Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read In One Sitting

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, we’re talking about books you (can) read in one sitting. These can either be short books, or books I got so invested in I just had to continue.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // I know this book is only released in April. But I’m going to keep mentioning it, so I’m sure you won’t forget to pick it up. It is so incredible, and a book you won’t want to put down.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers // This isn’t a happy book. But I found myself clustered to it, because I didn’t want to put it down. I needed to know what would happen next in Romy’s story. It stirred up so many emotions in me, that I was incapable of putting it down.

Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff Vandermeer // This book is SO SHORT. It’s not even 200 pages. So yeah, it’s definitely one you can read in one sitting. And you’ll find yourself glued to the page, because it’s all just so weird.

Frostfire (Kanin Chronicles #1) by Amanda Hocking // This book is a little over 300 pages. But it’s one of those YA fantasies that you just can’t put down. It’s so fast-paced, and quick to read! I read the entire trilogy in like 2 days?

The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron // Another fantasy that’s impossible to put down. The story and characters are so addictive, and I couldn’t stop reading. This is one of the only series I’ve ever successfully binged. I read all 5 books in a week’s time.

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp // This is a book to read in one sitting, because you won’t be able to put it down. It takes place in the span of 54 minutes during a school shooting. 

The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga #1) by Elise Kova // I find Elise Kova’s writing allows you to read her books rather quickly. It feels fast-paced, and you’ll get so attached to the characters that you just have to keep reading. I can’t wait for the second book in the series. 

The Paper Magician (Paper Magician #1) by Charlie N. Holmberg // It’s been a while since I talked about this trilogy. It’s one of the first books I ever requested for review, and I really enjoyed it. It’s a historical fiction fantasy read, in which the main character learns to become a paper magician, even though she thinks paper magic is stupid. It’s not. I WANT TO DO IT. 

Sunbolt (Sunbolt Chronicles #1) by Intisar Khanani // WARNING: have the second book ready when you read this one. I think Intisar was originally planning on making these short stories, because it’s only 150 pages. The second book is much longer than that though. I loved this book, and I found Hitomi’s character really interesting. 

Dark Legion (Blood of Blood #1) by Paul Kleynhans // Why has no one read this? This is quite a dark fantasy series (trilogy??) about a prince whose kingdom was conquered. He was made a slave, and trained to be the new emperor’s assassin. Some things in these book (there are 2 now) are a bit convenient, but I think they are so good overall. 


So those are 10 books I’ve enjoyed, that are either short or so fast-paced and captivating that you can’t put them down. Have you read any of these? Which one-sitting books would you recommend?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read In One Sitting

  1. Great list, Jolien! The Upside of Unrequited made my list this week too – I adored it – and I’d like to read All the Rage when I’m in the mood for something a bit darker. =) Dark Legion sounds interesting – I may have to check it out!

    Like

  2. Is it April yet? I want Upside of Unrequited to be on my shelf already! I also heard of Amanda Hocking, and I had her troll series, I think? I don’t remember much from it. It went fast though. I have been seeing Elise Kova’s books around the internet for a bit now, but her books are expensive. Maybe I’ll try to get it used or something. Great list, as always. You include such a wide variety of books. Love it.
    Ahem. *Hugs*

    Like

    • Yeees I hope you’ll like it when or if you read it in April 😀 She has two troll trilogies, one is the Trylle series, and the other this Kanin Chronicles one! I think the ebooks of Elise Kova’s works are usually not very expensive (I should check that though) so I have her ebooks.

      Like

  3. Ooooh! This Is Where it Ends and All the Rage are really good ones! I’m excited to check out The Upside of Unrequieted. I really liked Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Holmberg, and I think I own the Paper Magician. Really want to read that one, too. Great list! Mine is here: TTT

    Like

  4. I loved Frostfire too I agree it is a really quick read, I also really enjoyed Amanda Hockings Trylle series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

