Weekly Wrap Up | December #3

what i read 80c8b0

Hexed (Iron Druid Chronicles #2) by Kevin Hearne // ★★★★ //  I am really enjoying this series so far! I gave this one 4 stars, because there was one scene I felt really uncomfortable with… There’s a sex scene in here, that didn’t seem consensual to me. I felt incredible uncomfortable because I felt like Atticus didn’t really want to have sex with her, but he kind of had no choice? I don’t know whether that’s what the author tried to illustrate with regards to the gods, but I think it might be. Anyway, I loved the book, and aside from that scene it was a wonderful and hilarious adventure.

The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan //  ★★★.5 // This was a random pick from the library that I’d never heard of before. I quite liked it, actually. It’s set in 1914, when the ship Grace and her new husband, Henry, are on sinks. Grace is on one of the 10 (or so) lifeboats that were launched, but there are 39 people in it -and the lifeboat wasn’t meant to hold that amount of people. It switches between their time in the lifeboat, and when Grace, Hannah and Mrs. Grant are on trial for murder afterwards. I thought it was really interesting, but felt like it lacked conclusion. I was left with quite some questions and feelings that went unaddressed/unanswered. 

what i watched 80c8b0

What did I watch this week? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! I watched some YouTube videos, but that’s about it… 

in real life 80c8b0

What did I do this week? I worked, and I’m happy to say I’m adjusting to my schedule now! I cursed the train-company this week, because it was out of control. Cancelled trains, random 45-minute delays, trains disappearing from the announcement boards… You’re trying my patience, honestly. 

I also had lunch with an amazing friend I hadn’t seen for months! I was so happy to see her. She’s a wonderful person, and now that uni has ended I’m sad I don’t get to see her as often.

I also went to the Brussels Christmas market last week (and saw a bit this week too). It’s wonderful. After I had lunch with that friend, I went to my favorite English bookstore in Brussels. I browsed the shelves for an hour! It’s my happy place. 


How was your week? Did you read, watch or do anything fun? I hope you have an amazing week to come!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | December #3

  1. I’ve been tempted to try the Iron Druid Chronicles but I’ve read some stuff about sexism that made me a bit uncertain, add to that your comments about a possibly non-consensual sex scene and my general fear of reading Irish mythology as written by an American and I’m leaning more towards giving the whole series a miss now. Oh, I don’t know… I feel totally conflicted!

    Like

    • Exactly. I love the stories and the humor though. And I do think it’s interesting to see a situation in which it is not consensual from the guy’s side. I mean, it’s most often the woman, right? But I have also noticed that women are described to a tee in this series, but the men are just given some basics like tall and lanky, silver hair, etc. Maybe that happens in many books and I’ve only just noticed it now? I don’t know. But I will continue the series…

      Like

  2. Public transit is such a mixed bag! We don’t really have trains here but the bus system is constantly behind schedule — if you need to be at work for 9, then you’ve got to plan to get there for 8:30 otherwise you’ll be late! The Christmas market sounds lovely, and so does book shopping of course. 😊

    Like

  3. I also saw a friend this week that I haven’t seen since we left for college in August, and it was so great to catch up! Even just having lunch or dinner with something can make all the difference in feeling reconnected after being apart.
    Also, The Lifeboat sounds really interesting!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

