Weekly Wrap Up | February n° 4

what i read 80c8b0

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson // DNF // This book just wasn’t for me. I made it to page 133 before deciding to continue. I think I can actually see why people love it as I think the writing is really unique, but it just wasn’t for me. I wasn’t invested in the story, nor in the characters, and once put down I didn’t feel the need to pick it back up. 

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V.E. Schwab // ★★★★★ // I read this immediately when it was released, to avoid all spoilers. I took my time though, as I read it in 3 or 4 days. I absolutely loved the conclusion of this trilogy. Yes, it was long, but it never felt dragged out -in my opinion. I’m excited to see what V.E. Schwab will do next.

Wicca: Guide for the Solitary Practitioner by Scott Cunningham // Read in translation – Dutch // ★★★★ //  An interesting non fiction pick, right? I was never raised in a religious manner, and know next to nothing about it. I’ve also never been attracted to any of the biggest religions, as I feel no connection to them. While I didn’t agree with everything in this book, I did find a lot I could relate to, understand and get behind. I’ll definitely be reading more on Wicca, (Neo)Paganism, Druidism, etc. If you have any recommendations, feel free to let me know!

what i watched 80c8b0

I didn’t really have any time this week, so I just watched the new Shadowhunters episode, and rewatched some of my favorite Skam ones. 

in real life 80c8b0

I had an interesting week at work today, as the event we’ve been working on for 2 months finally happened. I’m quite happy and proud with the way it turned out! 

Other than that, not much happened this week!


So that was my week! How was yours? Did you read, watch or do anything? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

12 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | February n° 4

  1. Aww I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy I’ll Give You the Sun, it’s probably my all-time favourite book! Have you read her other book, The Sky is Everywhere? 🙂

    And EEK, so glad to hear you enjoyed V.E. Schwab’s books! I have This Savage Song and The Archived out from the library and I’m SO EXCITED to read them!

    Like

    • No, I haven’t… To be honest, I’m not sure I will. Maybe her writing just isn’t for me?

      Those are actually the books by her I haven’t read! I’ve only read her books as V.E. Schwab, so her adult ones. I’m excited about This Savage Song though, I really want to read it.

      Like

  2. I read up on many different religions in my younger years, trying to find something that fit me. In the end I took what I loved in the Christian belief system, Wicca and Buddhism. You may find Buddhism interesting, actually. (I know it sound like three beliefs that would never work, but they do. Mostly I just feel like organized groups have more to do with agenda than spirituality and I can’t handle that.) As it has been so long, I don’t know where to point you as far as Wicca is concerned. I remember Scott Cunningham being helpful without going off the deep end (fairy wicca is an odd one.) Here is a link to his book: http://a.co/7TrVpbo

    Like

  3. I’ll give you the sun is one I didn’t manage to get through either. I only made it a few chapters in but I think I’ll try and pick it up again another time. I don’t feel like I gave it enough of a chance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

