Top Ten Tuesday: 2017 Debuts I’m Looking Forward To

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s time to talk about 2017 debut authors again. More specifically, I’m here to talk about 10 debut books I’m looking forward to in 2017! 

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones // This one I’ve actually seen on quite a few blogs already. Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell. That’s the first line of the synopsis. I’m already in. I haven’t read nearly enough goblin stories.

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller // This has also been making the rounds in the book community. It sounds absolutely epic.

Shimmer and Burn by Mary Taranta // So what I got from the synopsis is that the MC has to work with a power-hungry princess and smuggle magic into a kingdom. Sounds pretty epic, don’t you think?

The Wood by Chelsea Bobulski // I think this is about a girl whose father goes missing while patrolling the woods they are responsible for. Or something like that…

City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson // I think this is a YA murder mystery, and it’s set in Kenya. Yes please! That sounds absolutely amazing. And I really like the title. 

Cold Summer by Gwen Cole // This was about a teenager who can (accidentally) time travel. He ends up in WWII – and then gets back with PTSD. Or he may be dead? Obviously, I have no clue what I’m talking about. It’s about time travel. And WWII. That’s it. 

Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts  // A fantasy book about a group of royal bastards who befriend the princess who chooses to sit at their table and witness a murder. That’s what I got from the synopsis -don’t murder me if I end up being wrong. 

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon // This seems like such a cute book. Also, yay diversity! 

Cinderella, Necromancer by F.M. Boughan // I can’t say I’ve ever read a Cinderella retelling in which Cinderella is a necromancer. I hope it’s a good one! 

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody // This is about an illusion-worker who has created a family for herself through illusions. The illusions have their own personalities, but obviously are not truly alive. Or that’s what she thought until one gets murdered. DOESN’T THAT SOUND SO GOOD? 


Those are 10 debut books I’m looking forward to reading in 2017! Have you read an ARC of any of them? Are you excited to read these?

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2017 Debuts I’m Looking Forward To

  1. Shimmer and Burn doesn’t sound like my kind of read, but I love the title. I also really like the cover and premise for The Wood. But I really don’t need any new books for my wishlist, okay?? 😉

    Like

  2. When Dimple Met Rishi and Royal Bastards are both on my list this week as well! I keep waiting for the Royal Bastards cover reveal (there’s something about that placeholder in particular that makes me think the real cover is going to be really cool)!

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

  3. Cold Summer looks intriguing, and I love the cover. Wintersong for goblins. And Daughter of the Pirate King looks promising…

    Like

  4. City of Saints and Thieves was great! My friend picked up the ARC for me at a conference, so I got to read it last month. I hope you enjoy it.

    I really like the cover for Cold Summer!

    Like

  5. The Wood made my list as well, and I just realized I have Daughter of the Burning City as well, although I didn’t include it because I only talk about books whose covers are already revealed:-) Great list!

    Like

  6. Goblins are so underrepresented, aren’t they? I’m really looking forward to Wintersong too, especially since the author is a woman of colour (and I’m hoping to read more diversely this year). Same goes for When Dimple Met Rishi — I’ve already seen some people on Twitter raving about it!

    Like

  7. All great choices! I can’t, can’t, can’t wait for Daughter of the Pirate King. I’ve heard it’s quite disappointing but it definitely didn’t make me want to read it any less. That plot! That cover!
    (If you can’t tell, I’m overly excited about it hahaha)
    The others just sound equally amazing so I’m adding them to my TBR too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

