Top Ten Tuesday: Series I Want to Finish in 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week is a freebie week, so I’m going with 10 series I want to finish in 2017. I only included series that are either already finished, or will be in 2017. I hope that’s not too optimistic though.

The Others by Anne Bishop // To read: Etched in Bone // I am determined to finish this series this year, because the final book will be released in a week or two. I’m SO excited, everyone. I know she’s writing a spinoff in the same world (with the same series title) but I’m counting that as a separate one because it will no longer revolve around these characters.

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen // To read: The Invasion of the Tearling, The Fate of the Tearling // I really enjoyed the first book, and I don’t want to wait 2 years before reading the next one. I’m hoping to finish this trilogy this year, because I can’t wait to see what Kelsea does next. 

Farseer by Robin Hobb // To read: Assassin’s Quest // I need to finish this trilogy! I want to read far more Robin Hobb this year, and that can only happen when I finish this trilogy. I’m excited to see what will happen to Fitz. Also: scared.

Southern Reach by Jeff Vandermeer // To read: Authority, Acceptance // This was so weird, which is exactly why I want to continue. The first one was an incredibly quick read, so I hope I’ll be able to read the next 2 this year.

Inheritance by N.K. Jemisin // To read: The Kingdom of Gods // Another fantasy trilogy I really need to finish. I absolutely adored the first two! I have no idea what the third one will entail though. 

Curse Workers by Holly Black // To read: Black Heart // I quite enjoyed the first two books in this trilogy! The only reason I haven’t finished it, is because I haven’t been listening to audio books lately. I really want to read this one through audio, because Jesse Eisenberg narrates it. 

Empress of Bright Moon by Weina Dai Randel // To read: The Empress of Bright Moon // A duology I still have to finish! I read the first book last year, and was pleasantly surprised by it. It’s the author’s debut, and the duology is a historical fiction one set in China.

Night Angel by Brent Weeks // To read: Shadow’s Edge, Beyond the Shadows // I actually have the second book already, I have no idea why I haven’t continued. I really need to, before I truly forget everything that happened in the first book -I’ve already forgotten so much.

Paradox by Rachel Bach // To read: Heaven’s Queen // Why did I NEVER finish this??? I have no clue. It’s a space opera trilogy by one of my favorite authors. I really enjoyed the first two books, which I found fun and addictive. So I really need to finish Dev’s story. 

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis // To read: The Silver Chair, The Horse and His Boy, The Magician’s Nephew, The Last Battle // Confession: I’ve never read the last 4 Narnia books… Oops. Something to amend this year.


Those are the 10 series I really want to finish this year! Have you finished any of these? Which one should I prioritize? Which series do you want to finish this year? 

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I Want to Finish in 2017

  1. I NEED to finish the Chronicles of Narnia series! I only ever read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe which I loved. I must get to it soon! *_*

    Like

  2. The Night Angel books are so big and have so much in it that I’ve forgotton most by now too, except loving them, haha. Going to wait on the Dutch release of the 5th The Others book. 😮 Hopefully in the Summer!

    Like

  3. ‘The Horse and His Boy’ was one of my favourite Narnia books. On my To-Finish list: The Queen of The Tearling series, and Naomi Novik’s Temeraire books (I’m up to the 7th of 9, I think).

    Like

  4. I am still not sure if I should continue with the Night Angel Trilogy! I loved the first book but then stopped reading the second about halfway through because Kylar did something stupid that annoyed me too much 😀

    I want to start with the Anne Bishop series this year! 🙂

    Like

  5. I am so behind on Robin Hobb. I want to read her new Fools series but apparently I’ve been told it’s a real bad idea if I haven’t finished Farseer, Tawny Man, and pretty much any book/series that has to do with Fitz because of major spoilers. I am only on the second book on Farseer and it seems impossible to catch up right now, lol.

    Like

  6. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the whole of the Queen of the Tearling series! I also really really enjoyed Annihilation and hope to finish the trilogy soon too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tearling is … challenging. I ADORED the first book, was intrigued by the second, was set up for so many interesting things in the third, and then the ending? Well, just finish it, haha, I want to know what other people think because not many people seem to have made it that far. 🙂

    Like

  8. Oh god, Farseer. It’s so incredibly good, but the second book broke me emotionally. That ending! I read it in 2014 and I’m not kidding, I still can’t pick up the third because the end of the second book was so devastating. Maybe I’ll make it a goal to finish that this year too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

