Top Ten Tuesday: Romances That Just Hit Me Hard

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about romance. So I’m choosing to combine several topics I wanted to talk about into one. I’m talking about romances that hit me hard/are near to my heart. The ones that get emotions out of me. 

Simon & Meg // The Others by Anne Bishop // This is a slow-burn romance -an extremely slow one- which is something I absolutely LOVE. This makes me want to shove them together like a little kid playing with dolls. I can’t wait for the last book -and I hope there are some great Simon & Meg moments in there. 

Blue & Gansey // The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater // This is the kind of forbidden romance I don’t hate. I just think they were SO CUTE! It makes my heart ache, and it makes me say “aaaaaaw” in an unnaturally high voice. Another slow romance though. You can see from this list I really enjoy them. 

Annabeth & Percy // Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan // Again, a very slow romance. They are still so young when the first book starts so it’s normal they don’t think of a romance yet. But their friendship grows so strong, and slowly into more feelings as they get older. 

Patroclus & Achilles // The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // BE STILL, MY SHIPPY HEART. I can’t with these two. This entire book made me so happy, and it broke my heart at the same time. I was sobbing by the end. This is the most beautiful relationship.

Lochan & Maya // Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma // I feel kind of weird putting this book on this list. It’s not like I’m truly shipping Lochan and Maya, they are brother and sister after all. But I just couldn’t help but feel for them! This book broke my heart, and I had such a level of emotions after finishing it. It’s the kind of thing that just makes you want to hug these two. 

Jesper & Wylan // Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo // These two are just the most adorable guys ever. I love how Jesper is the flirty guy, while Wylan blushes immediately. I love the respect between the two, and how they’ll help each other no matter what. I just love them, okay? 

Kaz & Inej // Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo // Again, I just love these two. Both so hurt and recovering from such trauma, both respecting the other’s boundaries and dreams. 

Flora & Henry // The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough // I recently read it, and absolutely loved it. I know this is technically due to Love and Death (the characters) but I still adore their romance. 

Rudy & Liesel // The Book Thief by Markus Zusak // NO, I AM NOT OKAY.

Eragon & Arya // Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini // You know what? This romance is TOO SLOW. YOU CAN’T LEAVE THE LAST BOOK LIKE THAT! I know he’s writing a fifth book BUT YOU CAN’T MAKE US WAIT THAT LONG!!!! *do you guys also detect some rage here?* 


So those are the couples dear to me, the ones that really punched me in the heart -and feels. Have you read any of these books? Which couples would you put on this list? 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Romances That Just Hit Me Hard

  1. Aww, I love pretty much all of these! I just started The Song of Achilles so I am ready for the feels…. And Written in Red is on my shelf, ready to be read soon, so I’m ready to fall in love with another slow-burn romance 🙂

    Like

  2. Ah the Book Thief! Yes, what a heartbreaking romance. There are several books you’ve listed that are on my list to read, like Six of Crows and The Ravens Boys!

    Like

  3. I just started on Six of Crows and now I can’t wait to read more about Jesper and Wylan. There are so many characters and so much going on right at the beginning of the book that I have found it difficult to get into but now I have something to look forward to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

