Favorite Movies of the Year | 2016 in Review

Yes, I’ve got another 2016 in review post for you. Today, I’m talking about my favorite movies of 2016. Again, these were not all released in 2016, I just watched them this year. I’m also not including the movies I re-watched because then my list would always just be Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. These are also in no particular order.

The Martian (2015)
Song of the Sea (2014)

The Martian is a movie I actually wanted to watch in 2015, but only got around to in January. I adored the book, so I was hoping the movie would be great too. And it was. I laughed out loud several times, and I also enjoyed how much you got to see of what was happening on Earth while he was on Mars. Of course, some of the jokes got cut but overall I think this was not only a great movie, but a great adaptation as well. 

Song of the Sea, a movie I just randomly picked and started watching. It’s absolutely breathtaking! This is an animated movie, based on an Irish folktale -I believe. Just precious. I can’t understand why no one is talking about this movie, especially because animated movies are so popular. The illustrations in this one are gorgeous, so is the music, and the story just warms my heart.

The Big Short (2015)
Inglourious Bastards (2009)

The Big Short is a movie I never thought I’d watch, least of all enjoy. But it was a masterpiece. If you don’t know, this is a story about the 2008 financial and economic crisis, but it takes place in the months before the big collapse. It follows the few people who realized what would happen, and what they chose to do. This movie made me laugh because it’s hilarious, but it also made me so mad -which I think was the point. I feel like this movie was an excuse to say: What you did, is not okay. And you got away with it. But we haven’t forgotten. You’re all criminals.

Inglourious Bastards, a true classic (well, you know what I mean) that I had never watched. I didn’t think it would be my kind of movie, but I decided to give it a go anyway. I have never been so wrong. It was incredible. It made me laugh, it made me cringe, it made me applaud my ass off for these soldiers. Definitely worth all the hype.

Brooklyn (2015)
Deadpool (2016)

Brooklyn, the movie that cemented my love for Saoirse Ronan. This is a romantic movie, and all about discovering your place in the world. But it’s not over the top, or cheesy. It’s the kind of quietly beautiful that only makes you realize afterwards what an amazing story you just watched. I would recommend this movie to everyone. Even if you don’t like romance movies.

Deadpool, one of my most -if not the most- anticipated movies of 2016. And boy, did it deliver. I was kind of afraid it would be a letdown, but I shouldn’t have been. This movie is absolutely hilarious. I laughed my ass off. It’s crude, hilarious and genius and I cannot express my love for it enough -and for Ryan Reynolds.

The Way He Looks (2014)
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)

The Way He Looks is a Brazilian movie, I think, that I watched on Netflix in October. What a beautiful story it is. This is the story of Leo, a teenage boy who is blind, and Gabriel, another teenage boy who has just moved to the area. This is a story of coming of age, sexuality and friendship -and I couldn’t recommend it enough. Please, please, please go watch it. It’s absolutely gorgeous. 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is not a surprise to anyone, I think. Together with Deadpool, it was my most anticipated movie of the year. I was afraid to be disappointed but I actually ended up loving every second of it. Even my brother loved it, and he’s not a fan of Harry Potter. I did catch references that he didn’t of course, because he doesn’t know the HP books or movies well (or at all). All I can really say is that I thank the world for Eddie Redmayne, a Hufflepuff to be proud of. 


So those are my favorite movies of the year! Have you watched any of them? What did you think of them? Let me know what your favorite movies of the year were, and maybe even your favorite 2016 releases! I need to go to the movies more often, so I can watch new releases…

20 thoughts on “Favorite Movies of the Year | 2016 in Review

  1. Ah, I still need to watch Song of the Sea – I really liked The Secret of Kells by the same director.

    And Deadpool. I’ll get to that eventually (my husband has been on my case for months now to watch it).

    I loved Inglorious Basterds, it’s such an irreverent film! I’ve watched it twice now and I know I’ll watch it again at some point. The Martian is also great, though I did like the book better. 🙂

    Like

  2. So many good film on this list. I loved Deadpool, it was absolutely hilarious. A swas The Martian actually, I almost prefer the book in some ways, but it was definitely one of the best book adaptations I’ve seen of late. And Fantastic Beasts was great, it not only had a good story but visually it was stunning.

    Brooklyn and Song of the Sea are both films I’ve been meaning to watch, I think they may be the next things I watch. I’ve been looking for a good film to watch.

    Like

  3. Great list. I’ve seen a few of these – loved Deadpool, Brooklyn was such a beautifully shot film wasn’t it – and Inglourious Bastards – like you, I really didn’t know what I was going to make of it but it was great.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  4. Great list! I also LOVED The Martian, it is indeed one of the best book adaptations out there. Fantastic Beasts was another amazing movie, but I think my favorite of the year was Deadpool! I was anticipating this for so long and it definitely lived up to my expectations 🙂

    Like

  5. I adore Irish folktales and pretty much all Celtic lore (hence my love of Juliet Marillier’s books), so clearly I need to make time to watch Song of the Sea. The Way He Looks also sounds fantastic — even though I suspect it might make me cry!

    Like

  6. I enjoyed The Martian too it was refreshingly accurate to the book considering it had to squish it down into 2 hours. Also I think Deadpool was possibly my favorite film on the year too! I started reading the comics after I saw it I’m obsessed!

    Like

  7. I can’t believe I’ve never even heard of Song of the Sea! I’ll definitely have to check that out. I wholeheartedly agree with you on The Martian, which was quite faithful to the book, and still have to see Fantastic Beasts. ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

