Review: Crooked Kingdom | Everything I Wanted and More (No Spoilers)

crooked-kingdom

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo
Published: 27.09.2016 by Henry Holt and Co.
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Rating: 5/5 stars – ★★★★★
Goodreads

I won’t provide a synopsis here, as this is the second book in the duology. My review will be spoiler-free. 

review

I only hauled this book this week, as my order arrived on the 4th of November. I did really want to read this, but I didn’t think I’d pick it up so soon after buying it. I had been able to avoid spoilers of any kind, so I figured I shouldn’t push my luck and just read it now. I’m so glad I did. 

I’m both happy and sad this is a duology. I’m sad because I can’t say goodbye to these characters just yet. They’re all so precious, and I want to keep reading about their adventures. Yet I’m happy too. Happy that the story didn’t get stretched out to make a third book. Happy that the characters’ actions felt truly like them. This feels like the best and realistic way to end this story.

I have an endless amount of love for these characters. I love how unapologetic they are about who they are. They accept and love each other like family, accepting everyone’s dark side. They don’t pretend in front of each other. They respect and admire the entire person, not just the good side. These friendships are real, their connections beautiful.

That’s really all I’ll say about this book. I loved it. It was the perfect, and most realistic, way to end their story. I was captivated from the first page. I adore the characters, the friendships, and the romance. I adore the portrayal of disability, of trauma and how to help others. How to accept them. I’ll just leave you with a few of my favorite quotes. Don’t worry, they won’t spoil anything for you.

“I’ve been nothing but kind to you. I’m not some sort of monster.”
“No, you’re the man who sits idly by, congratulating yourself on your decency, while the monster eats his fill. At least a monster has teeth and a spine.”

“But I am grateful every day for that disaster. I needed a cataclysm to shake me from the life I knew. You were an earthquake, a landslide.”
“I,” she said, planting a hand on her hip, “am a delicate flower.”

“Come on,” she said. “We’ll get Colm to order us something decadent. (Inej)
“That’s your answer for everything.” (Nina)
“You’re complaining?” Inej asked.
“I’m stating one of the reasons I adore you.”

10 thoughts on “Review: Crooked Kingdom | Everything I Wanted and More (No Spoilers)

    • For Six of Crows, it definitely isn’t. You’ll understand all the events in this book without reading the original trilogy. For Crooked Kingdom… Sure, you’ll understand everything but you will read major spoilers on the original trilogy as some of its characters are involved in the story of Crooked Kingdom

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I actually just need to finish reading Ruin and Rising and then I’m done with the original series. I can’t wait until I’ve done that because then I am going to dive into this duology. And it sounds like this one is fantastic from your review. Brilliant review x

    Like

  2. I put off reading Six of Crows for the longest time. And it was phenomenal. I can’t believe I took SO long. And Crooked Kingdom gave me all the feels. And it ended and left me wanting more more more.

    Great review, by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

