows behind to do so. It’s a story on finding your place, falling in love, and so on. It’s so amazing. 

The Way He Looks // I think this is a Brazilian movie? Not entirely sure. Obviously, I watched with subtitles, because I don’t speak Portuguese. But this story was so ADORABLE. It’s about Leo, a young guy who also happens to be blind. And then a new guy comes to school, Gabriel. It’s a story on being physically impaired, growing up, discovering you’re gay, etc. I’d recommend it to everyone. 

The Big Short // I never thought I’d have a movie on the financial and economic crisis of 2008 in my favorites list. Yet here I am. I love this story because it talks about those who did see the crisis coming, about the ones who should’ve been punished but weren’t. It’s brutally honest, and has quite a unique filming style. And hey, this also has Brad Pitt in it!

Inglourious Bastards // I love this movie set during the second World War. It’s about a group of soldiers who kill Nazis. Or carve a swastika on their forehead. It’s just, genius. Also: another Brad Pitt one!


So those are my favorite (non-animated) movies! Have you watched them? What are your favorite movies?

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Movies

  1. Though you cannot deny Brad Pitt as Achilles… Thanks 😀 You clearly have a great taste in movies and if you ever read film reviews, I think there’s a good chance you would enjoy my blog.

    Like

  2. I love the entire series of Harry Potter too!! Who doesn’t? I love the adaptation of Goblet of Fire but I don’t like Harry’s hair! Hahaha I think the best adaptation is Deathly Hallows and probably Order of the Phoenix? I mean, Order of the Phoenix movie has all the important scenes but it was too short 😦 and I’m a big fan of Now You See Me! Especially NYSM 2, I watched it on the cinema 3 times and countless times on my laptop 😛 great list!

    Like

  3. I really want to see The Big Short! Also Inglorious Bastards (along with the rest of Quentin Tarantino’s movies. I love movies made by directors with very distinct styles so I feel like I would like them… although I’ve actually never seen a Tarantino movie because I’m not sure I could handle all the blood. >__<)

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  4. The Lord of the Rings movies are so awesome. I’ve never seen Now You See Me, I’ll have to look for that one. And The Holiday looks fun too.

    Like

  5. I could definitely watch The Holiday over and over again, and I’d probably watch a number of scenes in Inglorious Basterds over and over again (mostly the ones with Walz in it, haha). Deadpool was pretty great, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aww The Holiday! I forgot about that one! That film helped me get over the most stupid relationship of my life. I still think if it wasn’t for this movie I’d have continued being a doormat like Kate Winslet’s character.

    I think Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings should be on everyones lists and I’m embarrassed to think I didn’t put them on mine! I agree with Lindsay, definitely worth a marathon watch soon!

    Have a lovely week!
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  7. Such a great list! The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter are some of my all-time favorites as well (and both due for a marathon soon). I also LOVED Troy, Deadpool, Inglourious Basterds and The Holiday. The Holiday is also one of those movies I like to rewatch during the holiday season ❤ And Now You See Me has been on my to-watch list for too long already, I must get on that!

    Like

  8. I saw Deadpool soooo many times at the movies because I loved it so much, it seriously is just one of the most unapologetically funny movies! Harry Potter – all of these are on my favourites list. Star Wars I watch pretty much every week (the oldies more than the new) and one of my most favourite kids movies is Tangled…I have seen that movie a million times and still cry from happiness at the end lol! I love this list by the way, I’ll add some of these to my watch list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

