Weekly Wrap Up | December #4

what i read 80c8b0

The Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien // ★★★★★ // A while ago I mentioned I was feeling nostalgic for Middle Earth, so I watched The Lord of the rings movies and the first Hobbit movie again. I still felt nostalgic though. As it was December, very busy and I had already reached my reading goal of the year, I didn’t feel guilty at all about reading these again. I flew through it, and found it much easier to read this time around. I think this may be my favorite of the three though. 

The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings #2) by J.R.R. Tolkien // ★★★★★ // Like the first is my favorite, I think this is my least favorite. That’s mostly because this is where the true split narrative starts. Here, book 4 follows Pippin, Merry, Aragorn, etc. and book 5 follows Frodo and Sam. But because they actually happen during the same time, you go back in time when starting book 4. I didn’t quite love that. But it’s still amazing, so I have to give it a 5 stars. 

The Return of the King (Lord of the Rings #3) by J.R.R. Tolkien // ★★★★★ // I have always cried while watching this movie. I didn’t cry while reading. But I do love the additional last chapters that aren’t in the movie-story. They’re so much fun, because they feel newer to me -because I’ve watched the movies more often than I’ve read the books. I can’t believe my foray into Middle Earth has come to an end again. I may pick up a Harry Potter book now. 

in real life 80c8b0

What happened in real life? 

I worked.
I celebrated Christmas with my family. 
I relaxed, read, and ate. It was glorious. I ate a lot. I got my first Kindle!


I hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend, and that your holidays were full of joy, family, food and love. If not, I hope your days will soon be full of them. And if you need someone to talk to, you can always DM me on Twitter. 

What did you do this weekend? Did you celebrate something? Did you read, watch or do anything? If you received any gifts, which ones? Have a wonderful week, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | December #4

  1. I’m so impressed that you read all three in a week, whilst also working! It took me a solid week of doing nothing but reading and sleeping to get through the trilogy when I first read it.

    Like

  2. I always get the urge to reread LotR around winter time for some reason, but this year I just don’t have the time. Maybe I’ll try to sneak a quick reread of one of them in before the next semester starts… anyways, happy holidays! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

