Top Ten Tuesday: Santa, Please Buy Me These Books!

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, I’m begging Santa to buy me these books.

Age of Myth (Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // This was one of my most anticipated 2016 releases! I so badly want to read this, but the book isn’t exactly cheap… 

Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin // Another book I’ve been meaning to read for ages. I’m scared because of the hype though. 

The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase #) by Rick Riordan // I can’t believe I’m so behind on Rick Riordan’s new series. I haven’t read the Apollo one either. Edit: I’ve just bought this book. I BOUGHT MYSELF A PRESENT, OKAY?

Nevernight (Nevernight #1) by Jay Kristoff // I want to read this book because a) I have never read anything by Jay Kristoff and b) it sounds absolutely epic. But I have heard such mixed reviews on it too. Santa, buy me this book so I can make up my own mind on it…

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas // Yes, you’re reading this correctly. No, I haven’t bought this yet. No, I haven’t read it yet. I need to buy the beautiful UK paperback cover. 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton // I’ve been meaning to read this one for ages too. I still haven’t even bought it. 

Fallout (Lois Lane #1) by Gwenda Bond // Okay, I love Lois Lane. I have ever since I watched Smallville. So I need this book in my life, let’s be real. 

Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (Song of the Shattered Sands #1) by Bradley P. Beaulieu // Another fantasy book that seems absolutely epic -but is not cheap either. Why is fantasy always so much more expensive?

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel // This seems like an epic science fiction book! It’s about a girl who falls through a hole in the earth and falls into a giant metal hand. I want to read more science fiction, and this one seems like a great place to start. 

Jane Steele by Lindsay Faye // Reader, I murdered him? Well, don’t need to know anything else. I want it. 


Those are 10 books I hope Santa will bring me (but I doubt he will. What’s up with you, Santa??). Have you read any of these? Which books are you hoping to receive during the holidays? 

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Santa, Please Buy Me These Books!

  1. Ava Lavender is on the top of my to-buy list as well. And I’m getting a hard copy for sure because the cover is so gorgeous! I hope Santa will be good to you this year. 😉

    Like

  2. I just recently added Wolf by Wolf to my TBR… I must not have ever read the summary but wow, does it ever sound amazing! And yes, you definitely need Empire of Storms. Pronto. (Side note: I can’t believe the next one is the last *sobs*) And I absolutely recommend Sleeping Giants.. so good!

    Like

    • It sounds SO amazing! And I’ve heard such great things about it too. I don’t know why, but I have like no motivation to read Empire of Storms at the moment. Maybe I’ll do it closer to September 2017, right before the last book probably gets released!

      Like

  3. Nevernight is awesome! I’m looking forward to reading the Lois Lane one as well. You’ve got some really great books on your list and you added a couple more to my pile, including Wolf by Wolf and Sleeping Giants. I’m also going to get the Throne of Glass series finished in 2017. Have a wonderful holiday and happy reading!

    Like

  4. I’ve seen Wolf by Wolf a few times today and on other lists this year and it’s making me super curious! Sleeping Giants was a book I absolutely adored because it was so unique. Jane Steele is also on my ‘shortlist tbr’. I hope Santa brings you all the books!

    Like

  5. My Mum always asks for a list of books and DVDs that I want for Christmas and then picks a few to get, so I usually end up with some of my Santa wishlist, luckily! I hope these books make it to you one way or another (you have to get Sleeping Giants – it’s brilliant!) 🙂

    Like

  6. You’re right, fantasy novels do seem to be more expensive for some reason! I really want to read Twelve Kings in Sharakhai too, and I absolutely ADORED Jane Steele — definitely one of my favourites of 2016.

    Like

  7. “I’ve just bought this book. I BOUGHT MYSELF A PRESENT, OKAY?”
    This is an accurate description of my situation 😭😭 Like, I do this ALL THE TIME. It’s usually because my friends and family don’t know what books to bring me that I don’t already own.

    Like

  8. oooh, Sleeping Giants sounds incredible! I’ll definitely have to add it to my TBR!!
    For the first time in YEARS I actually didn’t ask for any specific books for Christmas. (*gasp*) I’m really trying to cut down my physical TBR because stacks of books are kind of taking over my bedroom at the moment. But there’s always a chance that I’ll receive some anyways, considering how bookish my family knows I am. 🙂
    Anyways, great list!

    Like

  9. I’d love to find Wolf by Wolf under my tree as well. Or Magnus Chase, because I’m also so far behind on Rick Riordan books. Also, it’s totally okay to buy yourself a present as well! (I bought Fantastic Beasts for myself while I was shopping for Christmas presents for my family… 😉 )
    I loved Nevernight, though the first 100 or so pages were tough to get through. Hope you’ll find some of these books under your tree. And Happy Holidays!

    Like

  10. Magnus chase would be nice to get since I still have to start that series. Sleeping Giants was pretty good I love the concept, and Age of Myth and Empire of Storms look great. Merry Christmas and hope you get some of these!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

