Weekly Wrap Up | February #2-3

what i read 80c8b0

Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin // ★★★★.5 // I truly enjoyed this mystery book. I feel like this is a great one for people used to reading YA, and who want to pick up more adult books too. It has two timelines: one set in 1995, when Tessie is a teenager, and one in current times. So you have both her adult and teenage perspective, which I found really interesting!

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman // ★★★★★ // This will be on my favorites of the year list, I can already tell. It’s one of (if not the) best contemporary book I have ever read. I ended up watching Alice Oseman’s YouTube videos too, about her writing process for her third book (which comes out this year and I am SO EXCITED). I have a review for this one coming up soon.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers // ★★★★★ // Another YA contemporary that blew me away. I have a full review of this coming soon too, but I’ll just say that this should be required reading in high school.

The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui // ★★★★ // I went on Netgalley for the first time in a while and request a bunch of stuff again. (Someone stop me, by the way). This was one of those I requested. It’s a graphic memoir of Thi Bui’s life as a Vietnamese-American woman, and her parents’ lives in Vietnam and the US. It’s honestly so good, and I’ll have a full review for it up this week.

what i watched 80c8b0

I watched Captain America: Civil War for the first time last weekend! In retrospect, I should’ve watched The Avengers: Age of Ultron before because SPOILERS in the Marvel Cinematic Universe are aplenty. I did enjoy it though. I’ve always loved Captain America, but I can’t help but side mostly with Iron Man here. For the most part here, Cap was being a giant asshole and Tony just trying to do the right thing -which wasn’t always actually the right thing, but at least he was trying.

I also went to the cinema with one of my friends to watch La La Land. I’d heard so many incredible things about it so I knew I had to see it. We both really enjoyed it. I think I may write a full movie review on this one, if that’s something you’d like to see.

I’m still keeping up with Shadowhunters. I’m going to be honest: Simon, Magnus & Alec truly make that series for me. I like the others too -but those especially. 

I also watched a few episodes of The Magicians (although I’m still on season 1). And I watched a few Supergirl episodes, but I’m not caught up yet. 

I also watched the first episode of Santa Clarita Diet, which I thought was really funny. And I’ve watched the first 3 episodes of Riverdale, which I’m really enjoying so far! I have never read any of the Archie comics, so I’m unfamiliar with the source material. And I might just watch episode 4 tonight.

in real life 80c8b0

What happened in real life? 

I had a ‘foodfest’ one evening last week in support of the badminton club of someone we know. I had my first veggie burger, and it was actually really nice! We’re not going to talk about the second one though… 

I had a lovely evening with a friend, where we had the biggest ice creams ever (mine had whipped cream, brownie chunks and chocolate sauce on it) and afterwards we saw La La Land. It was great!

I booked an Airbnb for #YALC this summer, and I’m really excited about it. 

I bought a new pair of glasses! I am in love with them.

I’ve started the hunt for a apartment to rent. Which is an entire nightmare on its own.


So that was my week! How was yours? What did you read, watch and/or do? I hope you’ll all have a lovely week to come. 

10 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | February #2-3

  1. 1) Ice cream is the best. 2) I’m so so glad to see you loved All the Rage. I loved that book when I read it. It broke me b/c that shit really happens. Like If I didn’t know that the book had to have been written prior to the event, I would’ve sworn she took that story from the headlines in my smalltown. So it just hit me really hard. It’s such an important book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

