Top Ten Tuesday: Best New-to-Me Authors of 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the new-to-you authors! So I discovered these authors for the first time this year, and loved their works (or work). 

Robert Jackson Bennett // I read City of Stairs // I had had this book for review for such a long time, but was so intimidated by it. I’m so glad I finally took a chance on it, because it turned out to be an amazing read! I’d highly recommend this book to you. 

Kevin Hearne // I read Hounded // In my quest to read more urban fantasy, I picked up his book Hounded. I’d been following him on Twitter for a while, and thought he seemed like a fun person. His book was no different. It was funny, interesting and captivating. And it’s about a 21-centuries-old Druid! 

Peter V. Brett // I read The Warded Man // The Warded Man is I think one of my favorite fantasy reads of the year. I can’t wait to read the sequel. 

Donna Tartt // I read The Secret History // I took this book with me on my trip to Prague in the beginning of the year, because I had already started it when I left and was invested in the story. It was such a masterpiece. I want to read The Goldfinch soon too! 

Robin Hobb // I read Assassin’s Apprentice and Royal Assassin // Aaaah, Robin Hobb. Such a big name in the fantasy community! Her Elderlings Realm (I think that’s what it’s called?) is so vast, and spans over multiple trilogies. I wanted to start at the beginning so I picked up the first 2 books in the Farseer trilogy. These character-focused fantasy books blew my mind. 

Elise Kova  // I read The Alchemists of Loom and Air Awakens // I read Air Awakens first, but The Alchemists of Loom was definitely my favorite -of the books I’ve read so far, of course. I really like her YA fantasy books! She has a writing style that is so easy to read. 

Rin Chupeco // I read The Bone Witch // One of my favorite reads of the year I think, although it will only be released in 2017. I’d encourage you to pick it up after its release date! 

N.K. Jemisin // I read The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and The Broken Kingdoms // Another really well known fantasy author I just had to try. I loved both books, and am so excited to read more of her works. Yay diversity too, because N.K. Jemisin is a WoC-fantasy-author.

Weina Dai Randel // I read The Moon in the Palace // This was her debut novel, and it was an amazing historical fiction set in Ancient China. I can’t wait to read the sequel (and end to the duology). 

Samantha Shannon // I read The Bone Season // The Bone Season has been around in this community for quite a while! I had it on my shelf for such a long time before finally picking it up. It was intimidating at first, but quickly turned into an incredible read. I can’t wait to read more of the series (although it will be a long one, and it takes a long time to write each book so I’m not in a hurry to continue and be stuck). 


So those are 10 authors I discovered this year! Have you read any of their works? Which of their other works should I read first? Which authors did you discover this year?

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best New-to-Me Authors of 2016

  1. The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin is a great book if you haven’t checked it out yet.

    All the other books after The Warded Man are great. The Core, the fifth and final book in the series, comes out later this year so make sure you’re caught up!

    Like

  2. I haven’t managed to read any of your list yet but nearly all of them are on my TBR pile. Definitely want to read Kevin Hearne and NK Jemisin asap though.

    Great list! Happy Reading,
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  3. I want to check out Assassin’s Apprentice sometime! I’ve heard good things about it. c: And The Moon in the Palace definitely piques my interest! As for authors I’ve discovered this year: Susand Dennard with Truthwitch (amaaaazzzinnngggg), Tamara Ireland Stone with Every Last Word (my feels), Elle Kennedy with her Off Campus series (NA hockey romance? Yes please), and Elise Kova with Air Awakens (I’m still on book four).

    Like

  4. I’ve only read one Kevin Hearne book (his star Wars novel) and while I don’t think it’s as highly regarded as his Iron Druid books, I liked it. I would read more of his stuff. And Robin Hobb- yeah she’s amazing!

    Like

  5. ooh The Bone Witch. I’m barely making some progress on my ARC, but I have a feeling I’m going to like it.
    I saw The Moon in the Palace featured on another blog a few weeks back and knew I wanted to check it out. So many great reads!

    Like

  6. Given how many books on your list I already love then perhaps I should pick up the three remaining authors that have so far eluded me. Clearly we share a lot of the same author love so no reason to suspect I won’t love those too. Namely, Bone Witch, The Alchemist’s Loom and The Moon in the Palace – all three of them appeal to me.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  7. I once read a sample of City of Stairs but wasn’t that into it. But now I read so many positive reviews and think whether I might want to give it another chance. I loved The Painted Man as well but never got to read the second book. I think I lost interest now :-/

    Like

Leave a Reply

