2017 Beat the Backlist TBR!

I always want to join 20000000 challenges each year, but I don’t often stick with them. So I kept telling myself to not join too much for 2017. And here I am. Already joining a challenge. NO REGRETS. (Does anyone else always think about that dude in We’re the Millers who had ‘no ragrets’ tattooed on his chest?) But I feel like this challenge is in line with my never-ending hope to read my entire TBR of physical copies. Here’s the thing. I was so happy I’d gotten my hard-copy-tbr below 80, and then I bought 11 books. Yup. I feel like I can’t post this tbr before December, because I don’t have a clue which of my books I’ll end up reading before the year of 2016 is over. Here we go. 

beat-the-backlist

The Beat the Backlist challenge was created by Austine @ Novel Knight! This links you back to the sign up post for the challenge. The challenge is to read those books that have been on your tbr for a while. The only rule is that the book must have been released prior to 2017 -and obviously the challenge runs from January 1st to December 31st, 2017. 

Also, she has created a mini challenge to go along with this one, to battle for the Hogwarts House Cup! I will definitely be participating -Hufflepuff for the win. 

What is my goal?

So what do I want to achieve? I want to get my tbr down to 45, if possible even lower. I’m hoping 45, that would be around half of what I have at the moment. I’m only counting hard copies in my challenge by the way, not ebooks. If I end up with 10 or 20 or 5 books on my tbr, I’ll be elated. But if I get it down to 45, I’ll still be overjoyed. 

What’s on said tbr? 

So here we go, a list of all the hard copies I have. Like I said, I’m not planning on reading all of them -at least I don’t think I’ll be able to. 

A

Alice Oseman – Radio Silence
Alison Croggon – Books of the Pellinor #1 – The Gift
Alma Katsu – The Taker #1 – The Taker
Alma Katsu – The Taker #2 – The Reckoning
Anne Bishop – Black Jewels #1 – Daughter of the Blood
Audrey Niffenegger – The Time Traveler’s Wife

B

Bram Stoker – Dracula
Brandon Sanderson – Stormlight Archive #1 – The Way of Kings
Brandon Sanderson – Mistborn #3 – The Hero of Ages
Brandon Sanderson – Mistborn #4 – The Alloy of Law
Brent Weeks – Night Angel #2 – Shadow’s Edge
Brian McClellan – Powder Mage #1 – Promise of Blood
Brian Staveley – Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne #1 – The Emperor’s Blades

C

Carlos Ruiz Zafón – Cemetary of Forgotten Books #2 – The Angel’s Game
Charlotte Brontë – Jane Eyre
Cheryl Strayed – Wild
China Miéville – Kraken
Cinda Williams Chima – Seven Realms #1 – The Demon King
Conn Iggulden – Wars of the Roses #1 – Stombird
Conn Iggulden – Wars of the Roses #2 – Trinity
Conn Iggulden – Emperor #1 – The Gates of Rome
Courtney Summers – All the Rage

D

Dave Eggers – The Circle
David Gibbins – Jack Howard #5 – The Mask of Troy
Den Patrick – Erebus Sequence #1 – The Boy With the Porcelain Blade
Diana Gabaldon – Outlander #7 – An Echo in the Bone
Django Wexler – The Shadow Campaigns #1 – The Thousand Names
Dora Levy Mossanen – The Last Romanov

E

Elizabeth Kostova – The Swan Thieves
Ellen Hopkins – Triangles

F

Fiona McIntosh – Valisar #2 – Tyrant’s Blood

G

Gail Z. Martin – Fallen Kings #1 – The Sworn
Geoff Ryman – The King’s Last Song
Glen Cook – Chronicles of the Black Company #1 – The Black Company
Guy Gavriel Kay – Tigana

H

Hanna Rosin – The End of Men 

I

J

J.R.R. Tolkien – The Silmarillion
J.M. Barrie – Peter Pan
Jandy Nelson – I’ll Give You the Sun
Jane Austen – Northanger Abbey
Jane Green – The Love Verb
Jeff Vandermeer – Southern Reach #1 – Annihilation
Jennifer Weiner – Best Friends Forever
Jessie Burton – The Miniaturist
Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer – Between the Lines #1 – Between the Lines
John Scalzi – Lock In
Jonathan Maberry – Rot & Ruin #1 – Rot & Ruin
Joy Preble – Dreaming Anastasia #1 – Dreaming Anastasia
Joy Preble – Dreaming Anastasia #2 – Haunted

K

Karen Marie Moning – Fever #1 – Darkfever
Kate Mosse – Languedoc #2 – Sepulchre
Katherine Addison – The Goblin Emperor
Katherine Howe – The House of Velvet and Glass
Katherine Neville – The Eight #2 – The Fire
Kathryn Stockett – The Help
Khaled Hosseini – A Thousand Splendid Suns 

L

Laini Taylor – Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3 – Dreams of Gods and Monsters
Linda Howard – Cry No More
Louise Bagshawe – Desire

M

M.C. Scott – Rome #2 – The Coming of the King
Marie Rutkoski – The Winner’s Trilogy #2 – The Winner’s Crime
Mark Lawrence – The Broken Empire #1 – Prince of Thorns
Martha Brockenbrough – The Game of Love and Death
Mazarkis Williams – Tower & Knife #2 – Knife Sworn
Meg Gardiner – Jo Beckett #4 – The Nightmare Thief
Michael Crichton – Jurassic Park #1 – Jurassic Park
Miles Cameron – Traitor Son Cycle #2 – The Fell Sword

N

Nathaniel Hawthorne – The Scarlet Letter

O

P

Patrick Rothfuss – Kingkiller Chronicles #2 – The Wise Man’s Fear
Philip Carter – Altar of Bones
Philippa Gregory – Cousin’s War #4 – The Kingmaker’s Daughter
Philippa Gregory – Order of Darkness #1 – Changeling
Philippa Gregory – Tudor Court #1 – The Constant Princess

Q

R

Ralph McInerny – Rosary Chronicles #1 – The Third Revelation
Raymond E. Feist – Riftwar Saga #1-2 – Magician
Robin Hobb – Farseer #3 – Assassin’s Quest
Robin Hobb – Liveship Traders #1 – Ship of Magic
Robyn Young – Insurrection #1 – Insurrection
Robyn Young – Insurrection #2 – Renegade

S

Scarlett Thomas – Our Tragic Universe
Sherrilyn Kenyon – Chronicles of Nick #2 – Invincible
Soman Chainani – The School for Good and Evil #1 – The School for Good and Evil
Sophie Hannah – Spilling CID #7 – Kind of Cruel
Stephen R. Lawhead – Dragon King #1 – In the Hall of the Dragon King

T

Tess Gerritsen – Tavistock Family #2 – Stolen
Thomas Steinbeck – In the Shadow of the Cypress

U

V

W

X

Y

Z


Like I said, I’m not planning on reading all of these. These are just the unread books I have on my shelf, and I want to read them. I want to read at least 45 to 50 of these, that’s my goal for this challenge. When I acquire more backlist books next year, I’ll add them to the list. When I have read and reviewed one, I’ll strike it through and add a link to my review. Or if I end up reading one of my books before 2017I’ll remove them from the list.

33 thoughts on “2017 Beat the Backlist TBR!

  1. There are so many great titles on your TBR! I’ll Give You The Sun, The Miniaturist, Rot & Ruin, A Thousand Splendid Suns… And I should add The Wise Man’s Fear to my goals as well; it’s been way too long since I finished the first book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked The Goblin Emperor, just be warned that the world building is very involved – and sometimes confusing, especially with the naming. But it was a really good book that I HIGHLY recommend. (It’s not a really action-y book, though, so be prepared for that, too.)

    I wish you lots of luck with your reading. I know how helpful this kind of stuff can be because I did a challenge a bit like this this year and combined with a book buying ban it majorly cut my TBR down. So I hope you manage to get everything read you want to!

    Like

  3. I don’t review ARCs so my entire reading style/plan is based on trying to clear my TBR piles. To be honest, I don’t think I’ll ever come close though! Good luck with the challenge. There’s some wonderful books on your list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I should do this. I mean, I have SO MANY unread books at home!

    I actually really enjoyed The Scarlet Letter, though it’s a hard book to read. I’d give it a try if I was you! 🙂

    Like

  5. I definitely need to do some sort of challenge like this! I keep accumulating more and more books and a) I don’t have the space to put them in my room and b) I don’t have the time to read them all. If I could get my physical TBR down half of what it is today by the end of 2017, either by reading them or giving the ones I don’t want anymore away, I would be ecstatic.
    Best of luck with the challenge, and happy reading! 🙂

    Like

  6. This is a really good idea! Might have to consider giving this a go. I highly recommend you reading The Time Traveler’s Wife, Dracula, Jane Eyre and A Thousand Splendid Suns – all books that I know and absolutely love 🙂

    Like

  7. Ohhh, I really want to read Brandon Sanderson books but it’s so big and I already have a long list of books to read next year. I can’t wait to see what you think of his books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

