2 Mini Reviews: Laini Taylor Edition (Without Spoilers)

Aaaah, my friends. I have finally finished the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. I don’t know how to feel now. I read Days of Blood and Starlight in October during the  #spookathon, and Dreams of Gods and Monsters in November for the #TomeTopple. Go readathons, right? I finally finished this trilogy, and I want to tell you all about it. Spoiler-free, of course. So here we go! 


days-of-blood-and-starlightDays of Blood and Starlight (Dreams of Gods and Monsters #2)
Published: 6.11.2012 by Hodder
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Rating: 5/5 stars
Goodreads

I won’t provide a synopsis, as this is the second book in the trilogy. If you do want to read one, you can follow the Goodreads link I’ve left above.

review

I was so scared to read this book! I loved the first book so much, and I was terrified this book wouldn’t live up to it. We all know the horror of second-book syndrome, right? I’m so happy to say this didn’t suffer from said syndrome. It was absolutely amazing, and I think even better than the first book. To be honest, having read all three I think this is my favorite of the three.

Like I said, I don’t want to spoil anything here, which will be incredibly difficult. But I’ll try. First of all, this was an incredibly fast read. I read this in 1 day -and it’s 528 pages long. I just couldn’t put it down. I couldn’t bear not reading, not knowing what would happen to my favorite characters. 

I love the fact that this trilogy is really centered around this idea of what is morally right and/or wrong. How do you know what the right thing to do is? How can you forgive yourself, or be forgiven? Is an eye for an eye justice, or vengeance? I love the questions this book raises, and how our characters go through so much yet still want to do what feels right. I feel like that is a theme that comes back in all three books, and I still couldn’t possibly answer you. Do monsters create war, or does war create monsters?

There are several other themes I absolutely adore. The importance of family -both by blood and chosen. How essential a good friend is. What being a good friend looks like: to support your friend, and trust them. Obligation and guilt: how do you try and make old wrongs right? How long should you pay for past actions? How much do you give up for love? These are all themes and questions in this book, and I think that’s partly what makes it so amazing. You’re reading an action-packed YA fantasy with incredible characters, but at the same time you absorb all of these questions and start thinking about them. It’s really well done too, so it never feels like a heavy read. I applaud you, Laini Taylor. 

I grew even more attached to the characters in this book. I adored Karou and Akiva, and Zuzana and Mik. Let’s be real, I basically worship Zuzana. And I really started to like Liraz and Hazael too! They’re really intriguing, and their bond with Akiva is so precious.

This was an incredible sequel, and I urge you all to read it. And if you haven’t read the first book, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, what are you waiting for??


dreams-of-gods-and-monstersDreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)
Published: 17.04.2014 by Hodder & Stoughton

Genre: Fantasy, YA
Rating: 5/5 stars
Goodreads

As in the previous mini review, I won’t provide a synopsis here. If you want to read it, you can follow the Goodreads link above. 

review

I didn’t want to let months pass before I started this one. I didn’t want to forget everything that happened in the second one, before finishing the trilogy. So when I saw the #TomeTopple readathon happening, I knew I had to pick it up then. 

Like with the previous book, I sped through this one and read it in 2 days. I just couldn’t put it down. I feel like I had tiny heart palpitations the entire time I was reading this. There was always something happening to one of my precious characters, always some scheme or setback, and I just couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t see a way out for them, how they could survive. It was a roller coaster ride from beginning to end, and I both wanted it to end and wanted for it to continue forever. I hope that makes sense. 

My adoration of Zuzana grew even more in this book. She’s just such an amazing friend. She always stands by her friends, always tries to lighten up the mood with jokes -but she also knows when to hold back and not say anything. I wish everyone had a friend like her. I also love Mik. I’m sorry, can I have a Mik too? I think he’s the perfect book boyfriend, because he seems so realistic that he actually could be a person. He has his flaws, but he would do anything for Zuzana, and Karou. He’s smart, he’s kind, he’s funny and he’s a talented musician. Yes fucking please. He’s also quietly amazing, if you understand my meaning. It’s not like he’s the person everyone looks to first because he’s the best, but he truly is amazing. In his own way, without needing all the attention. 

My heart also ached for Ziri, because he’s basically adorable. And I wanted to hug Liraz -and tell her I admire her as well. She’s a strong woman. Obviously, I love Karou and Akiva. I wanted to set some characters on fire. Honestly. Die. Really.

I have to admit that I didn’t completely love the side plot of this book. Aside from the main plot and story line, there was a second more magical one. And I didn’t love it as much. I just felt like it wasn’t really necessary for the story? I did love the added character in the human world and her background. Also want to set her colleague on fire. The little shit.

Anyway, this was an amazing conclusion. My heart was beating like crazy the entire time, and I was on a roller coaster of emotions. I can’t believe the trilogy is now over. If you haven’t read it, please do. 

8 thoughts on “2 Mini Reviews: Laini Taylor Edition (Without Spoilers)

  1. I must admit I only skimmed these reviews as I’ve only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone so far, but I’m really glad to see that you enjoyed these two so much! 😀 While I really enjoyed DoSaB, I couldn’t help feeling slightly underwhelmed by it, so I’ve never got around to reading books 2 and 3. Now reading your reviews, I’m definitely thinking of changing that soon!

    Like

  2. Such great reviews – I loved this trilogy so much. Beautiful writing, captivating characters and storyline – and that ending was pure magic. I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂 Now I can’t wait to get my hands on her new book, Strange the Dreamer. Fingers crossed it will be just as fabulous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

