Weekly Wrap Up | April 9th, 2017

what i read 80c8b0

Emma by Jane Austen // ★★★.5 // I enjoyed this more than I thought I would! I’ll probably do a full review soon, but I thought it had some pretty funny moments even though the second volume was far too long. 

Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle #4) by Christopher Paolini // ★★★★★ // I’ve finished my re-read of the series! It had been about 6 years since I last read this, and I remembered absolutely nothing save for the ending. It was almost like reading it for the first time again.

Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking // Read in translation: Hygge: de Deense Kunst van het Leven, translated by Barbara Lampe // ★★★★★ // This book encapsulates everything I love in life. Just everything. 

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi // Read in translation: Als Adem Lucht Wordt, translated by Anneke Bok // ★★★★★ // I can’t tell you how emotional this auto-biography made me. If you don’t know, this is Paul’s story: a neurosurgeon diagnosed with lung cancer.

what i watched 80c8b0

13 reasons why

I started watching 13 Reasons Why in the past week! I still have about 4 episodes left, and I haven’t read the book, so no spoilers please. This show has definitely made me think about how every action has consequences, but also about how the way we view events and actions is really clouded and subjective. 


That was my week! How was yours? Did you read, watch or do anything fun? I’d love to hear about it! 

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | April 9th, 2017

  1. Wow! Everyone has been talking about 13 reasons why! Would you recommend the series? I think I might read the book first, just out of habit.

    Like

  2. Well (obviously) I read Emma, too, and I have to agree with you – the second volume was far too long and it made it difficult for me to get through the book! I’m glad we both managed to finish reading it thought 😀
    And I’ve also started watching 13 Reasons Why recently and I’m on episode/tape 5. It’s very interesting but also intense to watch! Can’t wait to see the rest of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

