Looking Back on My 2016 Goals/Resolutions

In the beginning of the year, I made a list of 10 goals I wanted to achieve this year. 2016 is almost over, so I’m ready to take a look at those goals a see which ones I’ve achieved!

2016 goal 1.png

Hahahahaha, no. That didn’t happen. However, I didn’t exponentially increase it either! I bought books -and read others- so my TBR is at about the same level as in the beginning of the year. Maybe a bit lower… This will be a goal for the coming year though, because I’m participating in the Beat the Backlist Challenge!

2016 goal 2.png

I did achieve this one! I actually reached this goal in May. My ratio is currently 85% which I’m very happy with. (Although I may still finish the review copy I am reading now and write a review on it in the next 2 days, so my rating may be 86% yet).  I’ve barely requested any books this year either, which I’m proud of. I’ve only requested those I truly truly wanted to read. 

2016 goal 3.png

This was in line with my 2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge. I’m happy to say I’ve achieved this one too! I’ve actually read 146 books so far this year. (Maybe I’ll still finish one in the next 2 days?)

2016 goal 4.png

I’m still working on this, but I do think I’ve made quite a lot of progress. I do Top Ten Tuesdays and Top 5 Wednesdays and a weekly wrap up. That weekly wrap up happens either on Monday or Sunday. So those are basic posts I (try) to do every week which means I have a basic schedule for the week already. Then I write reviews and discussions and such on other days when I can. 

2016 goal 5.png

I wanted to read more books I picked up on a whim which to me means books or authors I haven’t really seen in blog posts or videos before. I also achieved this one! Here are the books I’ve read that were new to me: 

Dark Legion by Paul Kleynhans, The Demon Girl’s Song by Susan Jane Bigelow, One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters, Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon by S.A. Mulraney, The Breakup Doctor by Phoebe Fox, Court by Cat Patrick, The Moon in the Palace by Weina Dai Randel, Stone Cold by Olivia Rigal, The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, The Emperor’s Knife by Mazarkis Williams, Valley of Embers by Steven Kelliher, For Love of the Duke by Christi Caldwell, The Emperor’s Spy by M.C. Scott, Secrets of the Lighthouse by Santa MontefioreThe Woman Upstairs by Claire MessudThe Fix by Natasha Sinel and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan

2016 goal 6.png

I do think I’ve achieved this one! My #bookstagram account isn’t as big or often updated as most others’ but I have made a lot more pictures of my books than I did last year. I even got a nice camera, some props and so on.

2016 goal 7.png

No, that didn’t happen this year. The first half of the year was consumed by my last semester at university, and the second half was consumed by my search for a job -and then actually starting a job. With a steady income though, I’m hoping to reach this goal in 2017. 

2016 goal 8.png

So happy to say that this happened in 2016 too! Both on my blog, and my Twitter account! I’m so happy and grateful to you all. 

2016 goal 9.png

I don’t think I literally wrote one per month, but I did write 12(+) during the year so I consider that goal reached! Here are the discussion posts I’ve written this year: On Independence, Spoiler Free, Reading in My Own Language, Format Mood-reading, Change Ratings or Re-read, Reading the Synopsis, The Term YA, Giving Authors a Second Chance, Reading Slump or Reading Meh Books, Rating Romance Books, Putting Aside my Favorite Genre, On Diversity + Privilege and Feeling Uneducatedand lastly, How A YA Fantasy Series Should End

2016 goal 10.png

Another goal I can happily say I’ve achieved! I’m really happy I managed to finish some series this year, because I just keep starting more and more of them. Here are the series I’ve finished this year: 

Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat, Malediction by Danielle L. Jensen, The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, Trylle by Amanda Hocking, Gravity by Sarina Bowen, Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson, New York’s Finest by Lauren Layne, The Best Mistake by Lauren Layne, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, The (first) Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sandersonand The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor

So I achieved 8/10 goals of the year, which I think is pretty great. I’m really proud of myself! I will keep the 2 goals I haven’t achieved yet for 2017 because they are things I still want to achieve soon. 


How do you think I did? Which goals did you set for yourself in 2016? 

24 thoughts on “Looking Back on My 2016 Goals/Resolutions

  1. Congratulations on achieving so many of your goals! I think the “cut down your tbr” resolution makes it onto most bookish people’s lists but we rarely make it happen. Let’s hope the backlist challenge will help us this year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, congrats on doing so well on all of your goals. You may not have achieved everything, but who does? I think completing the majority of things you wanted is good. I am especially impressed you’ve at least managed to not gain more books on your TBR even if you’ve not substantially reduced it. That is something I have yet to achieve. Maybe next year?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s awesome, congratulations on reading so many goals! 😀 I hope you can continue this in the next year. I actually achieved most of these as well. I’m not as good with organisation but it’s been a weird year for me personally. I did get to meet you, though, so that was awesome. ♥

    You go, girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on doing a great job with your challenges on the whole. The getting-your-Netgalley-stats-to-the-magic-number-of-80% feat is nothing to sniff at, that’s one a toughie I know a lot of my blogger friends are working on! It’s just too easy to go overboard on there, lol.

    Like

  5. wow – huge congratulations on hitting so many of your goals. And I’m jealous you got to read so many books! I also managed to get my net galley over 80% but like you, I also cut down on requests. Hope 2017 is another good one for you – all the best for the new year!

    Like

  6. 146 books! That is some achievement!
    I think I might have to limit the amount of films and TV I watch and crack on with a few more books!
    Happy New Year btw! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

