Review: The Fix

the fixThe Fix by Natasha Sinel
Published: 01.09.2015 by Sky Pony Press
Genre: YA, contemporary
Rating: 3/5 stars – ★★★
Goodreads

I received this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion in any way. 

Synopsis: One conversation is all it takes to break a world wide open. Seventeen-year-old Macy Lyons has been through something no one should ever have to experience. And she’s dealt with it entirely alone. On the outside, she’s got it pretty good. Her family’s well-off, she’s dating the cute boy next door, she has plenty of friends, and although she long ago wrote her mother off as a superficial gym rat, she’s thankful to have allies in her loving, laid-back dad and her younger brother. But a conversation with a boy at a party one night shakes Macy out of the carefully maintained complacency that has defined her life so far. The boy is Sebastian Ruiz, a recovering addict who recognizes that Macy is hardened by dark secrets. And as Macy falls for Sebastian, she realizes that, while revealing her secret could ruin her seemingly perfect family, keeping silent might just destroy her.

review

First of all, can I say I want that dress or skirt the person on the cover is wearing? That’s so beautiful… I requested this book when I was in a contemporary YA mood, and it seemed like an interesting read. And it definitely was very interesting. I just didn’t love it as much as I wanted to. 

So this is the story of Macy and Sebastian, who both are battling certain memories or aspects from their pasts. Sebastian is a drug addict, and Macy… well, I don’t want to tell you yet. The point is that they meet at a party. They talk, but get interrupted and leave. The next day, Sebastian gets checked into a hospital by his mother and Macy starts to visit him. 

I’ll start with what I liked. I liked that this book talked about addiction, depression, abuse, therapy and hospitals for teenagers. It’s important to discuss these things. I’m glad they showed therapy in a positive light, how it helped Sebastian. That’s something that should be mentioned in a positive light more -therapy still seems to be a sensitive topic to many. So I loved that part.

I also think the family dynamics in this book are complex and interesting especially in Macy’s case. She has a father who’s away more than he’s home, a mother she feels is too superficial, a younger brother she adores and a cousin who lived with them for years when his parents passed away. I loved how this book showed different aspects of a family’s relationships. Macy had a great relationship with her younger brother, and I think she was an incredible sister to him. She loved her father, even though he wasn’t there often. And her relationship with her mother… well, it was strained. I thought it was incredibly interesting to see why these relationships were the way they were, what events and emotions led to them. 

I also think Sebastian’s past was interesting, though very tragic. However, while I’m writing this review I feel like his life was far less developed than Macy’s was. But I think he was an interesting guy. I liked how he “pushed” Macy to talk to someone, at the very least. To confront her feelings. To understand that it’s not okay, and to say so to someone. 

Like I said, I enjoyed the issues this story addressed. I think they’re important. But if I separate that from the actual story, I can’t say I love both aspects as much. The story itself wasn’t very captivating to me. I saw most of it coming, aside from one twist at the end. It was all quite predictable, and included some tropes I’m really not a fan of. For example, the trope in which you meet someone who understands you immediately after one sentence, like no one else has. I understand you can feel an understanding and connection after talking to someone, but in this overblown way? Also, I hate cheating. There is no excuse whatsoever for it. Never.

Overall, I think the issues addressed were important but I didn’t love the actual story as much. It was a story I enjoyed, and so I gave it a 3-star rating. It was nice, but it didn’t blow me away. 

Leave a Reply

