My #TomeTopple Wrap Up | Weekly Wrap Up December #1

Today, I’m combining my weekly wrap up with my complete Tome Topple wrap up (because I only read 1 book outside of the readathon this week). 

what i read 80c8b0

Tome Topple reads

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2) by Brandon Sanderson // day 1 and 2 // 763 pages // ★★★★★ // This was such an incredible read. I was afraid I wouldn’t like it as much as the first one, but I was so wrong. I ended up loving it even more.

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3) by Brandon Sanderson // day 3, 4, 5 and 6 // 724 pages // ★★★★★ // This wasn’t on my original TBR, but I just had to continue the series after The Well of Ascension. What an ending this was… It completely blew my mind.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3) by Laini Taylor // day 7 and 8 // 613 pages // ★★★★★ // I wanted to continue my finishing-trilogies streak so I picked this one up. It was such a fast, action-packed and thrilling read! It was even better than I expected it to be, and I’ll have a full review up soon. 

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt // day 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 // read 601 pages of it // I didn’t get to finish this book during the readathon (or the rest of this week). I read 601 pages of it though, which means I only have 170 pages or so to go. I’m liking it so far, but it’s a slow read. I’m also not loving it as much as I loved The Secret History. 

So I read 2701 pages during the readathon, read 3 tomes and a good chunk of a 4th one. I consider that a successful readathon!

Other read of this week

Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff Vandermeer // ★★★★ // I read this in two sittings (in one day): on the train to work, and the train back home. It’s not even 200 pages which is my only complaint. I felt like this was part 1 of a book, not a book by itself. But I really enjoyed this weird yet captivating book. I’m definitely planning on continuing the trilogy. 

what i watched 80c8b0

I re-watched The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. I was still in that Middle Earth mood, so I decided to re-watch these! I hadn’t watched them in a while. I know there’s a lot of hate for these because they changed so much from the book, but I will always enjoy coming back to Middle Earth on screen. And yesterday, The Da Vinci Code was on TV, so I decided to watch that again. It made me want to re-read the Robert Langdon books, because it’s been ages since I’ve done that.

As always, I watched Criminal Minds, Lucifer and Conviction. They are my weekly shows that I always manage to catch up on. Can I just say: that Lucifer ending??? How can you leave us hanging like this until January?? 


So that was my week. How was yours? Did you read, watch or do anything fun? Did you participate in the #TomeTopple? I’d love to hear about it! 

6 thoughts on “My #TomeTopple Wrap Up | Weekly Wrap Up December #1

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed Annihilation! I loved it so much that every time I see it mentioned on a blog I get worried they won’t have liked it and I’ll be devastated ;D

    Like

Leave a Reply

