How Did I Do On My Fall TBR? A Fall Wrap Up

tbr

I’ve been doing these rolling TBRs and wrap ups for a while now. I’ve faced the fact that I never ever finish my 10 books on my TBR per month. So instead, I create a list and only get to replace what I actually read. So what did I actually read? 

wrap-up

 

I only read 2 of the books on my TBR this season. I know, it’s horrible! But the two I did read were both incredible (plus, I continued the Mistborn trilogy after The Well of Ascension, instead of putting that off too). 

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2) by Brandon Sanderson // ★★★★★ // I finally read this one. I read the first book in the trilogy, The Final Empire, 3 years ago! I loved it, but never actually continued. So I decided to finally read this during the #TomeTopple. It was so incredible. Honestly. I never thought I could enjoy it more than I did the first one, but I was wrong. It’s one of the best sequels I’ve ever read. 

Night Film by Marisha Pessl // ★★★★★ // I actually read this one during the #spookathon, so I guess I only manage to pick up TBR books during a readathon? This is obviously a sign I need to participate in more readathons. During the last few months of the year, I’ve tried to rekindle my old love for mystery books and thrillers. I’ve forgotten the mystery genre in the past few years, which is a shame. I’ve been missing out on amazing books like this one. It was definitely mysterious. And weird. And full of twists. And I adored every second of it. Plus, it’s a mixed media book which makes it that much more unique.  


So I only read 2 of the 10 books on my TBR during the past 3 months. I might replace them with 2 other books, or I may just keep this list of 8 until I actually start reading them. I haven’t decided yet. Have you read any of these? Which should I make a priority? Also, do you have any troubles sticking to a TBR list? If not, what is your secret? 

8 thoughts on “How Did I Do On My Fall TBR? A Fall Wrap Up

  1. Surely that bloke is jesting, but nevertheless his “I will never give up my seat to an old person again” is true right now for most of the young don’t, and haven’t for a long time. The irony of it all is that we conceived and bore them, we raised them, and we set the example for them to follow.

    Like

  2. I’m hopeless with TBR lists. My boyfriend told me today that I don’t read enough and I was affronted since I read 235 books in 2016 (!!). Then he pointed out that I have literally hundreds of unread books in the house, but I keep reading stuff I get from the library instead, which I couldn’t really argue with… it’s a problem! 😀

    Like

  3. I’ve had Night Film on my TBR for over a year, still haven’t managed to get to it. And I just finished The Final Empire yesterday! I thought I was the only one left in the world of book blogs that hasn’t completed the series. And don’t feel bad about not getting more from your TBR finished, you can be satisfied knowing you read two five star books. It’s a victory.

    Like

  4. I feel like I should be waving my pom-poms here, shouting “DE-MON-KING, DE-MON-KING” but that’s only because it’s the only book I read from your list lol. But it’s really, really good! 🙂

    Like

  5. Jolien,
    I’ll try to catch up with you on the Mistborn train. Maybe we can buddy read some Sanderson together. Nightfilm seems so intimidating to me. I am not sure why I always assumed it’d be a scary novel. I don’t do scary. I have never participated in a readathon. Maybe I should look into that!
    Always a pleasure to visit your lovely blog, bb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

