Review: Etched in Bone | Spoiler Free

etched-in-bone
Etched in Bone (The Others #5) by Anne Bishop

Published: 07.03.2017 by Roc

Genre: Urban fantasy
Rating: 5/5 stars – a new favorite
Goodreads

I won’t provide a synopsis for this book, as it’s the fifth book in the series.

My review is spoiler-free, even for those who haven’t read the previous books.

review

Etched in Bone was probably my most anticipated book of 2017. I have been a massive fan of this series for about 4 years now, and the fact that it was coming to an end was both exciting and terrifying. I mean, she is writing a spin)-off in the same world, but that will feature different characters. So this is the end of stories with Meg and Simon and Tess and Vlad as main characters.

I can’t believe it’s over. I honestly can’t believe it.

I don’t want to say anything about what actually happens in this book, because I don’t want to spoil anything for you all -even if you haven’t read the previous books. This book was not as action-packed as the previous ones were. It didn’t feature as much conflict. It was more the community at Lakeside Courtyard trying to adjust to life after the events in the previous book. At least, for the first while. To some, that may not sound interesting at all. But I’ve always wondered: what happens after the big battle? How does a community just rebuild and adapt after so much has happened? And I think this book gives a great look into that aspect of conflicts and war.

A “villain” does pop up in the story. And I think he was the most despicable person we’ve seen so far. I actually want to kill him myself. He’s the most disgusting villain because he’s so realistic. I know that people like this actually exist, and it makes me want to throw up.

I’m so glad I got to spend another book with all these characters. Although I do feel like I got less of Tess and Henry in this book? And maybe less of Vlad too? I don’t know. I loved seeing the human pack grow and adjust, seeing them integrated in the Courtyard.  By the fifth book, the human pack has grown so much, and I was afraid at first I wouldn’t be able to keep up with everyone. But each person was so distinctly realistic, with their own character traits and beliefs, that it was easy to tell them apart. I grew so attached to Twylla, because she’s the most bad-ass grandmother ever.

I can’t leave you all without talking about Meg and Simon. Every time they were on the page together, I wanted to squeal in delight. They are just so cute. I wanted a romance to truly happen, but I wanted the characters to stay true to themselves too. Meg is afraid of romance and sex, after everything that happened to her in the Compound. And Simon doesn’t know how to be with a human, much less a blood prophet, without losing too much Wolf. I feel like Anne Bishop never lost sight of who these people really are, and made their journey actually realistic.



I’m really happy with the way this series ended. I do not think this book let me down in any way, whatsoever. It was such a great conclusion. I’ll be recommending this series to people, forever. And now that this is done, I’ll be starting Anne Bishop’s backlist of books.
I want to experience more of her writing. Because I’m going to miss it so much.

11 thoughts on “Review: Etched in Bone | Spoiler Free

  1. Interesting review and well done because it’s tricky to review a book without giving too much away and you managed it brilliantly. I’ve not read much urban fantasy, mainly because there seems so much around its hard to pick out something good, but this review really helps. I’ll look out for the series.

    Like

  2. YES! We’re in complete agreement on this book, Jolien. I know a lot of people thought it was an anti-climactic series ender, but personally I loved being able to see the “what happens next?” after the last big confrontation with HFL. And the villain was absolutely despicable. My skin crawled every time I read his chapters. Meg and Simon are my OTP babies and I will love them forever!

    Have you heard about the spinoff series? We’re getting more of this world! 😀

    Like

  3. This series sounds like it could be a fun read. I’ll have to look out for it when I do my next round of book buying. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

