Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to See More Often in Our Community

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, we’re talking about underrated gems we’ve discovered recently. So I am going to tell you about 10 books I read in 2016, that I wish were talked about more often in our book blogging and booktubing communitiesThey may not be underrated in general  (some of these have quite some ratings on Goodreads) but I don’t often see them mentioned in blog posts. 

Dark Legion (Blood of Blood #1) by Paul Kleynhans // This only has 51 ratings on Goodreads… That makes me so sad! I really enjoyed this first book, and the second one too. It’s a dark fantasy novel about a prince-turned-slave-assassin.

The Warded Man (Demon Cycle #1) by Peter V. Brett // This is not really an underrated series in general -especially not on Reddit Fantasy. There it’s mentioned quite often. But I don’t really see it around in our community, which makes me so sad. I loved it, and I still can’t wait to read the second book. 

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi // This isn’t technically underrated either because it was a 2015 Goodreads Awards nominee for Science Fiction, but again I never see people talk about it! It was really good. And kind of scary because it’s quite a realistic novel. I can actually see this happen to us all one day. 

Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) by Rachel Aaron // I will always mention Rachel Aaron in posts like this one because I absolutely love her work and don’t often see people talk about it. (I mean, I’ve seen Mogsy and Kaja talk about this specific series. But they are the only ones I can really think of). I also love her Legend of Eli Monpress series and think that’s underrated too but I read that prior to 2016.

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel Bach // Rachel Bach is the same person as Rachel Aaron (mentioned above), and I love her books. This is a space opera trilogy! About a mercenary woman, a spaceship with a bird as pilot -and other cool stuff. 

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // I’ve talked about this many times already. It’s a historical fiction novel set in Ancient China. Go read it. 

Gravity by Tess Gerritsen // I feel like Tess Gerritsen is quite well known, yet I haven’t seen many people talk about her books? Especially this one. Maybe I’m not following enough bloggers who read mysteries and thrillers?

The Emperor’s Spy (Rome #1) by M.C. Scott // I picked this one -and its sequel- up on a whim during a book sale. I love Ancient Rome, so I’m always willing to give books set in that time a go. I actually really enjoyed this! It’s historical fiction, and it includes a big part of history. By that, I mean the focus doesn’t just lie on Rome. 

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp // I’m not sure this is underrated either, because I have seen reviews around on blogs. But I still want more people to read it, and talk about it! 

Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram // I read this book in November last year, and was so surprised by it. I expected a cute and fluffy read. But this tackles so much more than just Cinderella. It’s about disability, family, self-confidence, bullying, grief, etc. This is a criminally underrated YA contemporary and people need to read it now. 


So those are 10 books I read in 2016 that I believe more people in our community should read/talk about. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Which books do you think are underrated? 

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to See More Often in Our Community

  1. The warded man series, for me, is up there with the wheel of time. Fantastic series both.
    Another great series is old mans war – very very good.

    Like

  2. I STILL need to read the Hearstrikers series. /o\ I think I’m hyping it too much in my head after all the praise from you, Kaja, and Danya. I haven’t heard of any of the others on your list, eep. My list of underrated novels is here, in case you want to read it!

    Like

    • I tried to start the second book last week, but felt quite uncomfortable with the first few chapters. Can I ask what issues you had? Or are they spoilers? Because I don’t know whether my uncomfortable-ness came from being oversensitive to issues now?

      Like

    • Ha, I definitely recognize that 😀 I hope you’ll enjoy it though! I always feel pretty okay recommending a book to you, because I feel like we have such similar reading tastes! That’s why I always love seeing your TTT posts and reviews 😀 So yes, I think you should pick it up soon, and I really hope you’ll like it!

      Like

  3. I’ve been on a roll with sci fi lately and should add Fortune’s Pawn. It’s one of those book I keep seeing and thinking they look good but have never actually added to my TBR. And the same author as Nice Dragons! I know I’ve seen Kaja talk about that series and she recommended it, so those ARE on my list lol. Both look great!

    Like

  4. The Moon in the Palace sounds intriguing, I’ll definitely have to check it out. I did not like This is Where it Ends, I thought it was very superficial and the author didn’t handle the subject with as much care as they should have. Though it is a VERY important subject.

    Like

  5. A big yes to Nice Dragons Finish Last! I have such admiration for her self publishing this series when she could have easily gone the traditional publisher route (that’s just how good these books are), but it means fans need to push extra hard to spread the word about it! Read it everyone, you won’t regret it!

    Like

  6. I actually finally managed to get a hold of The Warded Man series and I am hoping to start reading them soon. You have such a wide scope in what you read. How do you find stories that are so unique?
    xo,
    Dina

    Like

    • I hope you’ll enjoy them! I tried to read the second one, but I was a bit weirded out by the start. Something to talk about with you when you get there! Uhm, I scroll a lot on Goodreads 😀 I actually found this series through Reddit though. They have a great fantasy subreddit there, and several ones of book suggestions and requests too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

