My Thoughts on Pride and Prejudice | A Book, a Movie, and a Mini Series

pride-and-prejudicePride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Published: 1813 (Vintage Classics edition by Penguin Random House)
Genre: Classics, Romance
Rating: 4.5/5 stars – ★★★★.5
Goodreads

Synopsis: When Elizabeth Bennet meets Mr. Darcy she is repelled by his overbearing pride, and prejudice towards her family. But the Bennet girls are in need of financial security in the shape of husbands, so when Darcy’s friend, the affable Mr. Bingley, forms an attachment to Jane, Darcy becomes increasingly hard to avoid. Polite society will be turned upside down in this witty drama of friendship, rivalry, and love—Jane Austen’s classic romance novel.

review

If you know me, you might know that I have a terrible track record with classics. I haven’t read many American/British ones, because I never had to. Yet the world seems to love them, and I want to know why. So I tried to read The Great Gatsby, which I loathe. I tried reading, The Picture of Dorian Gray which I found okay. And I tried to read Frankenstein, which I enjoyed more than I thought I would. But Pride and Prejudice is the first classic to truly engage me

This was the first time I actually cared about the main character, and wanted her life to be okay. Wanted her family to be okay (fine, I just wanted Jane to be okay…). I was eager to pick it back up every time I had to put it down, which has never happened before with a classic. And lastly, it was much easier to read than I thought it would be

I also really enjoyed the characters, and how invested I got in their lives. I adore Jane, and want a friend like her. I adore Lizzie, because she’s kind yet honest -and sees her own mistakes. I adore Mr. Bingley, although I wish he wouldn’t be so naive. I even liked Mr. Darcy. I wanted to bitch slap Miss Bingley, and kick Mr. Collins in the nuts. I also wanted Mrs. Bennett to stop talking forever. 

I thought Lizzie was an amazing main character! She cared so much about her family. She was honest, and kind, and firm in her beliefs. I also think she was quite the feminist for her time. I highlighted several quotes that were demeaning towards women -which of course would have been nothing special in that time. 

Overall, I loved it. And I immediately watched 2 adaptations: the 2005 movie, and the 1995 mini series. No, I hadn’t seen either before… 

‘That is very true,’ replied Elizabeth, ‘and I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine.’

‘There are few people whom I really love, and still fewer of whom I think well. The more I see of the world, the more am I dissatisfied with it; and every day confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of either merit or sense.’


pride-and-prejudice

Pride and Prejudice (2005) 

Like I said, after finishing the book I decided to watch this movie. I had never seen it before -maybe I was one of the only people on this planet who hadn’t. I just never wanted to watch it before reading the book, and I kept putting off the book because I am afraid of reading classics.

Because this was only 2 hours, a lot of the character development had to be cut. That’s understandable, of course. Yet I thought the main events were portrayed quite faithfully, even using the original quotes and sentences most of the time.

I loved Keira Knightley as Elizabeth. I usually love Keira anyway, but I think she does really well in these historical type of movies. I loved her performance in Atonement too. Somehow, she just feels right in these historical settings? I have no idea why. Buy I think she did a great job.

I actually really enjoyed this movie. Was the turn of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth rather abrupt at the end? Yes. That’s what happens when you cut out a lot of the development. But it was still great, in my opinion.


pride-and-prejudice-1995Pride and Prejudice (1995): 6 episodes

Liam at Hey Ashers! said that I should really watch this adaptation too. As it has 6 episodes of 1 hour each, it’s a much more faithful adaptation. I followed said advice happily -thanks Liam!

This is the best adaptation of a book that’s ever been made, I think. Because it’s basically 6 hours long, it includes EVERYTHING. From sentences to scenes. It’s quite literally the book on screen. I know that’s what every adaptation is supposed to be, but I think we can all agree that that almost never happens. 

I loved this adaptation too. I enjoyed the story, even though it was so fresh in my mind still. I liked the actors. The scenery was beautiful. It was just incredible, to be honest. I think if I could have had Keira Knightley in this, I would have been overjoyed. Not that Jennifer Ehle doesn’t do a wonderful job! She’s an amazing Elizabeth too. But like I said, something about Knightley just feels right in these historical settings. 

I only wonder, does Mrs. Bennett always have to have such a horrifying voice?? Honestly, I think it may have given me a head ache at one point… 

Overall, I adore this adaptation too. I actually enjoyed a story in all three formats: book, movie and TV show. I don’t think that has ever happened before. If you haven’t read P&P, do so. If you haven’t watched the movie, do so. If you haven’t watched this mini series, do so. Just read, and watch it all. You won’t regret it, I promise.

This was my first Jane Austen novel, but I’ll definitely continue and read more of her works. I have a copy of Northanger Abbey, so I figure that’ll be next for me. 

21 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Pride and Prejudice | A Book, a Movie, and a Mini Series

  1. Well, this looks like a proper P&P binge! 😀 I think I watched most of Austen adaptations over the years – but this P&P movie remains a favourite. It’s just so good! And that rain scene with Elizabeth and Darcy is just SWOONY! I liked Darcy as a character anyway but then Matthew Macfayden really nailed him. ❤

    I have to re-read Northanger Abbey sometime soon. I only read it once! I also really liked Persuasion (and the movie was cool, too!).

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one so much. P&P is the book I always refer to as my favorite because of how many times I’ve reread it. I also adored Keira Knightly in the movie, she’s so lovely and don’t get me started on Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr.Darcy (that rain scene!).

    Like

  3. Yay for loving P&P – it’s one of those books that I try to reread every couple of years and it still delights me every single time. I think you are always going to be pretty safe with any BBC adaptation – the Sense and Sensibility one is great and very faithful to the book! Also, the 1999 movie of Mansfield Park is surprisingly good!
    Good luck with your next Austen!

    Like

  4. Glad you liked it! I hated Gatsby too so I can relate. Matthew McFadden was an excellent Darcy, but the hairstyles in that version drove me nuts! I don’t know why I just couldn’t get over how bad their hair was. lol If you’re looking for a new Austen book I recommend Sense & Sensibility. The book is really good and the movie is excellent! But then I adore Emma Thompson and Alan Rickman so I might be a bit jaded. 😉

    Like

  5. I had a hard time with the Keira Knightly one for a long time b/c I had seen (several times) the BBC version and it felt too rushed to squeeze it into a 2 hour movie. But, I get weak-kneed at Matthew MacFayden so I can forgive it.
    I also find classics to be hit-and-miss. Sometimes I just don’t understand why we’re all supposed to be wowed at it. I had to read the Great Gatsby in HS and I hated it. I appreciate it more now, but it’s still not a favorite.
    If you like adventure, try reading The Count of Monte Cristo. It’s long, but even after 1100 pages I wanted more. It too is very approachable and an “easy” read. Lots of side stories and just plain fun. That’s one I want someone to make into a miniseries!

    Like

    • That’s true, you obviously have to give up a lot if you want to make a movie of it. ME EITHER! Someone tell me why The Great Gatsby is so good? Literally nothing happens in that book. To be honest, the Count of Monte Cristo wasn’t on my to-read-soon list because of its length. But if it’s an approachable read, then I actually might pick it up sooner… That’s my main problem with classics, that I find them too hard of a read. Thanks!

      Like

  6. Yay! I loved all three, too. I saw the 2005 movie first and it’s one of my all-time favorites. Sometimes I put it on in the background whenever I’m working on my computer. I forced myself to read the book (I haven’t read as many classics as I should) and liked it as well but forgot most of it after (I’m terrible with classics!). I watched the series fairly recently and also loved it. I thought it was hilarious since it was so true to the book. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

