Weekly Wrap Up | December #2

what i read 80c8b0

Settling the Score (Summer Games #1) by R.S. Grey // DNF // I really didn’t like this NA romance… It was supposed to be a fun sports romance, but there was almost no sports whatsoever. It took me 30% of the book to find out what position Andie played in her football (/soccer) team! It just seemed so unbelievable, and incredibly cheesy. 

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt // ★★★★ // I finally finished it! I did enjoy this. It’s Theo’s story, from the day his mother died to present day. It was a touching story, with so much pain and heartbreak! But I didn’t enjoy the novel as much as I did The Secret History.

Congress of Secrets by Stephanie Burgis //  ★★★★.5 // This was such a great historical fiction book! I saw it on Lynn‘s blog, and it intrigued me. I received it for review, and finally read it this week. It was amazing. It’s set during the Congress of Vienna after the defeat of Napoleon -and it has a slight fantastical twist. I’ll have a full review up soon, but I’d highly encourage you to pick it up. 

The Fix by Natasha Sinel // ★★★ // Another book I received for review! This was a book I feel is important because it talks about therapy, addiction, abuse, depression, family and so on. It’s definitely a book that addresses a lot of important issues, but I didn’t love the actual novel. It includes cheating, which I absolutely hate, and it also had that trope of I-met-you-and-knew-immediately-I-was-supposed-to-be-with-you.

what i watched 80c8b0

I watched the new episodes of Conviction, Criminal Minds and Scorpion. That’s really all I had time for this week… 

in real life 80c8b0

What happened this week? I had my first full week at my new job. I’m really enjoying the work, the people and the atmosphere. It’s definitely exhausting though, which is why I haven’t watched anything this week.


How was your week? Did you read, watch or do anything fun? I’d love to hear about it, and I hope you’ll have a great week! 

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | December #2

  1. I’m so glad your job is going well! Have you read Stephanie Burgis’ ‘A Most Improper Magick’ series? They’re aimed at older kids, but they’re such fun reads. The tone is a bit Austen (which you might be in to after your Pride & Prejudice binge!) with a twist of magic. I definitely recommend them.

    Like

  2. Aww the books you have seem great. And awesome video! 🙂 I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy Settling the Score. I don’t normally read NA novels, though, but from what you wrote, I can tell that it’s slow-paced :(( I’ve always wanted to read The Goldfinch though, and I’m happy you enjoyed it ❤

    Great post! And hurray at your new job. I hope you have a great time ❤

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

