Top 5 Wednesday: Polarizing Books

It’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday post! As always, I will leave all the #T5W information in the description box of my video. Today’s topic is polarizing books. So books that people tend to either love or hate! 

Books mentioned

  1. Seeker (Seeker #1) by Arwen Elys Dayton
  2. Uprooted by Noami Novik
  3. Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) by Robin Hobb
  4. The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  5. City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare
6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Polarizing Books

  1. Hurray, Uprooted!

    I can see how people’s wrong expectations of Assassin’s Apprentice would mess with their enjoyment of the book (and the trilogy as a whole). I first read it when I was, uh, twelve, I think? Maybe thirteen? And I was hoping for a lot more action than I got—but I continued with the trilogy anyway. I was too young and uncritical to really “get” the books, and was suuuper disappointed with the third one. I think I’d probably like the whole trilogy more now that I’m a wizened grump.

    Ha, I totally understand your complaints against City of Bones. I didn’t continue with the series, either. (Though I did spend this weekend binge-watching the first season of Shadowhunters, solely to watch Alec and Magnus fall in love. No, it was not worth the hours I spent not blogging.)

    Like

    • It’s a series I’m glad I only read now! I think I wouldn’t have liked it as much if I read it when I was younger either… I actually kind of like Shadowhunters *hides* I feel like it’s such a guilty-pleasure type of show? Like, it’s fun 😀 And I live for Simon, Alec and Magnus in Shadowhunters. Although I certainly didn’t like the first two in the books.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

