Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Never Actually Read in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about the 2016 releases you obviously meant to read in 2016 but then never actually did… Does that happen to me? OF COURSE NOT. I’m organized. Most of the time…

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas // Jolien, didn’t you read this along with everyone else in September/October? HAHAHAHAHA NO. I am putting this off for some unknown reason. 

Age of Myth (Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // Michael Sullivan is one of my favorite fantasy authors. And I was SO excited about this series starting in 2016. But I haven’t read it yet. I haven’t even bought it yet. I prefer paperbacks, and the paperback version hasn’t been released yet. And the hardcover is really expensive.

Nevernight (Nevernight #1) by Jay Kristoff // This seems like an amazing fantasy read, about assassins and a school -obviously, I know nothing. But I’ve heard such mixed reviews on this one too. 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany & Jack Thorne // To be honest, I’m scared to read this. So many people didn’t like it at all. And it’s not a novel -and I have no experience reading plays. And it wasn’t written by Rowling… 

No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished (Heartstrikers #3) by Rachel Aaron // I really loved the first two books in this urban fantasy series, and immediately bought the third one when the Kindle ebook was released. But I haven’t read it yet! 

The Crown’s Game (Crown’s Game #1) by Evelyn Skye // Magicians fighting each other for a place with the ruler of a Russian-inspired fantasy world? That sounds like something I would adore. So why haven’t I read it yet? 

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel // I’ve been wanting to read more science fiction, and this seems like an incredible sci-fi read. It’s about a girl who falls through a whole in the Earth, into a giant metal palm. 

And I Darken (Conquerors Saga #1) by Kiersten White // Not only is this about a female version of Vlad the Impaler, I have seen nothing but raving reviews. Must. Read. This. Soon.

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab // I love her work as V.E. Schwab but I haven’t read any she has written as Victoria -her full name, obviously. So I’m intrigued. 

The Hidden Oracle (Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan // I know. I haven’t read this one, I haven’t read a Magnus Chase book either. I’m so behind on one of my favorite authors new series! I can’t even believe it. 


So those are 10 books released in 2016, that I really should have read in 2016. I must get to these SOON! Which one should be my top priority?

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Never Actually Read in 2016

  1. I’ve also not read Nevernight yet! I was so excited for it that I bought it whilst travelling so that I could immediately read it when I got home and then I just…never did. Initially, I had only heard good things about it, but now that I’ve left it longer I keep hearing more and more mixed reviews so I kind of want to read it asap to see what I think and to not accidentally be spoiled.

    Like

  2. The Cursed Child is on my TTT list as well, but I REALLY don’t want to read it… I hate the idea of someone stomping all over my childhood.

    This Savage Song is so good! And the last book comes out in June (I think?), so you can even binge them. 😉

    I struggled so much with Nevernight. I wanted to love it, immediately, and I didn’t until the last 100 or so pages. In the end, I am glad I finished it, but man, it was rough. I think if you know ahead of time there there will be footnotes, you’ll be better prepared.

    Like

  3. I read and really enjoyed both Nevernight and The Crown’s Game last year! Empire of Storms was great as it is one of my favorite series, but it has some issues as well. I liked the Cursed Child because of Nostalgia reasons and because of the character of Scorpius, but it is true that it is definitely no Harry Potter… Also, I so really need to catch up on Rick Riordan books as well. Hope you’ll get to all of these this year!

    Like

  4. I can definitely understand the mixed reviews for “Nevernight” because the first half of the book was quite a struggle for me due to all the endless footnotes that interrupted the story on almost every page. But I’m glad I kept reading because the second half was really good and I’m definitely going to read the sequel, too.

    “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” made it onto my list, too, and I actually am looking forward to reading it but don’t really have any expectations since I don’t regard it as the 8th Harry Potter book but just as some nice bonus story.

    I had mixed feelings about “Sleeping Giants” because I really loved the idea and the concept of the book but felt that the author wasted quite a lot of potential. Still want to read the sequel though.

    Like

  5. I’m one of those readers who loved Nevernight, but I know Jay’s writing style isn’t for everyone. I’d love to read Age of Myth as well! Great list, good luck catching up!

    Like

  6. To be honest, I’m scared to read Cursed Child as well. I’ve heard so many mixed feelings about this book, and I feel like the HP series ended on a good note for me, so I don’t want to tarnish that!

    The only book I’ve read on this list is And I Darken! It has a really incredible beginning, but really tapers off towards the end. It’s still a great book though, so I hope you enjoy it when you read it!

    Like

  7. Haha, I can understand your skepticism over the Cursed Child. Admittedly, I didn’t fall in love. Still, I’d definitely recommend reading it, if only so that you can jump in to all that conversation surrounding it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

