My #Bookentine TBR!

The lovely ladies at Tea and Titles, Michelle & Ely, are hosting a readathon soon! As you can probably tell from the title, Bookentine, it’s centered around contemporary reads -and well, around Valentine’s Day.

The readathon is taking place from February 13th to February 20th, and the whole point is to read contemporary books. No, that doesn’t necessarily mean a romance read, as they use the following definition: “A contemporary YA novel is a story about a teenage character that takes place in our current time and deals with the concerns of modern day life.”

They also have three challenges to tackle, but I’ll talk about that in a second. So, what am I planning on reading? Let’s take a look! 

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman // This is the book I mainly want to tackle next week, so I think this will be the first one I pick up. It’s about Frances, who has only ever wanted one thing: elite university. But then she meets Aled, and discovers podcasts. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this, including the fact that this isn’t focused on romance, but friendship. I think this book actually tackles all 3 challenges for me: it’s a book with pink on the cover, it’s by an author I haven’t read before and I believe it deals with mental  illness too. So even if I just read this one, I’ll have finished all the challenges! 

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson // I’ve had this on my shelf for a while now. It’s about Jude and her twin Noah. I think it’s told in two timelines, and in one they don’t really talk anymore because something happened? I don’t really know. I’m kind of afraid I won’t like it, because there is a lot of hype surrounding this book. But it’s also a book by an author I haven’t read before, so it counts for that challenge too. I don’t know whether it features mental illness though.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers // If I still have time (or I feel like reading this over I’ll Give You the Sun) I plan on tackling All the Rage. I’ve had this book for nearly 2 years, and it’s still on my shelf. I think (not sure though) this is about a girl who was raped by the town’s golden boy, and no one will believe her. I think this is such an important topic, with the rape culture that’s still so prevalent in our society. I actually have the arc cover of this, which has red on it, this is also by an author I haven’t read before, and I think it covers the trauma following her rape and being bullied which I think falls under the mental illness/mental health problems category. If not, let me know. But I do think this book also counts for all three challenges.

If I read these three, I think I will have read all the YA contemporary books on my physical TBR shelf! How exciting, right?


So, that’s my TBR for the Bookentine readathon! Are you participating? What are you reading? Have you read any of these? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “My #Bookentine TBR!

  1. I haven’t read All the Rage but I’ve read three other books by Courtney Summers and loved all of them! Her books are really difficult — usually she writes quite unlikable but “real” feeling protagonists and deals with some tough issues. I’m very curious to hear your take on her stuff!

    Like

  2. Yay I am so glad you are joining us Jolien thankyou so much 🙂 Radio Silence is soooo good I love it, Ely will be reading it for bookentine too. I hope you enjoy all your reads!

    Like

  3. I’ll Give You The Sun was an interesting read. I am curious to see which twin you connect with. Haven’t heard of the other two books, because I’m not cool. Maybe I’ll try to participate in this readathon. But, I may have to cheat as always.

    Like

Leave a Reply

