Top Ten Tuesday: A Spring TBR

op Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, it’s all about that spring TBR. So here are some books I hope to read this coming season.

The Desert Spear (Demon Cycle #2) by Peter V. Brett // I’ve been meaning to continue the series for a while now. I just found out that the library in the city I work in has the books in English! I have The Desert Spear now, so I’m hoping to read it soon. 

Red Rising (Red Rising #1) by Pierce Brown // Another one I’ve been meaning to read for ages. YA science fiction? Sounds like something I need to try. 

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater // I absolutely adore Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle, so I want to read more of her backlist. I’ve heard incredible things about this one! 

Assassin’s Quest (Farseer #3) by Robin Hobb // I need to finish this trilogy. I need to know what happens to Fitz next. I also want to finish it so I can start with the Liveship Traders one. 

The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms #3) by Cinda Williams Chima // Reading in translation: De Troon van de Grijze Wolf // I read the first book (in English) at the start of 2017. I really wanted to continue the series, but didn’t want to buy more books to add to my TBR. So I discovered that my library has copies of the book, translated into Dutch. I figured I’d give it a go. I read the second book in Dutch last week, and actually genuinely enjoyed it. So I’ll be continuing the series in translation. I do want to own my own copies one day, and I’ll probably buy them in English so I can re-read them in English one day.

The Circle by Dave Eggers // I have this book on my shelf, and I want to read it before I see the movie!

Insurrection (Insurrection #1) by Robyn Young // I’ve had this book on my shelf for quite a while. Somehow, I always overlook my historical fiction books. No more! I want to read more of my historical fiction ones. This is set in 1286 in Scotland, when the King of Scotland is murdered. Civil war threatens as everyone wants to be the new king. But so does King Edward I of England.

The School for Good and Evil (The School for Good and Evil #1) by Soman Chainani // Another one I have on my shelf! It just sounds like a wonderful MG (or is it YA?) fantasy book.

Daughter of the Blood (Black Jewels #1) by Anne Bishop // I’ve just finished Anne Bishop’s The Others series -or at least the ones about Meg- and I can’t wait to read more of her works. I have this one on my shelf, so I’m hoping to get to it soon.

A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet #1) by Madeleine L’Engle // I have never read this. I know, scandalous! But a movie is being made, and the cast looks absolutely epic. So I want to read it, before ever seeing it. It’s pretty short, so I’m hoping to read this soon. 


So those are the 10 books I’m hoping to read in the coming season! Have you read any of these? Which one should I prioritize? Which books are on your Spring TBR?

68 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: A Spring TBR

  1. I really need to read Red Rising and The Scorpio Races! I’ve been meaning to read more of Maggie’s stuff for so long because I loved The Raven Cycle so much. One of my best friends loved The Scorpio Races so fingers crossed it’s a good read!!

    Like

  2. I have collected the Warded Man bunch of books, so hopefully I can catch up with you to fangirl together. Not sure how I feel about Red Rising. It seems intimidating. Will probably wait to hear your perspective before I try to get my own copies. DUDE, if you want to read the School of Good and Evil together, I am so down for that! We need to see which books we can read together, in general. Because that would be awesome.
    *Hugs*

    Like

  3. OMG The Scorpio Races! That was a pleasantly surprise read for me. I LOVED it so much more than I expected. I hope you do too!

    Like

  4. fantastic choices!
    Kind of love that i am not the only person left on the book world that has not yet read the Farseer trilogy! So thanks for letting me know i am not alone in not having finished that yet. 🙂

    Hope you get to all of them and enjoy them when you do 🙂

    Like

  5. Great list! I’m hoping to read Red Rising this spring as well 🙂 And I’m so happy you’re enjoying the Seven Realms series! The Scorpio Races, The Circle and The School For Good & Evil are on my TBR as well.

    Like

  6. The Scorpio Races is my favorite of Maggie Stiefvater’s books (besides The Raven Cycle). I hope you get a chance to read it, and that you enjoy it!

    Great list 🙂

    Like

  7. So happy you are enjoying The Seven Realms series. I have the first book in Dutch and the rest in English, haha. I still have to read The Scorpio Races as well though my copy is in Dutch. And I read The School for Good and Evil but thought it was a bit mediocre. I was expecting more of that one I suppose.

    Like

  8. Yay, this is a great list! I love Robin Hobb, Maggie Stiefvater, Pierce Brown, and Cinda Chima Williams. I’m so excited for you to finish The Farseer trilogy. Liveship Traders is even more amazing!

    Like

  9. I didn’t know they were making a movie based on A Wrinkle in Time! It’s been years since I’ve read but I just ordered the boxed set for my boys. Awesome list, Jolien!

    Like

  10. A Wrinkle in Time! Such an amazing book. I’ve always meant to go back and read the rest of the books in the series — I never made it past the 2nd one. I’m probably the only person who didn’t love The Scorpio Races… but everyone else seems to think it’s amazing! Enjoy all of your TBR books this spring. 🙂

    Like

  11. So exciting that a movie is being made of A Wrinkle in Time. I did not know that! I may need to re-read it. I thought Red Rising was amazing – and that is coming from someone who doesn’t usually read books like that. Enjoy!

    Like

  12. Red Rising was sooo good! I still need to read the last book in the series…I’m very curious about the Circle, I’ll look forward to your review:-) Dave Eggers can be hit or miss for me.

    Like

  13. Scorpio Races is one of my favorite books. SO. GOOD. I loved The School for Good and Evil. If you like the big fairytale cast books like Ever After High and Wanted but with a bit more of a literary feel to them, you’ll probably love it. Here is my TTT list.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Red Rising is on my TBR too! It seems to be on everyone’s 🙂
    I still have the 3rd in The School For Good And Evil on my shelf waiting to read. They’re quite fun, easy reads. I’d say they’re closer to MG than YA maybe. Sort of like a Tween read!

    Like

  15. Nice choices! I am interested in what you think of the Black Jewels Trilogy! It’s been ages since I read it. I almost started ‘The Desert Spear’ but realized that it’s not starting with Arlen and lost interest ;-/ I wanted more Arlen 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

