Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated Releases of the First Half of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the releases you’re anticipating for the first half of 2017! 

The Thorn of Emberlain (Gentleman Bastard #4) by Scott Lynch // I’m not sure this will be released in the first half of 2017 to be honest. I hope it will, but it’s been pushed back a few times and doesn’t have an official release date yet. I NEED IT, OKAY?

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // I loved her previous book, Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, and will now read everything she writes. Plus, the description of this seems amazing.

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz // I will also read anything this man writes. I loved Aristotle and Dante, and I’m hoping for another great family/coming of age story. 

Etched in Bone (The Others #5) by Anne Bishop // I can’t believe it’s the ending of my favorite series already. How is that possible? I’m not ready to let Meg and Simon and Vlad and Tess and Henry (and so on) go yet!

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller // Okay, a 17-year-old female pirate who lets herself get captured by the enemy. Sounds like a necessary buy. 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas // This book was inspired by the #BlackLivesMatter movement, and it looks like a heartbreaking but amazing read. And an important one.

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones // I’ve already heard really great things about this standalone (so far, at least) fantasy book. I think it’s got to do with goblins?

By Your Side by Kasie West // This is about a girl who gets locked in her library over the weekend with a guy. LOCKED IN A LIBRARY? YES PLEASE. 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston // When I read the synopsis, this stood out to me: Julius Caesar, and female gladiators. That’s all I know. And also all I feel like I need to know.

A Conjuring of Light (Shade of Magic #3) by V.E. Schwab // I can’t wait for this book. I’m sorry, but that ending of the second one? Not okay, Schwab! 


So those are 10 books I can’t wait to read in 2017! Have you read an ARC of any of these? Are you excited about them too? Which books are you anticipating?

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated Releases of the First Half of 2017

  1. I didn’t realise Becky Albertalli had a new book coming out – yay! Wintersong sounds like it has a lot of potential, and I love the cover for Daughter of the Pirate King.

    Like

  2. Yes to Daughter of the Pirate King, The Hate U Give, A Conjuring of Light, and By Your Side ♥♥♥ This is going to be an excellent year for books.

    Like

  3. Mhhhhhh you had me excited when I saw the Thorn of Emberlain cover – I thought I’d missed the announcement of a publication date. Oh, well, we’ll just wait some more, I guess…

    Like

  4. I really want to read the Becky Albertalli book! And maybe I should finally read the copy of A Darker Shade of Magic that’s sitting on my shelf, so I can at least attempt to keep up with the series. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m very excited about A Conjuring of Light as well! I don’t continue every series I start, but I do love this one. Awesome list, I hope you get to read them all!

    Like

  6. Oh my, I just finished A Gathering of Shadows and A Conjuring of Light is pretty much all I can think about! I’m happy I read this so late, because now the torture will last just a teeny bit less long 🙂 I’m so excited about the others as well, especially Wintersong, The Hate U Give and By Your Side (I mean, locked up in a library? Sounds PERFECT) 😉

    Like

  7. I saw Thorn of Emberlain and got really excited… then I remembered that it still doesn’t have a release date! I hope it’s released next year too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

